We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel but terrible service!”
Review of La Maison Favart

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
La Maison Favart
Ranked #28 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
297 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel but terrible service!”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

There is no doubt that this hotel is very well presented and nice to be surrounded by and that the Opera district is stunning. The hotel is situated in a great area and walking distance to the metro train station and to all other attractions, shopping and restaurants. Our room was spacious for European standards and the coffee machine in the room is great! Rooms were very clean and decorated nicely. We also had a lovely view!
But despite all these positives, the service at the hotel is just not up to scratch! For a hotel that charges so highly, the service is disappointing! We were on our honeymoon and told the hotel this when we booked and they didn't mention this at all when we checked in or do anything special for us like other hotels we stayed in. The gentleman at the front desk was so incredibly abrupt to us and would speak to us in quite a condescending way. We were always well dressed and respectful to the staff so quite disappointed with his attitude. Some staff were nice however we mainly dealt with the man at front desk and he was not pleasant. Not good enough at all! Don't waste your money! Better places to stay in Paris!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank chiclife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,145
    237
    35
    8
    5
See reviews for
219
850
55
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

What a fantastic boutique hotel! Great location, great staff (who spoke excellent English). The pool, while small, is great and our kids loved it. We stayed in one of the duplex rooms - kids slept on the pull out bed and we were upstairs. It worked out perfectly. I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BDJ104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stéphanie B, Directeur général at La Maison Favart, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice comment following your recent stay in one of our duplex room.

We all enjoyed having you and your family among us as much as you appreciated the service provided!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back very soon.

Yours sincerely
S.Richez
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

I ended up at this gorgeous hotel as a surprise from my soon to be fiancé. What I thought was meant to be a trip to wales with my family- turned into the most special trip ever.

This hotel has charm class elegance and style. From the moment I walked in it took my breath away. The decor is divine and the staff are very polite and welcoming. They are very helpful and nothing is to much trouble.

It was a pure joy to have my first experience of Paris and my engagement from this hotel.

It is located in the Opera district and it's off the main road so noise isn't a problem despite it's central location. A short one minute walk takes you up to the main road and straight onto lovely restaurants and shops.

The metro is a 5/10 minute walk away and after personal reservations about using underground transport it really is quick- efficient and an ideal hassle free way to get around Paris and all the loveliness it has to offer.

After a jam packed trip we opted to stay in the hotel rather than venture out for dinner on our last night- room service cannot be faulted and the food was lovely. Breakfast is served a chic eating hall.

Upon check out we requested to leave our luggage at the hotel while we see the Eiffel Tower one last time - the hotel was more than accommodating.

As we left the receptionist gave me a book on the hotel as a keep sake of my trip and our engagement: the book is fabulous. It meant so much that she did that.

This hotel has class.

I will most definitely be back.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank CPower213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stéphanie B, Directeur général at La Maison Favart, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review following your stay at La Maison Favart.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon in our Maison.

Have a lovely summer!

Yours sincerely
S.Richez
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandbach
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Wonderful hotel, would highly recommend. We didn't opt for the breakfasts or use the well being area so can't comment on that aspect but our room was nicely decorated, the staff were friendly and the location of the hotel was good. Would love to return.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Superscoffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stéphanie B, Directeur général at La Maison Favart, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review following your recent stay at La Maison Favart.

The staff and the location are definitely a big credit to our property. We are glad to read that you appreciated them both and hope that we contributed to an excellent stay in our lovely city!

We wish you a pleasant summer and remain at your disposal for your next reservation.

Kind Regards,
S.Richez
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
154 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Thuis is a small boutique hotel near the Opéra Comique, 4 starred. Very cosy interior, ideale situated, on a calm place, near Les Grands Boulevards. Friendly and excellent staff. No restaurant however. Small swimming pool.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docswimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stéphanie B, Directeur général at La Maison Favart, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing some time out to write such a lovely resume as this is how we want our guests to feel and this is what we aim for every day so, it feels nice to read such a review!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to our Maison and remain at your disposal for your next reservation.

Have a lovely summer!

Yours sincerely

S.Richez
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed for two nights at La Maison Favart and from start to finish the experience was exceptional. The room was clean, comfortable, modern yet chic. The minibar was well stocked and restocked daily. The staff were welcoming, friendly, accommodating and spoke excellent English.

The wellbeing area is a really special touch which sets the hotel apart from many others in the city.

There was a great choice at breakfast whether you went downstairs to eat or had it delivered to your room. Room service was prompt for breakfast although you will have a wait for dinner as (currently) the food is ordered in.

We appreciated the 12pm check out time as it gave us a few more hours in the hotel, and we were delighted to find that our room service/minibar/breakfast bill had been kindly waived due to a water temperature problem the hotel had experienced the previous day. An incredible gesture.

You're only a 10-15 minute walk from the Louvre and other landmarks and pretty close to the Opéra Metro station.

All-in-all, it made for a very relaxing, memorable Parisian experience. We could not recommend this hotel enough, and will be sure to go back in the future!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stéphanie B, Directeur général at La Maison Favart, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely, detailed review.

It was a pleasure of having you among us, we are happy to read that you appreciated the location, the service, the staff, the breakfast...

We wish you a pleasant summer and look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit to beautiful Paris!

Kind Regards,

S.Richez
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed for 4 nights and had a very comfortable stay at this boutique hotel tucked away from the busy street. The hotel was 5 min from the nearest subway station- I would suggest not going down Rue de Marivaux to get to the stations but cut across the square to Rue Favart- Marivaux usually had several homeless people camping out. Also the hotel was walking distance to the Roissy bus shuttle which goes to the CG airport for only 10 Euros.
The receptionist was courteous and the concierge always very helpful. There was an honor bar in the lobby and always some delicious fruit tart and coffee for free. The decor was based on old French theatre.
The rooms were small with just enough room for luggage and to walk around the bed. Our room faced a courtyard so noise level was very low. There is good efficiency of the layout of the room with one closet and quite a few shelves. The bathroom was excellent- good shelf space and the shower was quite roomy. The towel heater was a nice touch to dry some clothes I washed in the sink.
My favorite part was the exercise room and small pool and sauna.
I am taking off one star because of the size of the room- outside of that, I would definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivylneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stéphanie B, Directeur général at La Maison Favart, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your impressions on tripadvisor. It is very nice to read that you enjoyed your stay, and specially the pool and the sauna. We also have a great massage bed, did you use it?

Looking forward to welcoming you again in our Maison,

Yours sincerely
S.Richez
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Saint-Marc
Hotel Saint-Marc
#15 of 1,802 in Paris
288 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Square Louvois
Hotel Square Louvois
#17 of 1,802 in Paris
170 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
#27 of 1,802 in Paris
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Malte - Astotel
Hotel Malte - Astotel
#8 of 1,802 in Paris
218 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Six
Hotel Le Six
#22 of 1,802 in Paris
1,803 reviews
Hotel WO - Wilson Opera
#42 of 1,802 in Paris
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Favart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Favart

Property: La Maison Favart
Address: 5, Rue de Marivaux | 2nd Arr, 75002 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Paris
#20 Family Hotel in Paris
#21 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#26 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Maison Favart 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Maison Favart will open on the 13th april 2012 after 1 year and a half of renovation. 31 Bedrooms, 4 suites and 2 duplex will be proposed to you. It will be a 4 star hotel, serving a very nice buffet breakfast. A honesty bar, a sauna, a relaxing pool, a fitness room will be at the disposal of our guests. In every room, you will find air conditionning, king size bed, minibar, safetybox, tv with free moovies, coffee and tea facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookAssist, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Maison Favart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Favart Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing