We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby and cramped”
Review of Hotel Exelmans

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Exelmans
Ranked #1,610 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
England
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Shabby and cramped”
Reviewed 8 November 2009

Friendly and helpful desk staff, room quiet, linen clean. No lift, shabby, dark corridors, room so small there was only room for one bedside table, shower room shabby - cracked, mouldy tiles. One upright chair and a minuscule writing table.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baldybeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    49
    73
    59
    91
See reviews for
34
93
34
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2009

The website was superb! and the price was more than reasonnable!
It turned out that the hotel is sooo small with no services. When we arrived, we thought this is it?? Then, they took us to our room through a dark, dirty outdoor staircase. The room was so ugly and depressing. It looked like an old prisoners cell! We returned to the reception and said that this room was unacceptable. Without hesitation, they offered us a much better room (for an extra 15 euros per night). However, the room was very cramped, the matress was of very poor quality and the partitions were far from being soundproef.
Also, we felt that this hotel is much too far from the center. You end up spending a lot of your time and money commuting to your favourite spots!
No good!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank montreal-amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2009

Great little place in a quiet area, but only a couple of minutes walk to the nearest metro station so not too much hassle to get into the town. Rooms clean and very comfortable, would definitely recommend as a cheap spot for a short stay. Also excellent location if you are visiting Paris for sports events at either Parc des Princes or Stade Jean Bouin (both within walking distance).

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jobi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2008

We booked our tickets through Lastminute.com and were drawn in by pictures of a lovely courtyard with tables where the reality was about 20 paving stones with overgrown weeds and not at all the place you would like to sit of an evening. When we checked in the hotel wasnt prepared for us so we had to wait about 30 mins so they could make a room up for us - the room itself was a decent size, clean and the beds were comfy although the walls are very thin and if you dont want to hear your neighbours snoring or sneezing then i suggest earplugs. also slamming doors can wake you up with a start in the night as it feels like it's happening in your own room. The staff were lovely though, very helpful and always a cheery smiley face to see. All in all it wasnt an unplesent or uncomfortable stay but they could deal with reading a few of these comments and making some changes.

  • Liked — the friendly staff
  • Disliked — bad location and thin walls
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonPoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2007

I went to this hotel after some problems with another hotel in Paris, which looked horrible and had a very unfriendly staff.
So it was a very nice surprise to see that in the Exelmans the staff was very friendly and helpful. The reception looks very nice and chic and the hotel is located in a residential area in South-West Paris.
The real problem was the room, very, very small and pretty ugly... There was a clean en-suite bathroom, very small also. The TV didn't have a functional remote, so we had to change all the 4 stations (!) by climbing a chair and pushing really hard the TV buttons. Also, the smell wasn't great and we had to keep the windows open all the time. Breakfast was ok, typical French continental breakfast, but they only serve it until 9h30, after that, you can't even get a cup of coffee...
The hotel is located very close to Parc-des-Princes, so it's the perfect location if you want to see some matches.
It's not very far from the center, but, if you want to go to Montmartre - where all parties happen -, you'll spend about 1hour and a half by subway. All and all, a friendly hotel with very good rates that should get a little cleaned up

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — the room
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alinutzapif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2005

After booking this hotel for a short break I discovered this web site and read the reviews for the Exelmans Hotel, instantly made me want to cancel my reservation. However, we took the decision to go with it and see for ourselves, as the pictures looked so good. Glad we didn't cancel, really was like the photos, but only the upgraded rooms. The budget rooms were exactly that, budget. The place was clean and comfortable, and despite several reviews saying the staff were unhelpful, we found the opposite. In places in the main hotel it needed decorating. If I had any complaint at all it would be the supposed Internet Cafe, which was actually the computer in the Reception area, so not easy to use it with any privacy or length of time, in fact it was impossible to use it the night we wanted to. Also if anyone else stays in Room 44, a lovely room, with en-suite, my only complaint was the noise from the room above, it sounded like they were coming through to our room, not sure it was another room or staff quarters, but footsteps all night! Other than that the Exelmans was a good base to see the sights in Paris, albeit a little far out of town, but for those of us who enjoy train travel that was fine. Give it a try, good price and comfortable accommodation.

Helpful?
10 Thank SANJUPERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 15 November 2003

Was sent to this hotel after being doublebooked at another hotel by a certain web holiday company. was dissappointed at first as it did not look as nice and seemed out of the way. However, it was clean and the staff friendly. The room and bahroom were small . I probably wouldnt return as the area in which the hotel was in was extremely quiet, out of the way and had very few amenities. was cheap as chips though!

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paris
Passy
Hotel Boileau
Hotel Boileau
#1,151 of 1,800 in Paris
118 reviews
Passy
Holiday Inn Paris Auteuil
Holiday Inn Paris Auteuil
#801 of 1,800 in Paris
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Murat
#1,569 of 1,800 in Paris
267 reviews
Hotel Poussin
#1,565 of 1,800 in Paris
119 reviews
Olympic Hotel
#9 of 24 in Boulogne-Billancourt
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Exelmans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Exelmans

Property: Hotel Exelmans
Address: 73 rue Boileau | 16th Arr, 75016 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Passy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,610 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Exelmans 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Exelmans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exelmans Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing