We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior Republique
Ranked #1,478 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Recife
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice staff and location”
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

I have nothing to complain about this hotel. It's an average Paris hotel in a great location, just a few steps from the metro republique. The staff was very kind and polite, and helped me with everything I needed. The room was clean and everything worked just fine. The price was really good and I would definitely recommend this place and stay there again. The room is small, but when you are in Paris the last place you want to stay is in your hotel. Book it and don't be afraid.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordonoar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    58
    72
    35
    33
See reviews for
47
84
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I stayed at the Excelsior for two nights in October 2013. Staff was very friendly and breakfast totally acceptable. The room was unfortunately dirty (inexplicable stains everywhere, mildew in the bathroom, etc.) with worn-out furniture. The bed was relatively comfortable. That's what you get in Paris for such a low price! Perhaps the youth hostel would have been cleaner though.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Montrealista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Our one night stay did not start well: we were shown a twin on the 4th floor but then the concierge said there had been an error - he didn't explain what - and led us up to the floor above where there was a double bedded room. The room was very small. Even so you would still need fantastic vision to be able to watch the tiny tv from the bed - a telescope might help! Downstairs I had picked up a brochure produced by the hotel which said that all their rooms had been recently redecorated. They obviously never got to the 5th floor as our room had cracks and peeling plaster (see photos) and was, in my view, not even 2 star standard. I also noticed there was no notice about fire safety/evacuation by the lift or at the top of the 5th floor stairs unlike the levels below. Is this floor some sort of overspill area for guests I wonder? The walls are paper thin and we were woken at 3 am by someone using the loo in the room next door - not nice. I found a small black insect crawling around my pillow in the morning as I got out of bed; I don't know what it was but I didn't like the look of it. The lift is very small and feels ancient; frankly, I used the stairs. The reception staff on the morning we left couldn't even raise a "bonjour". They also tried to charge us twice for the local tax which we had paid on arrival. All in all I wouldn't go back under any circumstances.

Room Tip: Avoid 5th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The bedding was filthy and we suffered from some kind of insect bites, which could only have come from the blankets! The towels was torn, thin and hard. Some of the power sockets wasn't working and neither was the hairdryer.
No kettle and coffee in room.
Bathroom so small you can't wash your feet.
Really could have done better...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

I got at this hotel with no reservation. I was very welcome by the friendly staff. I got the last room available which was quite small and tight, but clean and perfect for my needs. The only problem I had is that the room was immensely hot and I was told I would have a fan that was not provided in the end, even asking for that everyday. Long night sleep was a challenge in that temperature.
I had a problem in the bathoom that was fixed right away. Good hotel overall in a great location, close to subway and lots of restaurants.
Unfortunately I had to leave Paris a day earlier than I expected and as soon as I did not have a previous reservation, I told them 2 nights before that I had to leave and would like to have a refund of my last night. I waited for their confirmation till a few hours before I leave and I was told the refund would be done in the next day. I am still waiting for this even though I have many emails confirming it will be done... A bit longer then needed... This is why I am giving 3 stars instead of 4.

Helpful?
Thank MiiiSam
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2013

First Impression of hotel was ok small room but expected for Paris. Went to sleep woke up in the morning covered in bites and found bed bugs all through the bed!! Went down to reception and asked to switch rooms. They did this but we were moved up to the third floor and the wifi then didn't work in our room. When expressing our disappointment to staff at reception they did not care saying it was not there fault other people bring the bugs in.
Definitely ruined my experience of Paris. Will never stay here again.
Am still itching!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussietravellers9289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The location of this hotel is right by two different Metro stations; one of which is Republique. They store your luggage both before you check in and after you check out. The rooms are very clean and cozy. They are a bit small, but if you are just planning on sleeping there they are perfectly fine. There is a nice patisserie across the road.

The staff at this hotel is absolutely fantastic. They speak English and are very nice. My boyfriend and I were subjected to a cancelled Eurostar and when we called back to see if we could book another night, the hotel was unfortunately full. Raj, the desk person on duty, was sympathetic and actually booked us a hotel room with another hotel so we didn't have to worry about finding a place to stay late at night. To me, this went above and beyond a normal level of customer service and was much appreciated.

We would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sloria0502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Des 3 Nations
Hotel Des 3 Nations
#1,401 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#1,309 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Mary's Republique
Hotel Mary's Republique
#1,319 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Saint-Martin
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#886 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Excelsior Latin
Hotel Excelsior Latin
#341 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Mazagran
Hotel Mazagran
#1,526 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior Republique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Republique

Property: Hotel Excelsior Republique
Address: 4 rue de Lancry, 75010 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord , Entrepôt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,478 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Excelsior Republique 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Republique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Republique Hotel
Excelsior Republique Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing