We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome in spring”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Residence Henri 4
Ranked #93 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“awesome in spring”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I stayed and reviewed this hotel for a winter stay last time. I came back in May and it really strikes me just how centrally located the hotel after walking everywhere in the nice weather. Staff were friendly, restaurant recommendations are genuine and good, and the room is very comfortable. it is convenient for getting to the airport if you walk to st. michel and take the express RER train, very easy.

Room Tip: room on the top floor is quieter, but location is so quiet that even a room on the bottom floor was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prooproo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    680
    288
    24
    7
    4
See reviews for
254
512
40
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The guys were very polite and helpful. The room is nicely decorated and would be perfect for a romantic night near very nice places in Paris. I usually try to find those kind of cool independent hotels when i travel ... however this time i was a bit disapointed by the following:
- cleanliness: white sheets with some marks and bin not emptied.
- bathroom: the shower head was really unstable and needs a replacement
- the breakfast served in the room wasn't superb ... maybe it was due to its low price (8 EUR)

All in all, it's an OK hotel for the price you pay. Not wow but OK.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcnet66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelResidenceHenri4, Responsable réception at Hotel Residence Henri 4, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Marcnet66,

Thank you your feedback and for your good appreciation of the staff. On the other hand, we are extremely sorry for the drawback mentioned. We pay great attention to cleanliness and it is regretful for us to see that was a flaw in the cleaning procedures. Be assured that necessary measures are taken to ensure a consistent and high quality.
Concerning the shower head, this may be loose due to water pressure. This was fixed once mentioned after your departure.
Last but not least, we find it unfair to claim that the breakfast was not good. you have only fresh products served( squeezed orange juice & fresh fruit salad), organic pastry (1 croissant, 1 chocolate croissant and 1 Danish pastry per person plus organic baguette, Jam, honey, butter and hot drinks. This was the formula brought to your room at 8€. Corn flakes or/and muesli on demand. I do not think that you can have this quality of products at such small tariff in Parisian hotels.

We hope we will be have the opportunity to host you and demonstrate our commitment to quality service.

Kind regards

Hicham KHAZRANE

Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This is my fourth visit to Paris and our second stay at Henri 4 and I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else. The location is incredible, quiet, yet close to the heart of the Latin Quarter and St Germain. The beauty of staying at Henri 4 is that you can walk to so many amazing tourist attractions like Notre Dame, Pantheon, Musee Cluny, Sorbonne to mane a few yet feel like you are living in a village with a metro, supermarket, pharmacy, laundromat, countless cafes and Eric Kayser Artisan Boulanger just to mention a few of the conveniences.
We take the RER B train from CDG airport to Luxembourg metro and walk towards the Pantheon turn left and down the road past the St Etienne du Mont church it is about a 10 - 15 min walk and a great introduction to the local area. Not difficult at all.
This time we stayed in a room on the sixth floor with two balconies :) Our initial reaction was that the room was quite small compared to the previous visit where we stayed in room 30 (beautiful) and 42 ( gorgeous apartment) on check in we were offered an option to move to room 50 the following day however we declined as we settled in very quickly and became quite fond of this sweet Parisian pad which was in fact very functional.
On this visit to Paris we climbed the Tower of Notre Dame (well worth the climb), did the Hemingway's Paris walking tour with Paris Walks (highly recommend), did a walking tour of Pere La Chaise cemetery booked through Viatour (interesting and wonderful escape).
The staff at Henri 4 were attentive and helpful I will look forward to recommending this fabulous hotel to my family and friends and I will definitely be back.
Thank you Hicham and Qaisar for your hospitality keep up the good work

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Europe2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
134 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Our family of four (mom, dad, and kids ages 10 and 15) stayed here in the Henri IV suite for five days in July and it was everything we wanted, and more! We didn't want the cookie-cutter sterility of a chain, and for a bit more in cost (it *was* a bit more expensive) it felt like we got a completely different experience.

First of all, the place is not large, so you get a true personal touch and that special feeling in the treatment. There is always someone manning the front desk -- and when we arrived they were clearly waiting for us and ready for our family.

Our room was set up for our family when we arrived. We had two main rooms: a bedroom and a separate sitting room with a sofa sleeper (that they had made up into a bed for our arrival). There was also a very small hall with a kitchenette, and a bathroom. We even had a very small balcony, which we used every morning with our breakfast. The rooms were decorated in such an interesting way--the accommodations were beautiful. It felt very "french," and not at all like a Hilton or the like.

The location was tremendous!! In the Latin Quarter on the Left Bank. Walking distance to Notre Dame! My heart beats just thinking of the wonderful walks we took. We used both the Batobus (boat) to travel up and down the Seine to the museums and other touring locations, and also used the Metro. We were even able to walk home from the Opera Bastille after a ballet one night.

The staff (as mentioned briefly) was very helpful and courteous. They recommended a lovely nearby cafe (Cafe St. Victor) when we were looking for something quick and informal the day we arrived. They also helped out with everything from helping us locate a laundromat (one block away), to a grocery story (small market two blocks away).

Food was plentiful and good nearby. There was a boulangerie around the corner where my husband or I would stop by each morning to grab pain au chocolat for a quick breakfast. (We didn't try the hotel breakfast.) There was a good burger joint nearby too, and we brought home late night burgers a couple of times. We also had a lovely dinner at a restaurant called Pouic Pouic one evening and were able to walk home from there as well. It was delightful to be able to take a stroll in Paris after dinner.

All in all, this was a fabulous location that lived up to the Trip Advisor reviews. Internet worked fine; A/C worked as well; the room was clean; we were happy.

Thank you, Residence Henri IV, for helping make our Paris dreams a reality!

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony, if possible. What a wonderful way to enjoy breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarahste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This is a small 3 star hotel just over a block away from Boulevard Saint Germain. It is not intended to be a luxury hotel, but it is very nice for a well-priced (considering Paris prices) hotel. We had room 12 for two adults and two children. It has two rooms, one with a pull out sofa that converts to a queen size bed (very firm and comfortable), and a bedroom with two single beds. On the negative side, the rooms have more furniture than can comfortably accommodate four people when the sofa is opened, so some rearrangement is required. If you don't mind tight spaces, the very small arrangement does allow for two separate bedrooms, which is a plus with kids. The pull out is as firm and comfortable as a real bed, so that should not be an issue. The bathroom was dated, but clean and nice enough. There is also a small kitchenette and refrigerator. The place is decorated with old Paris character. Overall, it squeezes enough into a small space to make it a good option over taking two separate rooms.

The breakfast is in the basement, and though fine, we preferred nearby patisseries. Not a reason to stay or not stay at the hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the car service recommended to the airport was better than taxis, and less expensive than services other hotels charge. There is a small lobby, and free wifi throughout the hotel. Overall, you get what you pay for, and that's why it is worth four stars. The hotel does not pretend to be what it is not. It is a nice well located 3 star Paris hotel that is better than average, but at a price that is reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in April and would highly recommend this hotel based on it's location and charm. We booked a two room suite on the third floor, for our family of 4- which includes two teens. We felt there was plenty of room and the decor was very pretty. The room had a cute balcony- (which was tiny) and although we never sat on it, I enjoyed keeping the french doors open and letting the Paris breeze float in. The hotel was kept clean and the bathroom was updated nicely.
We found the location to be fantastic. Loved the St Germain area! We always felt safe walking the neighbor hood and it was a short stroll to Notre Dame and all the hip restaurants in the Latin Quarter. The gentleman at the front desk were always friendly offering suggestions and help.
I want to mention that my parents also stayed here, but they were in a room on the first floor right next to the check in desk. They were disappointed with the room because it was dark and had no view. It also had a big heavy double extra door that made it difficult to get into the room. So I would not recommend that room, but ours was great! We only ate breakfast there once and felt it was pretty typical of a European spread and fairly priced...but we prefered to venture and eat out.
All in all, it was an amazing trip to Paris and I felt like this charming boutique hotel really added to our pleasant experience. Looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islandgirl5042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my husband for one night following our airline going on strike and not being able to get home.We arrived at the hotel early in the morning and dropped our luggage so we could go off and enjoy our day. When we returned our luggage was awaiting us in our room. The room we got was just beautiful, lovely french decor with two balconies. The room was spacious with a separate kitchenette area and seated area with a sofa. The staff here were lovely and friendly. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank san84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel La Lanterne
Hotel La Lanterne
#116 of 1,802 in Paris
241 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#110 of 1,802 in Paris
1,545 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel le Petit Paris
Hotel le Petit Paris
#88 of 1,802 in Paris
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
#107 of 1,802 in Paris
1,066 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
#142 of 1,802 in Paris
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Henri 4? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Henri 4

Property: Hotel Residence Henri 4
Address: 50 Rue des Bernardins, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Paris
#75 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#81 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Residence Henri 4 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Residence Henri 4 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Henri 4 Paris
Residence Henri 4 Hotel
Residence Henri Iv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing