We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel!!!”
Review of Hotel Merryl

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Merryl
Ranked #1,701 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Very close to Gare du Nord - perfect for euro star stop over for a couple of nights. Basic hotel with no frills. Nice staff. Basic breakfast included. Nice place, kind staff, weak wi-fi connection. I recommend this hotel for its closeness to the train stations and metro and for the friendly staff. Will use again next time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mario_Maresca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Merryl
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

I booked this last minute and was grateful to be able to book the three night deal for the exact nights of stay I was to be in Paris.

It was perfectly sufficient for my needs, clean and dry no frills accommodation.

Thanks

VC

Room Tip: Rooms that overlook rue Pajol can be noisy - so if you are a light sleeper, recommend you ask for a...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VivineC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Very close to Gare du Nord - perfect for euro star stop over for a couple of nights. Basic hotel with no frills. Nice staff. £44 first night with Expedia and 41 euros for the next night paid at the hotel. Basic breakfast included.
Will use again next time.

Room Tip: Book direct if you can to check for best price.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WelshTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Nice place, kind staff, weak wi-fi connection but surprisingly working, poor breakfast.
I was travelling alone and it was just for one night. I recommend this hotel for its closeness to the train stations (Gare de l'Est, Gare du Nord) but this isn't the good place to come with your girlfriend of family ...

Room Tip: Higher floors are quiet with a surprising view on Monmartre!!!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Turismoinfinito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

The only redeeming quality of my stay at the Hotel Merryl was how close it was to the Gare du Nord/ La Chapelle metro station.

The room was so small. The double bed was two twin beds pushed together, with one mattress constantly sliding right off. The extremely small bathroom had a stall shower that kept overflowing. The TV can only be on if the lights in the room are on. WiFi only works if you sit in the minuscule reception area.

Too expensive for me, for such a small room in a very sketchy neighborhood.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacsloven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We booked this hotel at the last minute and we weren't expecting The Ritz but "basic" doesn't even begin to cover it. The staff were unfriendly and unhelpful. The room was small, but it's Paris so that's to be expected, however it was dingy. The carpet was threadbare, and in the four days we were there was not vacumned once. It was also heavily stained so we kept footwear of some description on at all times. There were two (2) electrical outlets, one of which was taken up by the TV. We actually unplugged this as there was no point in watching tv anyway as we have very limited French, and there was not one English speaking channel. The "full continental" breakfast consisted of coffee, (made from concentrate) orange juice, a strange looking cereal, (rock hard) baquette and croissant. ONE CROISSANT per person is displayed on a sign in the TINY dining area and is a strictly enforced policy as we learned! We did not go to Paris to stay holed up in a hotel, but it would have been nice to come back to a pleasant room / atmosphere. A request for extra pillows was met with an eye roll! There is apparently an elevator, but it "doesn't service all the hotel". This meant we had to climb 2 floors of steep / curved concrete steps, not the ideal for someone with hip / lumbar problems. The best thing that can be said about this hotel is that it is about 2 minutes from La Chapelle metro station. Beyond that it is NOT a hotel we would recommend unless you have no other option!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Onthegoagain212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COLL-7, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Merryl, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Dear Guests,

I would like to post my comments regarding this last review that is totally extreme to me.
Hôtel Merryl is a very cheap,basic,clean,safe and well located 2 star hotel in Paris.
However,do not expect what we cannot offer for this rate...
I think you have just booked the wrong hotel.
Kind regards.

A.M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

the accommodation is average, it is rather hostel than a hotel, but it*s ok. somebody mentioned here that they don*t have a lift. they do, but it is very small, so the client must have overlooked it :) the breakfast is as almost everywhere in france - sweet: croissant or bread with honey or marmelade and juice/coffee.

what*s inconvenient: the weird male groups standing outside. they were drinking and this doesn*t create a safe environment for female travellers. between the stations barbes-rochechouart and la chapelle it looks like a red light district (mainly during the nights/weekend*s). during the days it looks quite normal.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NunuN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Hotel De France
Hotel De France
#1,530 of 1,803 in Paris
76 reviews
Belgrand Hotel
#1,446 of 1,803 in Paris
140 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Amiot Hotel
Amiot Hotel
#1,586 of 1,803 in Paris
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
République
Hotel Les Chansonniers
Hotel Les Chansonniers
#1,364 of 1,803 in Paris
255 reviews
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Hotel Ermitage
Hotel Ermitage
#1,401 of 1,803 in Paris
143 reviews
Ibis Budget Paris Nord 18eme
#1,485 of 1,803 in Paris
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Merryl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Merryl

Address: 7 rue Pajol | 18th Arr., 75018 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,701 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £41 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Merryl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merryl Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing