We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hippodrome Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Peninsula Paris(Paris)
US$1,220
The Peninsula
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$480
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$411
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Muguet(Paris)
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Grand Hotel Francais(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$231
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$541
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$527
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$294
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$255
Duquesne Eiffel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$502
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$411
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
24
37
28
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
37
28
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplace de clichymoulin rougeless than a minute walktram stopshower worked wellsacre coercomfortable double bedcleaned every daysmall sizean excellent hotelstar hotelno liftroom keylots of restaurantsgreat locationvisiting parisdesk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 104 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Typical Parisian mid-range hotel. Friendly service, tiny room with even tinier bathroom. Close to two metro stations and walking distance to many attractions. Very close to Place de Clichy (strip clubs etc) & the Moulin Rouge. Award winning baguettes 2 mins away at Coquelicot.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mannie131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2010

We tried to be in the room only after dark as we didnt want to have to look at the black mould around the windows or on the ceiling or the peeling wallpaper. We arrived quite late on the night we checked in and when we asked to be moved we were told they were full. It seemed unlikely as it was a Wednesday night and indeed over the following four days we did not see any other guests or here anyone coming or going. We had to step into the shower in order to make room for the bathroom door to close. There was also a large hole in the wall above the shower where a vent may have once been. The only good point was the high water pressure making for a very enjoyable shower experience but be sure to bring your own soap as none is provided. Overall it looked like thethe kind of place that might rent rooms by the hour. It was shabby and poorly maintained. The foam mattresses and the homeless man who lived in a self built hut accross the road added to that theory.
Probably most suitable for stag weekends or backpackers on a tight budget.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annettemg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2008

The Hippodrome is at the very west end of the Pigalle area of Montmarte - the road that leads from the Gare du Nord and goes past the strip club district, the Sacre Couer, the Moulin Rouge and Le Chat Noir. All making for a very interesting walk to the hotel - if you're going with your partner or a prudish friend though, take care - the strip clubs and their promoters are fairly prevalent.
It's not at all threatening and the promoters tend to leave couples alone, but if it's not your style I'd give the Hippodrome a miss. If you are game for a laugh, go for it - it can be fairly amusing.

The hotel itself is close to the Place de Clichy, convenient for access to the Gare du Nord and also for the Champs Elysees. It's not really convenient for walking anywhere in the city apart from the Sacre Couer, and a walk through the back streets of Montmartre is very pleasant. The markets of this part of town are arabic and mostly consist of tacky or cheap goods, don't expect beautiful markets like those found in Le Gobelins here!

The hotel is run by a family who are friendly and keep the rooms clean. We didn't have any soap in the room when we arrived though, and the bathroom was so small that closing the door was awkward. Small rooms are par for the course in these hotels though, as is the large circular staircase leading up the middle of the hotel. Not for the disabled guest!

There's nowhere close to get a nice fresh breakfast, which is dissapointing, but reflects the area really.

Overall, I'd reccomend this for a bunch of guys to stay cheaply - but not couples or travellers with kids. There are hotels this cheap that are better located to see the city and that have better amenities nearby.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colonelcrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2008

This was my first trip to Paris and first trip to France. Everybody had prepared me for the overall known bad standards for hotels in Paris compared too many other European capitals, but I got a really positive experience.
The hotel is situated just around the corner for Place the Clichy and the metro station that easily take you where ever you want to go in Paris. The room I got (#14) was quite spacious and clean, the bed where comfy and there where no noise. The room had separate toilet and bathroom. The bathroom was with white clean tiles and the shower basin was big and the water had good pressure and good temperature.
Yes the room was worn, the carpet a bit wobbly and the closet really old and wiggly, but that is not important for a good stay in my eyes.
The hotel has no elevator, and it might be that I would have resented that if I stayed further up than second floor.
The hotel had friendly staff. Their English skills weren’t that good, but they tried as best as they could and showed no arrogance. And the hotel offered free internet axcess, that’s a plus.

You can easily walk to Montmartre and Sacre Coeur where you have a beautiful view of the city. The neighbourhood is Friendly and as a solo female traveller I never felt it unsafe even though the red light district of Paris also is just around the corner.
There are many eating places in the neighbourhood and a big plus is the cinema “next door” that is showing in original voices.

Paris embraced me. It took me 6 hours to just fall in love with the city. And I would love to come back and stay in the same hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank glam4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2008

The Hotel Hippodrome is fairly clean, has beds, and is in the heart of the bohemian part of Paris...

but if you like happy and attentive staff, prompt reception and space in your room - then it's not for you.

The hotel is basically several tiny rooms centred around a darkly lit, and super creaky staircase that when ascending, feels like you could fall backwards and break your neck. Don't attempt after a few beers!

The rooms are moderately clean - but there was no soap in the rooms, prompting a 7am scouting trip for a pharmacy nearby, before we could have a shower.

The bathrooms are so tight, you cannot sit on the lavatory properly - and if you want to close the door, hold your stomach in! Not great for anyone who likes their food!

The owner is a bit of a grump, and having paid for a 2 bedroom - expecting to sleep 2 others on the floor - he was unusually prompt in trying to see what we were doing. Managed to sneak 1 in, purely because we came in separately - but not reccomended for big parties.

Our room had a beautiful view...overlooking a dustbin with a tramp living in it, which was great if you like to doze off to the sounds of Parisian hobo song, but not otherwise. Similarly, the windows had to be carefully locked so pigeons didn't get in.

Overall, OK for a moderately cheap place to kip, but I wouldn't want to be here any longer than I needed to be.

Stayed: September 2007
Thank dannydevito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews