We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great empty zoo”

Parc Zoologique de Paris
Ranked #184 of 1,169 things to do in Paris
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
CapelleaandenIjssel
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A great empty zoo”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

A bit of a disappointment, almost no animals to be seen. And if they were there, you could hardly see them. Inside the Grand Foliere there you can see a sloth crawling around the ceiling, this was quite spectacular. When it rains there are no places to hide, so don't forget to bring your umbralla.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,810 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    521
    412
    328
    228
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Barely any animals”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We took our young daughter there a few weeks ago and were quite disappointed. There weren't much animals to see. Some of the enclosures were still empty as some animals have still not arrived to the newly opened zoo. Moreover, the enclosures with animals were very large and it was very difficult to spot the animals. I'm not talking about the small animals either - the lion for example was very difficult to spot. Older children seemed to enjoy looking for the lion, but the younger ones couldn't see a thing. A number of animals you would expect to see in a zoo are missing and there doesn't seem to be any plans to get them either (elephants, bears and tigers to name a few, if I remember correctly). To top it all the shows are too unorganized. The first one we tried was too crowded and the second one started an hour late. We've been to better zoos.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank alien26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Refurbished zoo finally opens in Paris”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The Paris zoo was closed for several years in Paris and was opened early April. Not all animals are already present and some animals need time to adapt to their new environment. A discounted entrance fee is applied at this moment. The infrastructure is brand new. Although there are some sorthcomings (less animals etc.), it is indeed worth to visit especially considering there are about 15 giraffes present. Several parts are dedicated to a theme such as Guyana (tropical wood), Patagonia, North East Africa, etc.
The major item to improve is the restauration. This self service restaurant is badly organised (large delays) and the quality of the food is not very good!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Kris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“NOT ready to be open. ”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

My partner and I visited the Zoo today and were left extremely dissappointed. Although the enclosures are of a good size, there are bery fee animals to actually see. We passed countless enclosures with no animals inside. On top of this, the glass they have used to view animals is pretty mich reflective making it near impossible to see anything. It all feels very rushed, as if they have been in a real hurry to open the park. I would reccomend anyone thinking of visiting to wait a few months. This zoo has the potential to be great but unfortunateley, didnt live up.

Helpful?
10 Thank Jamwee
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Downgrade to balance the budget”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The most expensive animals are not there and there are 13 times less animals than in London Zoo. It is now a provincial zoo.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Wasana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Parc Zoologique de Paris also viewed

 

Been to Parc Zoologique de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing