We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BAD Location-Small Rooms-1 Crossant....”
Review of Hotel Merryl

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Merryl
Ranked #1,691 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Portland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“BAD Location-Small Rooms-1 Crossant....”
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I recently stayed at the Merryl Hotel in Paris and was disappointed with my overall stay. The hotel is located in a bad neighborhood. It was very difficult to find the location. On the first night we witnessed a big fight a couple of hundred meters from the hotels entrance. Not a great family hotel or for female travelers.

The rooms are very small, especially the showers. The towels in the room are clean but need to be replaced with new towels. My friends also had the same comments about their room.

My biggest complaint with this hotel is the breakfast. The hotel has a very RUDE housekeeper assisting in the breakfast area. The selection of food is very limited at bests. Guests are only allowed to have one croissant. I made the mistake of trying to take 2-croissants and was yelled at by housekeeper. The housekeeping staffs need to take a customer service class (basic greetings & SMILE).

This hotel is suitable for a “small” person who only wants 1-crossant….

One of the worst hotels I've ever stayed in. Pick another hotel

Room Tip: Don't put large bags in the elevator. The elevator is really small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank westlakewarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    46
    44
    61
    84
See reviews for
31
112
19
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg City, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We were living in this hotel for 10 days. Hotel is very small and dirty. We were given room near reception. We acn't sleep in the morning, because it was too louad, we here everithing from our room. On the second day we ask to change room, and went to the 4 floor. There we listen the sounds of elevator :) Breakfast is simple, nothing to eat. We were disapointed...

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Artur1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COLL-7, Responsable réception at Hotel Merryl, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
We are very sorry that your stay was not as pleasant as you wished it. Indeed, It is likely that rooms are more noisy in the ground floor but we cannot be responsible for the non compliance with the customer, it would have been necessary for it to warn just the reception for stop the noise . I hold to you informed that we propose an unbeatable value for money on Paris. Then as regards the breakfast I find your comments to exaggerate because we propose a continental breakfast with coffee , tea, chocolate, cereal, croissant, yoghurt, orange juice, bread, butter, different jam, honey I find that it is varied enough knowing that he it was offered in your reservation. Finally the rooms was all renoved everything is new and appropriate.BA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

the colony
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Booked this Hotel online. Thought I was walking in the getto while tring to find it. The room smelled bad and the carpet was so gross we would not take our shoes off, and the grout in the bathroom was all moldy. We booked two rooms for two nights, it was so bad we never stayed, we found another place to stay. We choose to loose 400.00Euros instead of staying in this dump. And what a suprise they would not refund any money. This should give you a great idea of this Hotel. There are thousands of hotels in Paris. Stay away !!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank curt t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COLL-7, Responsable réception at Hotel Merryl, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Madam, sir

It is with the big confusion that I discover your comment. You accommodated it one of our not still renewed rooms and I apologize for it In effect this room at need for being redone and she it will soon be it for all that know that all the rest of the hotel is renewed. By hoping to see again to judge it by you even.
I find however your comments very excessive.
It's a pity it would have been simply necessary to ask to change room .

Best regards , AB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiryat motzkin
Level Contributor
117 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We stayed three nights. Roons are quit small and clean -French style so to say. This is not what is ment as clean in central Europe. A continental breakfast buffet. Very friendly and helpfull stuff. Very close to Metro station. A very very dirty neighbourghood. Compared to all Paris which is not very clean, this vicinity is axceptional not appropriate for tourists.
This is some unjust for the hotel, but I think that future travelers should know about it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yossil01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2012

I stayed in this hotel for four nights. My room is not big but clean and tidy. There is TV set in the room, which is quite help for me to know the latest weather forecast and practise my French. The breakfast is OK and the staffs are all very nice. The location of the hotel is perfect, being close to St Coeur Cathedral and there is only two minutes' walk from Merryl to the underground station!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Little S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Very nice hotel, we enjoyed our stay. Thanks again

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davemladi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

its just a small hotel situated at one of the quite street there. The room may be small but just right for the two of us. Breakfast is served at the basement of the hotel. At first my wife was hesitant as it was not as what she xpected....but after a while she got used to it.... Halal eatery is everywhere near our place....a provision store is just around the corner fr us to buy our munchies....and best of all,La chappelle metro station is just a stone throw away the hotel.

Room Tip: room at the higher floor for more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ritzstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Gofen
#1,642 of 1,802 in Paris
20 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel De France
Hotel De France
#1,563 of 1,802 in Paris
74 reviews
Belgrand Hotel
#1,387 of 1,802 in Paris
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Patio Brancion
#1,180 of 1,802 in Paris
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Merryl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Merryl

Property: Hotel Merryl
Address: 7 rue Pajol | 18th Arr., 75018 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,691 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Merryl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merryl Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing