We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for a short,budget stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cervantes by HappyCulture
Ranked #487 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Hi everyone,

I was visiting Paris for a very short time and was looking for a clean, conveniently located, affordable hotel in Paris. This hotel is not necessarily in the heart of the city or close to where all the action is, but is easily accessible by 2 metro stations located within 2 minutes walking distance. The metro station "Rome" is literally down the road and across the street - and connects very easily and quickly to other metro lines taking you to the Eiffel Tower, Arc de Triomphe and other major attractions in the city. Even though the location seems a bit secluded, my commute was nothing more than 15 minutes to anywhere. Also, it's only 3 stops away from Montmartre!

The hotel itself is housed in a cute little building, in a quiet, charming lane. Noise is not an issue at all. I felt quite safe walking back from the metro even at 12:30am...! There are stores, cafes, supermarkets nearby if you wanted to grab a bite at anytime. The rooms are tiny, but super comfortable, extremely clean and tidy, the amenities are basic (but they are ultimately all that you will need for a short stay). I had no problems with the AC, TV, water or anything! I liked how the hotel decor is so aesthetic, functional and efficient in spite of being a small space! The hotel looks exactly as it does in their official photographs...which is great, as that doesn't always happen!

What I liked the most was the staff. Very very helpful, warm, hospitable, super nice and friendly! I watched as they efficiently multi tasked to help several customers at check-in, all the while being courteous and friendly.

I would highly recommend this hotel if you're staying for a short while and don't want to spend too much money on a hotel. This is a great value for money hotel - I would definitely come back and stay here!

PS: There is an airport shuttle available with this hotel for 26 Euros and it takes about 40 -45 minutes to get to CDG (pls consider the number of stops the shuttle will make & time of airport transfer).

Room Tip: If you're travelling for the first time to any city, look up a hotel that is located close to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JoannaHuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANUELLA C, Directeur général at Hotel Cervantes by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Dear Madam,

Many thanks for your nice comment about the hotel and its staff! It is very encouraging for us all to read your factual and realistic remarks. We feel really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Cervantes.
As you wrote, it is very well located, clean and comfortable. Then, the staff is available and professionnal 24h.

We are looking forwards to welcoming you again!

Best regards
Manuella Cabaret / Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,007)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

271 - 277 of 1,007 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in early July. The room was tiny, the air conditioning was virtually nonexistent & I'd swear the eggs at breakfast were powdered. On the plus side, we had a great view of the Eiffel tower from our room, the public transportation was close by - CDG to Gare du Nord on the RER, then Metro to Rome, Sainte-Lazare for Giverney a couple blocks away, etc. And the croissants were fresh. No decent restaurants nearby. With so many hotels in Paris, we'd definitely try someplace else next time.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 593AlanC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANUELLA C, Directeur général at Hotel Cervantes by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Dear Madam, dear Sir,

Thank you for your comment. We are absolutely saddened that your stay among us is a failure. You are very disappointed and I can understand that. As you noticed, we had big with the air conditionning, everything was out of order in the hotel, in full heat wave in Paris! Now, it is reminded but it was a very difficult period. We really want to appologize about that.
We hope you enjoyed Paris anyway and all its great places.

Best regards
Manuella Cabaret / Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 6 nights after finding hotel in trip advisor. Dont waste your time here!! The website is misleading as well as the hotel. There was no working a/c in the room only a portable fan and the window opens, refrigerator didnt work either, staff ugnoes room cincerna and had too ask for 2nd bath towel for 4 nights straight!! Too hot to stay here, although location near gare, metro & food. Would never recommend this hotel. Rose from washington, dc.

1  Thank txvadc11
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MANUELLA C, Directeur général at Hotel Cervantes by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Dear Madam, dear Sir,

First of all, we thank you for your comment. We need all of them to improve anytime.
We are really sorry to learn that you had a bad experience with us. As you told, we had big troubles with the air conditionning, in full heat wave in Paris! It was very difficult for all our guests and the staff, now everything is repaired. We really want to apologize about that.
We hope you enjoyed anyway your stay in Paris and had the time to discover the nice areas and places in our great city.

Best regards
Manuella Cabaret / Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I stayed 2 nights in twin room in July with 2 coworker in other similar rooms . The room was in first floor and small. The air condition didn't function well and it was hot. The big problem is that the hotel is near train station so you can hear the noise and even the room is shaken a bit. I couldn't sleep well and I don't recommend this hotel especially in its price 155 EURO per nigh tthat I price including breakfast that was very average without cheese.

Room Tip: Maybe the rooms to the street opposite the train station are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zeev D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANUELLA C, Directeur général at Hotel Cervantes by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Dear Madam, dear Sir,

We thank you for your comment and feel very sorry about your disappointing stay in our hotel.
As you noticed, some of our rooms are less spacious and you can sometimes hear the train station. We would have been glad to give you another room if you had complain at reception. Then, you are right, we had troubles with the air conditionning in all the hotel. Everything is now reminded and we really want to apologize about that.

Best regards
Manuella Cabaret / Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Me and my spouse went to Ireland, France and Italy for our 10 year anniversary and I must say out of the hotels we stayed at I loved this one. The staff was very friendly and helpful, there was a great complimentary breakfast and it was close to the metro as well as many places to eat. I would defiantly recommend this hotel to others and hopefully one day I will get a chance to return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arod1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANUELLA C, Directeur général at Hotel Cervantes by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Dear Madam, dear Sir,

First of all, very happy birthday for your 10 years of marriage. We are rather proud that you chose our hotel as this beautiful opportunity!
All the staff and myself really want to thank you for your comment and your very kind compliments. We are filled to learn that your stay among us and in our beautiful capital, was a success.

We would be very pleased to welcome you again!

Best regards
Manuella Cabaret / Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

My mom and I stayed at Hotel Cervantes May/June 2013. Extremely happy with our choice. It was reasonably priced....close to two Metro stations, Rome & Europe...just around the corner from the best bakery ever...and the Staff (Alex, Camille, Juliette and others I did not get their names) were the VERY BEST! If I go back to Paris I would hope they are still there....SOOO very helpful!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANUELLA C, Directeur général at Hotel Cervantes by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Dear Madam,

I hope you had a nice way back with your mother and really thank you for your nice comment.
All the staff and I are pleased to learn that your had a nice stay in our hotel and appreciated its great location.

We are looking forwards to welcoming you again,

Best regards
Manuella Cabaret / Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed 5 nights at the Hotel Cervantes in July of 2013. Although we selected the hotel based on its proximity to the St. Lazare train station (we had an early train for a day trip), we found the hotel to be an outstanding place from which to explore Paris and would happily stay there again if we were in the city.

We arrived around noon on a Saturday and went to check in. Unfortunately, the clerk informed us that our room wouldn't be ready until 3:00, which is understandable. She helpfully offered us the use of their luggage room and the downstairs restrooms to refresh after our train ride. We came back right around 3 and the room was ready to go, as promised. We opted for the double premium room, which was a great choice. The very large room featured a king-sized bed (a little hard for my tastes, but I was so tired at the end of the day it didn't matter), plenty of luggage storage, bathroom with shower/tub combination, and fairly reasonably-priced minibar. The room was showing a few signs of age (spots on the carpet, tears in the wallpaper, etc.), but the linens, bathroom, and coffee/tea mugs were all clean, which was all I needed. There is a climate control system, although it struggled with the midsummer heat. How comfortable our room was depended on whether or not the staff shut the unit off when they serviced the room. If it had been off all day, it couldn't catch up to the heat in the room. However, there was a fan, which helped quite a bit. The hotel's wi-fi, while slow at times, was sufficient for our needs of checking e-mail and looking up maps. For anything beyond that, it would probably be a little weak.

The staff at the hotel were excellent. They were uniformly friendly, welcoming, and helpful, and politely humored my poor French. Everyone we encountered spoke excellent English, and were happy to converse in it. Any questions we had were promptly and accurately answered, and we got the sense that they were very interested in our enjoying our stay.

The hotel's location is great for exploring Paris. It's located a little off the beaten path, so you're not caught up in the crush of people that we saw in other areas of the city. You are an easy walk from the Rome, Europe, and St. Lazare Metro stations, and the Opera station isn't unreasonably far. From those, you can get just about anywhere you want to go. While it doesn't seem that there's much around it if you approach from the Rome station, if you go down to Rue St. Petersburg and turn left, you can find a nice selection of restaurants and cafes if you want to stay close to the hotel, and dinner at Neva (located on the corner), was my favorite meal of the trip.

The hotel does offer a breakfast for an extra charge, but we didn't eat it since there were several bakeries in the area that we wanted to try.

In all, Hotel Cervantes was a great base of operations for our stay in Paris, and we would happily stay there again if we were in the city.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jzombek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANUELLA C, Directeur général at Hotel Cervantes by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Dear Madam, dear Sir,

We really thank you for you nice comment.
We are pleased to learn that you spent a nice stay in our Hotel Cervantes and in our great city. As you noticed, you can find everything around, it is very well located.
Then, our premium double rooms are very comfortable and spacious. The staff is also available 24h/24 for all our guests.

We would be very glad to welcome you again,

Best regards
Manuella Cabaret / Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hotel Berne Opera
#479 of 1,809 in Paris
603 reviews
Hotel Astoria - Astotel
#160 of 1,809 in Paris
1,187 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Hotel Magenta 38 by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gobelins
Ibis Styles Paris Massena Olympiades
Montparnasse
Villa Royale Montsouris
Villa Royale Montsouris
#384 of 1,809 in Paris
921 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel Basss by HappyCulture
Hotel Basss by HappyCulture
#460 of 1,809 in Paris
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cervantes by HappyCulture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cervantes by HappyCulture

Address: 19 rue de Berne | 08 Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#112 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £60 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cervantes by HappyCulture 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cervantes Paris is ideal for visiting Paris and the Sacred Heart, the Galeries Lafayette, the Moulin Rouge ... Be charmed by the contrast of its avant-garde design mixed with colorful modern pop lines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Cervantes by HappyCulture reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cervantes Hotel Paris
Hotel Cervantes Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing