We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Permanent collections are free - amazing building!”

Petit Palais, City of Paris Fine Art Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$171.10*
and up
Champs Elysées 2-Hour Private Walking Tour
Ranked #44 of 1,105 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Built for the 1900 Universal Exhibition and completely renovated in 2005, the Petit Palais offers an artistic panorama from antiquity through the 20th century: ancient and medieval collections, precious art objects from the French and Italian Renaissance, Flemish and Dutch paintings (Dutuit bequest), icons (Cabal bequest), 18th century work (Tuck donation), French paintings and sculptures from the 19th century - Courbet, Carpeaux, Cezanne, Vuillard - and Art Nouveau creations.
USA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Permanent collections are free - amazing building!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

An amazing building that hosts an impressive permanent collection. The line for the temporary exhibit was incredibly long, so I bypassed that in favor of visiting the main collection. It was extensive and included a very helpful brochure that walked me through the different rooms of art and antiquities. Almost all of the rooms also have a laminated sheet to elaborate further on the items housed there. I would definitely recommend coming here. Be sure to check out the outdoor area in the center, as well. I brought a sandwich with me and ate it in the peaceful garden.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank odderie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,602 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    930
    550
    104
    14
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Great Surprise!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We loved the Paris 1900. which was, unfortunately, only a temporary exhibit! It was multimedia, beautiful and comprehensive, especially around the development of the Eiffel Tour and the world's fair.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DSparkling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
481 reviews
173 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
“Excellent special exhibition but the main collection looked a bit dull”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We came to see the special exhibition on the Paris Expo 1900 and saw a bit of the permanent collection while we were there. The special exhibition was really interesting with a mixture of paintings, furniture, costumes, jewellery and porcelain from the period, along with some interesting material about the Expo itself. Le Petit Palais was built to house part of the Expo so it's a highly appropriate venue. There were some real delights in the exhibition - some Guimard art nouveau furniture and some beautiful Chopard jewellery, as well as some great paintings (my favourite being a Cezanne portrait of Vollard). We also saw bits of the permanent collection (free to get in) which was very extensive if a bit dull. There's also a nice café which overlooks the courtyard garden and a great place to take a break. One odd thing - the signage was non-existent. There were no signs to the loos or even the exit so we had to ask to find the way out! I would highly recommend the special exhibition, not sure about the permanent collection.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan8552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paris in 1900”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Our first visit to the Petit Palaise . It was a very pleasant experience and well worth booking our tickets online to save queuing. The planning of the exhibition was excellent and it was an unforgettable visit. One is easily impressed by the architecture and purpose built for the 1900 Paris Exhibition. The quality of food and drink on offer was impressive but the people took too long to choose at the counter .it would have been helpful to show what is on offer so that people could be served more quickly. The Petit Palaise is well worth a visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FL
Level Contributor
98 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Architecture & Great Artists”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

If you like Delacroix, Monet, Sisley, Cezanne, Rembrandt and Rubens - you will find that and more at the Petit Palais. My wife and I went there to see the Paris 1900 exhibit but the lines were extremely long so we decided to just view the permanent collection and were quite pleased with all this museum had to offer. It is free and if you're facing the grand entrance (where the huge lines are), there is a smaller entrance just to the right where you can get in with practically no wait. The building is a wonderful example of Beaux Arts architectural style and is worth the trip just to see it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ileftfootprints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Petit Palais, City of Paris Fine Art Museum also viewed

 

Been to Petit Palais, City of Paris Fine Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing