We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What is all the fuss about? A BIG FEE for a small room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Residence Henri 4
Ranked #169 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was my fourth visit to Paris and my first (and last) visit to Henri IV. I booked this overpriced over rated hotel based on TA comments/reviews and believe me, they let me down. What hurt the most was this was a splurge for our 40th anniversary and this was, without a doubt, the second worst hotel we stayed at during our 1 month tour in Europe.We actually had two rooms during our stay due to overbooking at the first night. We started in rm 52, a superior room with enough space to be comfortable (and a price to match), and then were moved to room 62 (a standard room)for the next 4 nights. This room was a cramped garrett at the top of the building. Our balcony (a TA feature) was 3x3 and could accommodate 1 person on a rusty metal chair provided. The bed was small,(my feet hung over the edge and I am 5'9" and had no tables beside it due to the cramped room size so any nighttime stuff would sit on the floor. The air conditioner was defective and dripped water all night so the floor was soaked by morning (was repaired without apology), the toilet leaked and a towel was used to soak up the excess water, the staff gave no information regarding possible sights, and after arranging a taxi on departure, left me the impression it was paid for as they provided a voucher, turned out the voucher was a rate guarantee and the driver was none to pleased to have to hassle this out with me (fortunately I had lots of cash to pay him). Other things that happened included the hair dryer literal ly falling apart (repaired), a room so small with two suitcases brought up the only place to put them was in front of the closet which meant you could not open the closet without moving the suitcases! Now keep in mind I was paying $450.00US Per Night for this. We left, happy to say good riddance, and will in future return to stay at another hotel. My advice, save your money and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelResidenceHenri4, Responsable réception at Hotel Residence Henri 4, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear John,

It is with great regret that we read your feedback on the hotel. We are sorry that we did not meet up your expectations. However, we would like to assert our point of view: The first night was spent in a different room not because of a overbooking. You have amended your stay and the superior room was the last one available. When you made your booking, you have mentioned an upper floor room & a balcony request. The room allotted had 2 balconies and was on the upper floor. Should you have asked to change the room, we would have suggested other rooms.
We are sorry again for the 2 issues occurred during your stay. We can not unfortunately predict a breakdown or a leakage. We do more than our best to solve issues as soon as possible. This was the case as you have mentioned.
As far as the staff is concerned, we are more than surprised about your opinion. Hundred of comments praise our commitment and devotion. There is brochure display board and our staff is at the disposal for any information.
The hotel arranged a private pick up as requested. The voucher given recapitulates all the informations and clearly states the amount to be paid to the driver. Your hotel bill does the same. Transport was never mentioned to be paid for neither on confirmation, on the bill or by the staff.
Last but not least, I can not see the amount you claim paid at the hotel. Daily average price was 240€ including the night spent in the superior room.

Best regards

Hicham Khazrane

Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,032)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

189 - 195 of 1,032 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

This hotel is so cute! If you're looking for a bit of old Parisian charm in a great location then look no further. Despite being a small 19th century building the room was a good size with plenty of space for luggage. The marble bathroom was also roomy and spotlessly clean. The decor reflects the time period of the building which I love and was the main reason I chose this hotel.

The location at the end of a cul de sac off the main road means that the rooms are quiet which was a welcome relief from the soccer World Cup madness! At the same time it was an easy walk to Notre Dame and the RER station which goes to the Eiffel Tower.

The staff were very helpful, making sure we had transport organised when they knew there was a train and taxi strike coming up. Bonus, there's even free in room wifi!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andie_Palmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

What a great little place in the heart of the Left Bank. It is set just a bit out of the way which gives it a bit of privacy. Very charming decor, great rooms well maintained and excellent service. The hotel affords easy access to the Seine and to the rest of the city. A great central location with loads of charm. A small elevator provides access to the upper floors. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmartinmitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My husband and I stayed 8 nights at this super charming hotel. We were very well treated at the frontdesk day or night. Our bedroom was large enough - 17 meters - and the bed wonderful.The room was well appointed and beautifully decorated in French style, something I was looking for when visiting Paris. The location is very good, between St. Germain, Pantheon and Quartier Latin. The ingredients of breakfast are bought fresh daily and that's why the front desk ask the night before if you want to have breakfast at the hotel next morning. And you can have it in you room, if you prefer. The bathroom is big and spotless.

An extra feature that we enjoyed very much was the absolute silence at night( the hotel is in the dead end of rue de Bernardins. It was almost unbelievable we were in Paris. Finally, we would recommend and certainly go back to Hotel Residence Henry 4. We had a great stay there.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SouDoRio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a week inlay 2014. The hotel is perfectly located in a short dead end street opposite a small park in the Latin Quarter, which means it is pretty quiet, and is within easy walking distance to Notre Dame, The Pantheon, Jardin des Plantes, St Germain de Pres and the Marais. Moments from Metro stations, great bakery/patisserie, supermarket, laundromat, restaurants and markets at Place Maubert and Place Monge.

Rooms feature bedroom, separate sitting/ dining room, kitchenette and good bathroom. Service from helpful, friendly staff to top it all off. Breakfast is optional but with an Eric Kayser bakery, market and supermarket just around the corner we did not breakfast in the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelbugz73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

If you want a charming little aparthotel, this is the right choice. Situated very near to the Notre Dame Cathedral, the River Seine, the St.Michel Boulevard and the St.Germain Boulevard, it is confortable and clean. With this Parisian atmosphere, it offers in each room a different decoration, besides providing you with a bit of French History, as every room is nominated after a famous personage. The street is served by restaurants, supermarkets, taxis, buses and the metro station is not far. Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 90Carla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This was my fourth stay over seven years. I love the location,apartments and the staff. Breakfast is available for 8 euros. Close to cafés,restaurants,bakeries and convenience stores. A few minutes walk to Notre Dam or Panthenon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrisbaneBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel La Lanterne
Hotel La Lanterne
#174 of 1,809 in Paris
310 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel le Petit Paris
Hotel le Petit Paris
#70 of 1,809 in Paris
1,223 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#138 of 1,809 in Paris
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint-Jacques
Hotel Saint-Jacques
#427 of 1,809 in Paris
1,015 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Grands Hommes
Hotel des Grands Hommes
#131 of 1,809 in Paris
1,700 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
#179 of 1,809 in Paris
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Henri 4? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Henri 4

Address: 50 rue des Bernardins, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#81 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#122 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £148 - £323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Residence Henri 4 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Residence Henri 4 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Henri 4 Paris
Residence Henri 4 Hotel
Residence Henri Iv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing