We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Corona Rodier
Ranked #1,391 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 21 January 2010

We stayed four nights here while in Paris. It was advertised as a three star; however, there seemed to be other hotels we came across that appeared better with less stars. It is in a decent area, the 9th arrondisement, and close to the "Passages" or shopping areas, the metro, and wonderful restaurants. The room was very sad. It's the only way to describe it. It seemed more like a hostel. Pros: There was a fridge and a nice working heater, and hot water. The beds were comfortable. Continental breakfast. Cons: Tiny elevator, worn looking carpets, overused and worn out blankets, tiny t.v. in the corner, thin walls (we had a neightbor bang on our door yelling for us to turn down our t.v. which was not up that loud). Quality of staff - mediocre. Very slow internet and charged per the hour.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelerlmLaJolla_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2009

First of all, if you arrive at Gare du Nord, don't bother taking a taxi. It's a short walk and you won't be stuck in a cab with a furious taxidriver... Welcome to France !
We stayed for two nights in this hotel and were lucky that we had a room with four beds whilst we were only two. The electric socket for the shaver wasn't working, but hey, we're on holyday. Breakfast is "French". In other words, a croissant and something that's suppose to be a pistolet and a small selection of cheese, marmelade.
Location isn't bad, only a short walk from the Louvre and some restaurants in the neighbourhood. It's also in a quiet street.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2008

Whilst its true that this hotel is a little rough round the edges - the carpets could do with being washed/replaced, as could some of the curtains, and some of the electrics look a bit dodgy - overall this was an ok place to stay. The rooms are a little small, but I think that's normal for Paris. However, they were clean and the beds were comfortable. It's true that the lift is a bit of a joke - I took one look and decided I would prefer to lug my bags up three flights of stairs!
It looks as if they have done a bit of refurbishing as there was a new TV on the wall, and what looked like a new air-conditioning unit (which was quiet and very effective!)
There was also a safe and a fridge in our room. Breakfast was nothing special, but perfectly adequate - croissants, breadrolls, yoghurts, fruit and cereal, along with the usual beverages.
The truly great thing about this hotel is the location. Just round the corner from a metro stop, 10 mins walk from Monmartre and about 15 mins to the Louvre. I would say that if you aren't too fussy and want a base that is clean, safe and central then this hotel is ideal.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmr555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2008

Considering that this was one of the more expensive 3* hotels of the choice I had I wish I knew where my money went because it certainly wasn't back into the hotel.
We arrived early and were informed that the rooms were not ready however we could leave our luggage and were then dismissed.
When we returned we squeezed ourselves into the worlds smallest lift, which allegedly takes 3 people(!) and made our way to our room.
This too was the smallest double room I've ever seen. At first I was unsure as to where the en-suite was or could be and then I found it, hidden in what I can only describe as a cupboard. The shower had no curtain so the bathroom became a swimming pool after showering and because of this the room constantly smelt of damp.
The wallpaper was also peeling off due to the damp and the general decor left a lot to be desired. There was a little pointless fridge in the room. But at least the bed was comfortable
My partner wanted to borrow an iron and board and was informed that there was no board but not to use the table in the room so maybe iron on the floor?!
On closer inspection of the room it is in desperate need of a refurb, everything is old and tatty and flaaing apart and not that it's important but surely if you have a television in the room and advertise it as so then it should be tuned in and working?
Some of the staff were lovely and friendly, others were quite rude and off hand. We wanted to use the telephone that was in the room to make a booking and everytime we tried it it gave out an engaged tone. Figuring that something was wrong my boyfriend went to reception to see if there was another phone only to be informed that the lady on reception would now turn it the phone on?
Breakfast was ok depending on what time you arrived and the breakfast staff were lovely.
Overall if it weren't for the location I would be wanting my money back. I will not be using nor recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank els27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2006

Don't waste your money and your time in this hotel. The photos are not real!!
Dirty rooms without air conditioning. Lift for just 1 person! the beds (i preffer not to talk about it). Not enough lighting.
Please do not spend your holidays in this hotel. Can't believe that people prefer to stay in this really old hotel with expensive rates. (much much better to stay at IBIS !)

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank world-traveler-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2006

We have just returned from a week-end in Paris and we stayed in the Corona for 4 nights and were pleasently surprised with the hotel. Friendly staff that gave us a warm welcome and spoke good English. We are a family of 6 children 9-13-17-19 and had two rooms. The bedrooms were large and had 2 big duble beds that the children shared. Parents in their own room :-).

The hotel is clean and the street is quiet and near the 2 Metro stations (on different lines) Cadet and Notre Dame de Lorette. You can easily walk to Sacre Cæoure and also the big shoppuing centres Printemps and La Fayette. Continental breakfast was included and served until 10am. TV with CNN, Eurosport and French channels. We recommend the Rue Des Martyrs for small food and Wine shops and restaurants, especially the Italian Fuxia (25 Rue Des Martyrs) and a smaller sandwich bar (episerie) further up the street.

From the airport take the Roissy bus (Euro 8.40/pers) to Opera and metro or walk (15 min) to the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank seabass12m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2005

We stayed for one week at the Corona in September 2005. The hotel location was on a street that had a lot of noisy traffic for being so narrow and one-way. The staff was indifferent, the breakfast was meager, the room was a typical small not very interestingly decorated room. The immediate neighborhood was boring except for the market street about 2 blocks away. Cadet Metro stop was about a 4 block walk from the hotel. It was about a 15 minute walk to Haussman Blvd and more interesting restaurants and services. I would look for a more centrally located hotel the next time I'm in Paris.

  • Stayed: September 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mona805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
le Havane
le Havane
#1,284 of 1,803 in Paris
118 reviews
Entrepôt
Hotel Hauteville Opera
Hotel Hauteville Opera
#1,581 of 1,803 in Paris
214 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Migny Hotel Opera Montmartre
Migny Hotel Opera Montmartre
#1,279 of 1,803 in Paris
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Grand Hotel de Turin
Grand Hotel de Turin
#1,234 of 1,803 in Paris
598 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Plaza Opera Hotel
Plaza Opera Hotel
#698 of 1,803 in Paris
367 reviews
Opera / Bourse
New Hotel Lafayette
New Hotel Lafayette
#1,090 of 1,803 in Paris
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Corona Rodier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Corona Rodier

Address: 4 Rue Rodier, 75009 Paris, France (Formerly Atel Corona )
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,391 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £62 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Corona Rodier 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ideally located in the heart of the 9th arrondissement of Paris. This district is ideal for visitors wishing to stay in Paris, whether they are here on business, to visit, go shopping or simply discover the delights of Parisian life. A popular business district, the 9th arrondissement is home to the headquarters of major banks and insurance companies as well as training centres. It is also the location of the renowned Hotel Drouot, the large auction house. For sightseeing and shopping, this Parisian district has a wealth of attractions. Here you’ll find the Basilica of the Sacre-Coeur, Moulin Rouge, Montmartre, the Museum of Eroticism, Galeries Lafayette, Opera Garnier and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Corona Rodier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing