We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take all holiday docs with you”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Carina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carina Hotel
Ranked #793 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Take all holiday docs with you”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

My grand-daughter and I stayed at the Carina from 18th April, to 20th. No real problems with the hotel, (though would have liked option of bath in room, and not just shower). Room was clean, and tidied up as you would expect. However, upon check out, I asked for our bill for breakfast and soft drinks, and was presented with a bill not just for the above, but for the accommodation as well. I always take all travel docs and receipts on holiday so was able to prove that our accommodation had already been paid. The man on the reception desk insisted we hadn't paid, but was forced to admit upon viewing the documentation, that this was not the case. I returned to travel agent and explained the above, and they were able to prove also that the hotel had been paid. This was an embarrassing situation that shouldn't have happened, and I'm afraid to say has put me off using this hotel again.

Room Tip: Lift is very small, so if travelling as a family and are on top floor, two or more trips may be nece...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bella184 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    191
    97
    14
    8
See reviews for
45
233
23
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

My girlfriend and i stayed here on our first ever trip to Paris and we were amazed at how nice this hotel was for the price!

Its in a great location, about 10-15 mins walk from the eiffel tower and about 2 minutes from the nearest metro stop (Charles Michel) which is a great way to get to all the sights quickly and easily.

The neighbourhood seemed pretty quiet and we felt very safe walking around after dark, well after midnight.

The rooms were nice, if a bit on the small side but the massive bathroom more than made up for it, the bathroom was bigger than the bedroom! Clean, tidy and comfortable.

Breakfast was a fairly basic continental which did get boring by day 3 but theres a small supermarket around the corner which was nice for snacks.

Plenty of nice restaurants in the are which had amazing food at great prices compared to those in the city centre. One, i forget the name, was a pizza restaurant where the food is cooked openly in the middle of the restaurant, all the staff were really friendly and the chef was deaf, always gave you a wave when you left. Puddings to die for!

Overall i think we would definitely go back to this hotel because of its good location and value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed here 3 nights early November. It's near the metro. It's also very near a department store, supermarket and bakeries. The area is quiet and not too busy. There is a view of the Eiffel outside the hotel and its about a fifteen minute walk to the tower. The service was pretty good and the room, bathroom was cleaned everyday. Front desk person was very helpful. Breakfast was good for the price ; ham, croissants, pan chocolat, baguettes, yogurt. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
114 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights on our first visit to Paris. Hotel in good location a few minutes form Charles Michel Metro and the 42 bus. The reception staff spoke English and were very helpful. Buffet breakfast exceptional. The room was fine with small safe, flatscreen tv and a lovely bathroom. Close to restaurants and in a nice area. Would definately recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 4th floor which was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank walkingsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Carina is a perfect hotel me and friend stayed 5 nights this october in the hotel the neighbourhood is wonderful very safe ;a couple of minutes from Charles Michael metro station ; many restaurants and coffee shops also many markets nearby ; the hotel is very clean ; narrow rooms but good spacious bathroom ; I loved my first visit to paris and in my next visit for sure I will stay in the same hotel again

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Mohamed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed in Hotel Carina in October 2013 for almost a week. This is a good hotel, it's clean, inexpensive and conveniently located.

LOCATION: Hotel Carina is located near Charles Michael metro station. There are many shops and restaurants nearby as well as Beaugrenelle mall on Rue Linois. Eiffel tower is not far. However, it's not 5 minute walk as some other reviewers suggested, and not even 10, unless you like speedwalking. 15 minutes of steady walk seems like a better estimate to me. Railroad (RER) station Javel is one metro station (or 5 minute walk) away. We used it to get to Versailles, it's very convenient.

ROOMS: Rooms in the hotel are nice, though a little old and small. Bathrooms are almost as big as rooms. Inside a room, you will find phone, flat-screen TV and small safe, that's pretty much it. No coffee machne, no alarm clock, no fridge, no a/c. Fortunately for us, outer window sill is protected by a grill and, depending on weather, can serve as a refrigerator. Hotel has free internet, but unfortunately during our stay it was not working on higher floors. We had to go down to reception to do our browsing and email checking. Rooms do not have many electrical outlets, none near the bed, I guess this is normal for older rooms. On TV I did not find any English channels and one night settled on watching "House MD" in French.

FOOD: Hotel offers breakfast for 9 euro, but we never tried it. There are so many options to eat outside - Starbucks near metro and McDonalds across the street, several corner cafes (probably authentic), and a bakery shop. You can also get food from Carrefour Express (open until 10PM), asian food shop or a bigger and lower priced Carrefour City near metro (ostensibly open until 11PM, but they actually closed it at 10PM). I would recommend trying delightful crepes at CC142 (same block as hotel, walk towards Eiffel tower).

STAFF: This hotel does not employ many people. Reception staff speaks English (I suspect one gentleman is the owner), but maids might not even speak good French.

I liked this hotel and would recommend it to others. There were two negative factors - internet (I mentioned it above) and the fact that they did not honor my Venere.com discount which was stated in my booking. That was a small discount, though, and even without it I found the price to be very adequate for Paris.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex_54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

I liked staying at Carina. The hotel is very close to the Charles Michel subway station and almost right next to a Carfour market.
The staff was nice. They actually offered 3 times to change our room, because we were 2 girls in a double bed room [it was actually kind of weird that 3 different people asked us the same thing].
Even if the room was small it was absolutely ok, except the smell. It had a default old and wet smell. But it does go away after you open the window.
The breakfast was not just a croissant. We had a small buffet with pastry, juice, tea, coffee, ham, cheese and so on. And they were all good.
We had a problem with the wireless. We just could not connect contrary to all our efforts.
All in all it is a good location and you can see the Eiffel Tour from the main street.
So: enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ionela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Exposition Tour Eiffel
Hotel Exposition Tour Eiffel
#685 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alize Grenelle Tour Eiffel
0.1 mi away
Beaugrenelle Saint Charles
Beaugrenelle Saint Charles
#858 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Korner Eiffel
Hotel Korner Eiffel
#325 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eiffel Saint Charles
Eiffel Saint Charles
#304 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alyss Saphir Cambronne Eiffel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carina Hotel

Property: Carina Hotel
Address: 9 rue Ginoux | 15th Arr., 75015 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#524 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Carina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carina Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing