We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extreme wow”
Review of W Paris - Opera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W Paris - Opera
Ranked #397 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed here for a weekend for the Lana del Rey concert at the Olympia (hotel is very near) in April 2013. We had booked a small suite, but for some inexplicable reason they had upgraded us to the extreme wow suite, which was in two words, extreme wow. Located on the first floor, its got two big rooms, one of which got a circular bed in the middle, fun art on the walls, creating an opulent, decadent atmosphere. Very nice bathrooms, one of which had a large freestanding bath with ample room for two. Very nice club sandwiches in the bar. Breakfast was a bit bizarre as it was not buffet style but from a set menu.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sakse_Joanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe M, General Manager at W Paris - Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Sakse_Joanna ,
Thank you for your great comments further your stay in our beautiful property.
It's true that the E-WoW is a great experience especially cause in one space you have the declinaison of our design narrative.
Since beginning of March 2014, we modified the concept of our restaurant and offering now a large breakfast buffet with varities of hot dishes.
Best regards.
Christophe Mercier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,002)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

460 - 466 of 1,002 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

To comfort my wife while I took a European ski trip for a week with friends, I booked via SPG, an extended trip to Paris and stayed at W Opera Hotel. Without an itenary, we landed in CDG and rented a Fiat at Hertz for €300/4 days. Arrived at the W just before 1030am and attempted to checkin. No expecting a room that early upon arrival we were told that one would be available in 1 hour. I gave my email and we went shopping across the street at LaFayette. (See my review). While shopping, I got an email less than 1 hour later that our room was ready!


We arrived at check in and received our room cards. Our luggauge was brought to our room and the rental was parked courtesy of the valet.

Room is ultra modern, typical of a W property. Despite being in Europe, the room was spacious. I wish the window would allowed to the fully open, but I guess that is for insurance reasons. Bed is very comfortable. TV selection for English speaking is limited. For smokers, you can go outside the hotel restaurant where there is an outdoor seating area.


Menu is quite expensive. Typical of a 5 star hotel. A short walk will give you multiple bars, restaurants, etc if you don't want to pay 5 star prices.


The concierge was very helpful in giving directions to navigate via the subway. Made it to the Eiffel Tower and other tourist attractions with ease and returned with subterranean transfers as well.


My wife and I had a great time in Paris and at the W. While we may not return to Paris for a long time (other European cities to visit) we will likely stay at the W or another SPG property here.

I reserve 5 star reviews for hotels/resorts that have pool and/or beach access. That's my reason for the 4 star review and a 5 star property.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank PipeDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe M, General Manager at W Paris - Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear PipeDoctor,
Thank you so much for your nice comments regarding the W Paris-Opéra and we are delighted that you enjoy your stay in our beautiful property. It's true that the location is great close to shopping areas and good places.
We wish you nice trips around Europe to discover new W properties and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in Paris one day.
Best regards.
Christophe Mercier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

On our return from skiing we spent one night at W Opera. Having lived in Paris before, the location is ideal as it is close to many great shopping spots as well as the museums. The service at the hotel was superb. As an SPG platinum member, we were upgraded to a great Opera view suite on arrival. The room is typical W style.

The concierge team prior to arrival were great in helping us secure dinner at Le Cinq restaurant. The recommendation was great and Clement among others were brilliant in making our night a memorable one.

The bar and breakfast area are very cool. Breakfast was a typically light french spread, but very good.

We would definitely stay at the hotel when next in Paris.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claude_Vone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe M, General Manager at W Paris - Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Claude_Vone,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are really pleased that you enjoy your stay in our great property, located in the middle of the City of Light. All the team would be happy to welcome you again soon and continue to share with you the W experience !
Best regards
Christophe Mercier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

As with most W properties, this hotel is super modern and pushes the decor envelope. The location across from the Opera cannot be beat and the staff were very helpful. While the room was not huge, it was conducive for my husband and me. The room was clean and well appointed. We enjoyed a room service breakfast one morning and with the view of the Opera from our window, it could not have started our day off better. If possible, try to request a room on the Opera side of the building so as to take advantage of the awesome views. I would definitely recommend this hotel to solo travelers, business professional, and couples.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe M, General Manager at W Paris - Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Natalie H,
Thank you so much for your nice comments. We are really pleased that you enjoy your stay in our property. It's true that the hotel location is great and the view of our beautiful neighbour, the Opéra Garnier, from the Spectacular rooms is amazing.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again soon.
Best regards.
Christophe Mercier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Fantastic hotel in every respect - great location, excellent service and 'cool' W vibe. Definitely one of the best properties in the W portfolio.

As an SPG platinum we were upgraded to a marvellous suite which has a junior suite configuration with the bedroom separated by a divider. There were TVs in both the sitting area and the bedroom and the room was decked out in a cool W style with a sparkle wall and eccentric red couch. It had views of the opera house and street below.

The modern, spacious bathroom had two connected sinks, a shower large enough for two with excellent water pressure and the largest bottles of bliss toiletries I have come across.

Staff went out of their way to maintain the W vibe, there is quirky art and decoration throughout the hotel and the W soundtrack plays in your room to greet you after a night out (turned on as part of turn down service).

As a platinum complimentary breakfast was served in the Arola restaurant - excellent continental spread (the chocolate croissants are incredible!) with the option to upgrade to the full option including items from the hot food menu. We also had dinner at Arola one night - superb Spanish inspired tapas.

There is usually a bar but unfortunately it was closed for renovation during our visit (Feb 2014). However, the concierge had a number of excellent recommendations for bars in the area.

My only criticism is that as a property typically charging more than €300 a night they could be a little more subtle about trying to push items from the minibar and avoid tricking you into paying for water (some waters in the room are complimentary but they are very hard to tell apart from those that are €4 for a tiny bottle). The minibar items are laid out a little too prominently on top of the minibar and when we arrived there was a bottle of vodka and an ice bucket on the coffee table with glasses laid out - a little too pushy in my view.

All in all an excellent property and a memorable experience. Not cheap but worth it for that special occasion or treat. One of the best in the SPG portfolio not just in Paris but in Europe!

Room Tip: Suite with Opera views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colonel_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe M, General Manager at W Paris - Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Colonel_56,
We would like to thank you for your nice comments regarding your recent stay at the W Paris-Opéra. We are delighted that you enjoy your interactions with our Talents and the services of the hotel. As you mentioned the Munchie Box, set up on top of the minibar, is one of our W Standard and an additonal value to propose various items - food & beverage, music, gimmick - to our guests, more than the minibar only.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again soon in the City of Lights !
Best regards.
Christophe Mercier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Great location next the Opera house, which has a great club and fantastic management. The staff at the hotel was very friendly and courteous as is normal of W hotels. The room was nice and clean. This is Europe so you are not going to get huge rooms but this is Paris you shouldn't be in your room except to sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Icebull1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe M, General Manager at W Paris - Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Hello Icebull1906,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experiences on your recent stay here at the W Paris Opera.

We are thrilled to hear you had such a wonderful time at our property and that you enjoyed our friendliness and service.

We cannot wait to have you back with us soon!

Stay tuned,
Christophe Mercier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We came to Paris to celebrate my recent great health news. We were going to a concert so booked a hotel that was within walking distance of the venue. The Hotel W fitted the bill perfectly and everything about the hotel was just what we were looking for (or so it says on the website!!!). On arrival we were greeted well and treated well - all the staff we met were lovely. However, the room (even though a 'Spectacular Room' and quite expensive) was small (view of the opera house lovely though!). No coffee machine/kettle in room so had to rely on the very extortionate room service prices. The biggest let down for us at the hotel was the restaurant. Food cold and very mediocre (so disappointing!). We were told by the waiter that the restaurant had just re-opened a few days before - flabbergasted and amazed that no one else had complained! It really spoiled the whole ambience of our trip. Very disappointing, very over priced and will not be back - and will not be recommending this hotel to friends/family.

Room Tip: 'Spectacular Room' - Great position (view of opera house) - very expensive hotel for what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bev306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe M, General Manager at W Paris - Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Hello Bev306,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

We highly value the feedback of our guests since this will enable us to improve our services and product wherever needed.

I would like to thank you in particular for your kind comments on our Talents who deliverd a great service. However, we have noted your concerns on your experience at our restaurant. Rest assured that we will review your comments to clarify what went wrong.

Nevertheless, I do hope that you will reconsider and that we can expect you back with us on another occasion.

Thank you,
Christophe Mercier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel
Opera / Bourse
InterContinental Paris Le Grand
Champs-Elysees
Sofitel Paris Le Faubourg
Sofitel Paris Le Faubourg
#208 of 1,803 in Paris
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
The Westin Paris - Vendome
The Westin Paris - Vendome
#479 of 1,803 in Paris
3,694 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Park Hyatt Paris - Vendome
Notre Dame / Marais
Les Bains
Les Bains
#650 of 1,803 in Paris
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Paris - Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Paris - Opera

Address: 4 rue Meyerbeer, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #397 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £263 - £775 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — W Paris - Opera 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the center of fashion, nightlife, movies and the most fabulous shopping in the heart of Paris’ Opéra neighborhood. From the luxury boutiques of the Rue du Faubourg St Honoré to the world famous Grand Magasins, Le Printemps and les Galeries Lafayette, step out and explore the sights and sounds in the most extraordinary city to see and be seen. Electrify your stay in one of our 91 sparkling rooms and suites – 49 with stunning Opéra views. Each brings together classic Haussmann style and cutting edge design, the W signature bed and features like iPod docking stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Paris - Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing