We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth the side trip.”

Musee Nissim de Camondo
Book In Advance
More Info
US$95.00*
and up
Paris Museum Pass and Seine River Cruise Including Delivery to Your Hotel
Ranked #26 of 1,105 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
virginia
Level Contributor
468 reviews
214 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Well worth the side trip.”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Not too far from the Arc d'Triumph on a side street. Absolutely delightful mansion and artwork, worth seeking out. Asian Museum of Paris nearby also worth a look if you like Asian Art, especially Tang horses, and Song ladies. These mansion museums are all exquisite and under-publicized.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank yahootraveler64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,138
    335
    47
    9
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Off the Beaten Path and Off the Radar”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Prior to a short 4 day Winter visit to Paris we contacted a Trinity College professor who has taught Art History at the Trinity College Paris campus for years. Having been to Paris several times before, we had seen all of the major museums. Our friend recommended this gem and said it is frequently missed by the usual tourist crowd. We went on a Sunday not knowing what to really expect. My husband and I started the self-guided audio tour together and three hours later found each other on a stone bench... emotionally exhausted by the experience. I have recommended this museum to all I know traveling to Paris. Read HARE WITH AMBER EYES by Edmund De Waal before or after going for the full experience. Also PARIS by Edward Rutherfurd

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank forzaroma125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Well presented if you're interested in 1Xth century furniture”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

It was well-presented, but I found the I don't have much interest in furnishings from the era Comondo collected.
Loved seeing the kitchen, staff dining room compared to the guest dining room.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
437 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Best in the neighbourhood”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

One of three museums within about 500m, the Nissim de Camondo is, to me, the best in terms of the overall experience. It is (was) a family home, like the other two (Musée Cernuschi, Musée Jaquemart-Andre), but this one has a more of a 'lived-in' feel, in that you see bathrooms, kitchens and get more of a feel for how the household functioned.

But really, it is all about the architecture and the paintings, tapestries, ceramics, sculpture, and furniture. It is the house of an avid and dedicated collector with deep pockets... who sadly had no heirs and like the other two museums, left the house and collection to the nation.

Audioguide is included in the price, entrance fee is €9, open 10:00 to 17:30, closed Mon. and Tue. Metro Monceau or Villiers. Stairs aplenty, and no elevator.

Depending on your stamina, the other two mentioned (reviewed separately) could be done in one full day, with perhaps 30 minutes on a shady bench in adjacent Parc Monceau to recharge the batteries in your lunch break!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank david1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
180 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“A wonderful house with a sad history”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This is a splendid house built in the early 20th century but furnished in a style of 200 years earlier. It's not like going to a museum but visiting the private home of a very rich family. A family you get to know as there is so much personal stuff there. Along the way you learn the family's history which is a tragic one.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Malbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Musee Nissim de Camondo also viewed

 

Been to Musee Nissim de Camondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing