We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Residence Henri 4
Ranked #169 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2008

A great find! We were motivated by previous reviewers, and the hotel lived up to their accolades. The room was snug, but with big windows, which made it feel more spacious. The location was perfect -- just a few blocks to Notre Dame, close to many wonderful little bistros, and convenient to both bus and Metro. But best of all, it is a neighborhood filled with real Parisans! Not tourists! We were most grateful to the superlative staff, who advised and guided us throughout our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlc470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,032)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

656 - 662 of 1,032 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2008

The hotel ideally situated e.g., close to the Seine, Notre Dame, and walking distance to many other locations, e.g., D'Orsay, Louvre. The Metro is nearby, as are small excellent bistros and cafes. A great wine shop is around the corner. Two days a week a nearby plaza has a little outdoor market with great choices for gifts and picnics. The rooms are nicely furnished with updated bathroom fixtures and small kitchenette features (we want our Eric Kayser chocolates we left in the refrigerator!). The breakfast is OK but very convenient. Nights are very quiet even with the Blvd St. Germain close by.

Staff are very helpful and patient. Their advice for transportation was always right on (For our Sunday afternoon arrival from CDG take a cab instead of a shuttle - cheaper for two and quicker; for the return in the early AM use a shuttle booked by the hotel. To Gare Lyon the hotel booked a cab). Everyone was very friendly, congenial, with lots of time for help and conversation. All are competent with English if one's French is rusty.

Within the three-star class this hotel is an excellent choice. We'll go back next year.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BruininEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2008

I discovered this establishment on Trip Advisor and was delighted with my five night stay.
It is a small hotel with just 13 rooms, located in a quiet street but only a short walk from the Notre Dame. The St Michel metro station is about 12 minutes walk away. There are lots of small shops, bistros and restaurants nearby, and each room has a small kitchen facility with hot plate, fridge and micro wave oven.
The standard of housekeeping is excellent and the rooms are of a reasonable size and are well furnished. The bathroom is also a good size.The reception staff speak good English and are most helpful. I needed the services of a doctor and the person on duty made all the arrangements on my behalf.
I give the Henry IV top marks and my personal recommendation.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank akarana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2008

This was a fine apartment (3 of us stayed comfortably). It was a much better idea and less expensive than taking two bedrooms, once the bathroom rota was established. Decor and room quality and cleanliness perfect. Staff were adorable.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank juno68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2008

My second time and I will return again and again.
Friendly, helpful staff. You feel very much at home.

Stayed: October 2008
Thank dallasmhw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2008

Another one who booked this hotel from the Tripadvisor reviews and it did not disappoint. We spent 3 nights here over the last weekend in July, my husbands 40th birthday.

It took about 10 mins to walk from the Metro and on arrival we were allocated Room 1 which was on the ground floor next to reception. Room was beautifully furnished and we were very pleased to find a small kitchenette at one end of the room which we were not expecting. This became invaluable as each morning we purchased a fresh french stick from the local bakery (2 mins walk) and made ourselves up a packed lunch for our days out sightseeing! We also kept our wine in there!

As previously mentioned, Notre Dame and the Seine for river cruises are within easy walking distance (5 mins) but we also discovered the number 53 bus which took us from outside the hotel (literally 20 paces away) to the Eiffel Tower - result! We also used it to get across to the Trocadero as on my hubs birthday we ate at Cafe de L'Homme as a special treat. If you get a chance then go - the view of the Eiffel Tower is awesome and it looks beautiful lit up at night.

Despite being on the ground floor/by the reception desk - noise was not an issue at all - in fact I don't think we saw another guest throughout our stay even though the hotel was full!

My only slight negative was due to us being there during probably the hottest weekend in Europe this summer! No air-con just a small cooling tower which we had to keep on all night and it was still stifling. No windows in the bathroom just a rooflight so you could only spend a few mins in there at a time - not great when you are trying to do your make-up!

We didn't bother with breakfast so can't comment on that but overall, a fab little hotel - lovely and peaceful and a great price. Recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2008

What a beautiful hotel. We booked on recommendation of our cousin and were to meet our daughter and a friend there. She was blown away, as were we, with not only the location and the friendly staff but also the furnishings and ambience. This hotel is clean and well maintained. Well worth the visit and we would always try and stay there in future visits to Paris.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Tw0Up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel La Lanterne
Hotel La Lanterne
#174 of 1,809 in Paris
310 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel le Petit Paris
Hotel le Petit Paris
#70 of 1,809 in Paris
1,223 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#138 of 1,809 in Paris
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint-Jacques
Hotel Saint-Jacques
#427 of 1,809 in Paris
1,015 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Grands Hommes
Hotel des Grands Hommes
#131 of 1,809 in Paris
1,700 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
#179 of 1,809 in Paris
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Henri 4? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Henri 4

Address: 50 rue des Bernardins, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#81 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#122 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £148 - £323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Residence Henri 4 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Residence Henri 4 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Henri 4 Paris
Residence Henri 4 Hotel
Residence Henri Iv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing