We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”
Review of W Paris - Opera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
W Paris - Opera
Ranked #418 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My wife and I were in Paris to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary and our loyalty towards Starwood's frequent traveler program led us to the W Paris Opera. We had originally hoped to stay at a small Parisian boutique hotel but decided that the W would be fine for us. Little did we know that not only would be getting a fantastic small boutique hotel, right in the center of all the action in Paris, but we also would be getting the highest level of service and attention that you could ask for. The location directly across from the Opera could not have been more perfect and I think that walking over 40 miles in 5 days tells how convenient the hotel was to Sacre Coeur, Le Louvre, Place de Concorde, St Germain, etc. You are also surrounded by all of the major department stores in Paris, if you are so inclined.
Even though the W brand may not be as well known as other hotels in the city having the Opera as your point of reference - as well as the Apple store - made getting to and from the hotel incredibly convenient.
Having the oasis of the W patio to retreat to following long days of sightseeing and shopping was a huge plus and the breakfast at Coquette was always a delicious and substantial way to start our days.
The personal and attentive service the we received during our 5 day stay at the W Paris Opera put the Wow back into our travel experience and we are thrilled to have discovered our new home away from home in the City of Lights!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnnybgoode007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe M, General Manager at W Paris - Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear johnnybgoode007,
WoW ! Looking foward to welcoming again soon to continue to discover the W experience !
Best regards,
Christophe Mercier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,026)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

440 - 446 of 1,026 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel is in a great location for shopping at Galleries Lafayette ,just a cross the road. It is also right next to the Apple shop and opposite to the Opera house which is spectacular. The taxi driver didn't know where it was so make sure you have the address to give him.The hotel is not far from the train station and on a route for the hop in hop off bus. The hotel is a little funky and ultra modern really for my taste, would suit younger travellers more maybe. We ate at the restaurant ,the wine menu was great, and if your a red meat lover you will love it, not much really for vegetarians. The staff were very friendly and obliging, one big negative for me is there is no coffee/ tea making facilities.I asked for an electric jug and they provided one with two cups.i went to the store and bought tea and milk, as when I ordered one cup from room service it was 10 euro which is ridiculous. There are May room types and I chose the Spectacular room, which was spacious with an open bathroom. This is not great as I was in the shower when room service arrived and there is nothing but frosted glass protecting your privacy, this may not bother some people but I felt a little exposed. I also love a bath tub and you have to get a suite for that.
,

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe M, General Manager at W Paris - Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear Dianne H,
Thak you for your comments further your stay in our great property, located in the center of the City of Lights. When yopu plan to come back, please let us know in advance and we will be pleased to manage a bath in your room, upon availability.
Best regards,
Christophe Mercier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Good: nice location, convenient to shopping; okay staff who gave good recommendations

Bad: too hipster for my age (30+), lobby/hallway music always too loud; room is small (stayed at the wonderful room) but that was expected, but the shower had no curtain or door, so every time I showered, the toilet seat got wet. When asked why no curtain, hotel said it's their "design"....breakfast selection was limited but service was good

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe M, General Manager at W Paris - Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear Bella C,
Thank you for your feedback who will help us to improve ourself. It's true that a full experience W is based on our three passion points : Fashion, Music, Design and you will find a touch of each in our properties. The design layout of the bathroom could be qualified unusual with a shower cabin or a bath tube. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again.
Best regards,
Christophe Mercier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

stayed for a second time; hotel keeps on improving.
location, very friendly and helpful staff, quiet room.
got a great upgrade. nice bathroom amenities. excellent breakfast service.
modern. stylish. intimate.
great choice.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ErwinFromBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe M, General Manager at W Paris - Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014
Google Translation

Cher ErwinFromBelgium,
Merci pour votre message. Nous sommes toujours soucieux d'améliorer l'expérience client.
Nous espérons avoir le plaisir de vous accueillir à nouveau prochainement.
Cordialement,
Christophe Mercier
Directeur Général

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed at the W Paris Opera for 1 night in August. Used a Suite Night Award to upgrade, which was processed and I received a ‘Marvelous Suite’. Walked to the hotel from Chatelet (20 mins) and was able to check in early – the room was ready at 9am, which was fantastic as I was tired from the flight US to CDG.

The Marvelous Suite wasn’t overly spacious – but it was very comfortable for a solo traveller. There was a double vanity, separate toilet/shower, and large Bliss products/amenities. The bed/pillows/duvet were super comfortable and, unusually, the light switches at this W Hotel were easy to operate (compared to other W Hotels!). There was a cocktail shaker with vodka, gin, etc in the room, and the minibar was stocked with lots of goodies.

The room had a view of the side of Opera from the windows – just note that the windows don’t open more than a couple of inches. I did use the gym once – it’s smaller than most W / Sweat gyms and doesn’t have any weights larger than 25 lbs (just some info for you meat-heads out there!). 3-4 cardio machines and a swiss ball.

The room description said ‘Free Cocktail’ but the check-in agent didn’t mention it nor did I receive a voucher, so I’m not sure exactly what that is.

Check-In / Check-Out was simple and painless; I had the same agent for both and she was friendly.

The location of this hotel is excellent – I hadn’t stayed in this area of Paris before but I’m glad that I did – plenty of shops, a nearby Starbucks, supermarket (MonoPrix), and it’s a 15 min walk to Concorde; slightly longer to the Louvre. I actually walked after checking out to Gare Du Nord which wasn’t bad at all (20 mins), but probably not for those who have heavy luggage.

I think this hotel is slightly overpriced for what it is – the rack rates can be astronomical and SPG should look at their pricing on this one. Since I used Cash + Points, it offset the cost a little and therefore I gave the full 5 stars overall.

All in all, a great stay & location – I would return for sure. Thanks again, Starwood & W!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SamW_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe M, General Manager at W Paris - Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear SamW_DC ,
Thanks for yourfeedback that i will be pleased to share with our talents. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again soon to continue to discover the W experience in the middle of the City of Lights !
Best regards,
Christophe Mercier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

A cool little addition to the Paris hotel scene. The location is literally across the road from the Opera House and hence well connected to all forms of transport. The lobby, common area and rooms are tight. This is not unusual for W properties around the world. The standard room is fine for a couple on short-term stay basis, especially if you tend to be out and about all day. The bed is adequate rather than wow. The shower is small but Bliss amenity products and excellent water pressure offset that to make it a decent experience. The service is typical W casual chic and better than most Paris hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Morgan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe M, General Manager at W Paris - Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear Morgan P,
Thanks for your nice comments further your stay in our beautiful property.I will be pleased to share them with our talents.
Looking foward to welcoming you again soon.
Best rgards,
Christophe Mercier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Wonderful Hotel. The W and Starwood at its very best. Knock your socks off terrific service. Beautiful hotel. Great location. Awesome bathroom with an amazing shower. While we only stayed one night, we will definitely be back. We've been to Paris dozens of times and never stayed at a hotel with such great and helpful staff. We had a great time in a beautiful room. Everyone went out if their way to make us feel welcome and have fun. Front desk staff and the bellmen were great. Room was very comfortable. Our cab driver didnt know where it was, but its a great location, right by the Paris Opera. 't are going back with the kids. We were partial to the left bank, but one hotel experience changed out minds. Way to go W Paris.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NodakNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe M, General Manager at W Paris - Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear NodakNative,
WoW ! Thank your for your great comments.
See you soon in Paris and let's continue to discover the W Spirit !
Best regards,
Christophe Mercier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opéra / Bourse
InterContinental Paris Le Grand
Opéra / Bourse
Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel
Champs-Élysées
Prince de Galles, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Élysées
La Maison Champs Elysees
La Maison Champs Elysees
#491 of 1,809 in Paris
538 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
The Westin Paris - Vendome
The Westin Paris - Vendome
#486 of 1,809 in Paris
3,790 reviews
Hyatt Paris Madeleine
#258 of 1,809 in Paris
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Paris - Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Paris - Opera

Address: 4 rue Meyerbeer, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #418 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £259 - £687 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — W Paris - Opera 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the center of fashion, nightlife, movies and the most fabulous shopping in the heart of Paris’ Opéra neighborhood. From the luxury boutiques of the Rue du Faubourg St Honoré to the world famous Grand Magasins, Le Printemps and les Galeries Lafayette, step out and explore the sights and sounds in the most extraordinary city to see and be seen. Electrify your stay in one of our 91 sparkling rooms and suites – 49 with stunning Opéra views. Each brings together classic Haussmann style and cutting edge design, the W signature bed and features like iPod docking stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your W Paris - Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing