We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly value hotel in NW Paris”
Review of Hotel Harvey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Harvey
Ranked #620 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Marin County, CA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Friendly value hotel in NW Paris”
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Hotel Harvey is a hotel in Porte Maillot area of NW Paris. Rooms are typically fairly small but reasonable. Beds are the low French type but mattresses are OK to sleep on. Water pressure is good. Rooms have small (20 inch?) flat screen TVs with satellite and local channels.

This is a budget hotel, but one definitely notices the friendliness of the service in all the staff. Always cheerful and looking out for guests.

In the winter rooms can become sweltering overnight even when you turn the thermostat down to 17C/63F the radiators and surrounding rooms must keep the temperature in the high 70s. This can be somewhat mitigated by leaving a balcony door open.

Walls are definitely thin - you feel it when in bed and the person in the next door room closes their door. Current adjacent room dwellers were quiet.

Breakfast is currently 11 Euros and includes a fair range of breads, toast and croissants. For a few extra Euros you can get eggs or omelette.

The hotel has the typical tiny - fits one American with a backpack - style elevator.

Overall this is a good hotel for a budget conscious traveler who wants a fair price and who is not expecting four star accommodations but wants the necessities covered (sleep, shower, eat...).

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ixsomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReceptionHHARVEY, Directeur général at Hotel Harvey, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feed-back on your stay with us at the Hotel Harvey.The entire staff of the hotel thanks you for your comment on TripAdvisor.
We look forward to welcoming you back at our property.
Don't forget to suscribe below to our news letter to receive exclusive offers.
Very sincerely,

Martine Breillot
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    165
    43
    6
    9
See reviews for
87
94
18
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

I have rarely stayed in a room where it was a problem to move around the bed and put more than one bag somewhere where you didn't fall over it. If this was a double room, thank goodness I was on my own. While the bedroom was clean and the bathroom was immaculate, the room had seen better days when it came to decoration and furnishings - a small desk, one chair and a stand for a suitcase. At least the breakfast was good.

One other point. While the hotel has a lift, each stop serves two floors so you either have to walk up or down some stairs to get to your own floor so accessibility could be an issue.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wakeupjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReceptionHHARVEY, Gérant at Hotel Harvey, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for your comments, it will help us to do better next time.
You have booked for a standard room and the size was not enough big for you ( around 15M square ). We have 3 kind of rooms and you should try the deluxe or the superior room arond 30 M square, you will feel more confortable if you like the space.
About the stairs, i understand it can be a problem for some guest. But we are in Paris, there is a lot of old building very charming by the architecture. Our hotel is built in 19 Century building, and it sometimes impossible to change the arrangement. But of course, our staff is all the time available to help you and carry the suitcases.
We hope you had a good stay and you are very welcome to come back again.
Kind regards.

Martine Breillot
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

I am writing this review to warn potential customers of the complete disregard that this so called hotel has for paying guests. On the 31st of December 2012, my wife set about leaving the hotel for her solo journey home.

Having initially booked with booking.com, I had presumed like all of my previous bookings with the site that full prepayment had been taken. Having spent a number of days in Paris, my wife had managed to spend her card limit on clothes and everything else the city has to offer. Upon checkout, the female receptionist told her that it was in fact not prepaid and that she would have to pay immediately. Naturally, my wife was cautious but proceeded to pay not knowing that her credit card limit had been reached. After being declined twice, she rang me to ask for additional funds to be transferred to her account which I did immediately (same bank, instant transfer). A short time later, the transaction went through, she paid the outstanding charges and asked for a shuttle bus to the airport.

At this moment, the receptionist apparently rang for the shuttle bus and my wife waited for it to arrive. Instead, three police officers (2 male and 1 female) arrived having been called by the receptionist. They proceeded to search my wife, go through her phone (laughing & smiling at her photographs) and refused to let her answer the phone when I was calling out of worry. A series of questions ensued, physically bringing my wife to tears in fear of what was going to happen.

For such action to be taken by a hotel against a solo female traveller with no French is completely and utterly unacceptable. As I work in the hospitality industry, I can clearly say that I have never come across such extreme and unnecessary measures. Were something like this to happen in my hotel, I would be extremely ashamed and embarrassed. This is an appalling example of French hospitality, one that has left an extremely bitter taste in my mouth. Never again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CyrusL824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReceptionHHARVEY, Gérant at Hotel Harvey, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Dear Sir,

First of all, we would like to apologize for the incident that occurred at our hotel. We understand that the booking procedure may have mislead you to believe that payment had been made.

As you mentioned, you booked your accommodation through Booking.com and because you provided your credit card, you assumed that your card had been processed for the full amount. However, it was only required as a guarantee. If payment had been made, you would have received a confirmation stating paid in full and you would have also seen on your credit card statement that payment was applied. Booking.com nor our hotel issued such an invoice.

So naturally, when we saw your wife leaving the hotel, we told her that she needed to pay for her stay. At first, she told us that she didn’t have a credit card and asked us to charge the one given as a guarantee. Since she wasn’t the owner of that credit card we needed permission from that person as well as a copy of his or her ID. She wasn’t able to provide us with those documents. She then told us that she stayed in another hotel and that they had charged the credit card mentioned on the reservation without it being a problem. But when we called the hotel she indicated as a reference, they were not able to confirm that your wife had stayed there nor could they confirm that they had accepted payment from the credit card under question.

Then, after previously telling us that she didn’t have a credit card, she pulled out 2 credit cards but didn’t seem to remember the pin number. After trying several times (more than “twice”) and making calls in between attempts, we became suspicious and called the police. It is in our interest as a business to avoid, stop and report fraudulent credit card use. However, by the time the police arrived at the hotel, the credit payment had finally processed.

Unfortunately the fact that she did not seem to want to cooperate initially and denied having the credit card and then could not remember the pin numbers only added suspicion and prompted us to notify the police.

We regret that this may have been an uncomfortable and stressful situation for your wife but we are pleased that it was resolved in the end. Sadly credit card fraud is something that business owners and consumers alike must join forces to eliminate and luckily in this incident it was simply a false alert.

Sincerely,

Martine Breillot
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

I am very pleased that we chose to stay at Harvey hotel. We stayed there with the children over new year. I didn't expect that the room we stayed would be so spacious so there was space for king size bed and two single beds for the children and plus a lot of space to hang around. The room was very clean. For breakfast the food and drinks were of a good quality though of limited choice.

The hotel is located on a quite street close to the tube.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlmaRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReceptionHHARVEY, Gérant at Hotel Harvey, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Google Translation
Cher client,

Je vous remercie por votre commentaire qui nous permet de nous remettre en question et d'améliorer ainsi la qualité de nos prestations.
Toute mon équipe aura le plaisir de vous recevoir lors de votre prochain passage au sein de notre capitale.
Cordialement.

Martine Breillot
Directrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Bonington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2012

We went to Paris to visit our daughter who was performing at the Palais de Congress. We booked the Hotel Harvey because of its location and also because of the good value for the 2 nights. The four of us who stayed at the hotel included my wife, my son and my mother-in law. The hotel provided very good accommodation and a good breakfast. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and very helpful. During our visit my 84 year old mother-in-law was unwell and for the last day was unable to sightsee.The hotel was very helpful, particularly Stephanie, who arranged for her to rest at the hotel after checkout time whilst the rest of us went sightseeing. Stephanie also arranged a shuttle from the Hotel to the airport. I would highly recommend this hotel to family and friends for its friendly nature and good location.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberemin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Our first time in Paris, just three nights. We didn't know what to expect, and booked online somewhere we could afford (with lousy exchange rates at the time), and which seemed close to the metro, and major points of interest - for us. We were travelling with our 10 year old daughter and booked a room to sleep three. The hotel was almost typically Parisian, with a lovely oval staircase centrally. The room wasn't spectacular, but it was comfortable - who spends much time in their room in Paris anyway? The hotel was 75 m from a lovely square that had the typical shops around its rim - boulangerie, fromagerie etc. So for a few days we felt like Parisians. 15 mins from L'Arc du Triomphe, maybe 40 mins from the Trocadero and of course the Eiffel Tower. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Hotel Harvey was a pleasant experience. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean. Metro and airport shuttle are very close at hand. Quiet street and loads of restaurants nearby. Try the steakhouse on the corner but get there early! The walls are very thin and you can hear people in rooms next door but there wasn't any problem on out visit. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TransplantedAmerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Batignolles-Monceau
Fertel Maillot
Fertel Maillot
#1,053 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Passy
Residence Imperiale
Residence Imperiale
#941 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel L'Adresse Paris
#1,182 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Villa Brunel
Villa Brunel
#822 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Hotel La Villa des Ternes
#240 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Harvey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Harvey

Property: Hotel Harvey
Address: 7 B rue du Debarcadere | 17 Arr., 75017 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#476 Family Hotel in Paris
#520 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#520 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Harvey 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent hotel located between the Palais of Congresses, Porte Maillot and Etoile square, with all rooms equipped with bathroom, air conditioning, safety box, minibar, satellite TV, and free Internet Wi-fi. A large buffet breakfast is provided. You can choose between comfortable standard rooms or also large superior rooms with accommodation possible for up to 4 persons (extra beds). Bus terminals from airports (CDG, Orly, Beauvais) 5 min walk maximum. Multi-language, nice and efficient welcome reception service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Harvey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing