We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Maison Favart

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Maison Favart
Ranked #22 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Charming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Charming hotel, lovely interiors, great service, friendly staff. It all checked out nicely, but I can´t say I´m just so overwhelmed as some other reviewers. Having stayed in different areas on previous visits to Paris, I might also have experienced the closest surroundings more interesting elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,090
    230
    33
    6
    5
See reviews for
207
815
47
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Let's start right off with what some people will complain about, the hotel size and/or room sizes. Yes, the hotel is not FS George V or the Ritz. If you are looking for a large hotel that you will spend a lot of time inside, or large rooms that you will spend a lot of time in, then this is not your hotel (and I wonder why you are going to Paris then).

The main floor has the lobby, some sitting areas, and the dining room. All areas well decorated and immaculate. There is a sauna/pool in the basement, but we did not use those services. We also did not eat at the hotel - nothing against the hotel but we rarely eat at hotels when we travel to cities.

Because the hotel doesn't get 100s of new arrivals a day, if you are using a cab to get to the hotel from CDG, many cab drivers are not going to be aware of the hotel. I would suggest you print a google map to show the driver when you get in the cab.

The hotel is in a great location for easy walks to shopping (Galeries Lafayette is very close) and street cafes. When we travel to cities we really look to walk as much as possible so for us the location worked well because it was within our walking distance to Louvre, Orsay, Musée de l'Orangerie, Pompidou, Notre Dame, and St Germaine. Also, short walk to the Seine water boats if you want to travel that way (probably needed for a trip to the Eiffel Tower).

Due to the size of the hotel they have a small number of employees, so you will see the same people working virtually your entire visit (we stayed four nights). I like this because it almost makes it feel like your are a guest at their house. They know your names, ask how your visit to XXX was, etc. Fun.

They will do your turn down service early or late, whatever you want. There are the normal "honor bar" items in your room, as well as free water and coffee (the coffee is not only espresso, as someone previously noted - but it is European type American coffee).

All in all, the place was a delight. If you are going to Paris to stay in your room or hotel, this is not for you.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank COO-TravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had a great time staying at the La Maison Favart. It is a relatively small hotel in a great location in the Opera area near many shops, restaurants, ATMs, and Metro stations. The Louvre and Tuileries Garden are an easy 10-15 minute walk in one direction, and the La Fayette shopping area was a few minute walk in the other direction. Our room was small, but had a very comfortable queen-size bed, an up-to-date bathroom, and air-conditioning. The concierges, Boris and Hakim, were very helpful, had a lot of good recommendations, and definitely made our stay more pleasant.

Typically our days started out walking from the hotel to a destination. Sometimes we would walk back, while on other days we were far enough away to take a taxi. In the evening we typically took taxis to and from dinner. We didn't try the hotel's buffet breakfast, as there is a very nice cafe, Le Marivaux half a block away, which was much more economical as we often eat a very light breakfast.

The one negative: some homeless men have taken up residence on the sidewalk a very short distance from the hotel. We were not threatened in any way, and it would not deter us from a return stay at the hotel, but it certainly wasn't pleasant.

Overall, a wonderful hotel and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelMore1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Our trip to France started with cancelled flights, delayed flights and lost luggage. This holiday was bound to be a disaster. As soon we arrived in La Maison Favart, everything changed!!!

The most beautiful decor, comfortable rooms with everything you need and it is within walking distance of everything in Paris.

The service was excellent. The friendly staff guided us to a few excellent shops to replace our clothing and liaised with the airlines to retrieve our luggage, leaving us to enjoy Paris.

Breakfast was of a very high standard and very enjoyable.

The Hotel was an excellent experience and I will always return to this gem.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Mirage, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

This little gem is hidden on a side street which had us giving directions to cab drivers who were unfamiliar the hotel and its location. Tastefully done - this boutique hotel is NOT for the traveler who wants big anything - lobby - rooms et al - which was why we enjoyed it so much. Metro is close by, shopping, shops, bistro's, restaurants from Alain Ducasse to the simplest patisserie's (which I would recommend if you do not want to do a pricey hotel breakfast) An "inside" room affords you dark & extremely quiet rooms unless your neighbor and his spouse(?) have a disagreement on the sight seeing days plans..... The pool (used once) and spa were an extra treat from long days of exploring Paris. The staff, including Hakim, Macecilia & Julien were wonderful as was everyone else we came in contact with.

Room Tip: Inside rooms have balconies and Room 16 a terrace but you are on the first floor. If you need darkne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

The hotel is situated at Rue Marivaux (a small one-way lane), but our cab driver had to come in via Rue Favart and go around the square to reach the hotel. The ride from the airport cost about 50 euro.

We arrived at 10am and was informed that our room was ready and we could check-in early! This was such a welcomed surprise after our 12 hour flight.

Our room was located at the 2nd floor and it looked just as lovely as the ones shown on their website (you know how some hotel websites have heavily photoshopped pictures? Not this one. What you see on their website is what you get!). The room was not big but it has a very high ceiling (which makes it feel spacious) and a very functional, clean bathroom. Not sure if the windows are double glazed but we experienced minimal noise from the outside mainly because the hotel is situated along a quiet street. Overall, sleep quality was very good and I am a relatively light sleeper.

The hotel itself is pretty well located (the street itself is quiet but just 1 min walk to the main street, and 2 min walk to nearest station (Richelieu Drouot). There are actually 2 stations nearby (Richelieu Drouot and Opera) to choose from depending on where you want to head towards.

We had breakfast (we chose the buffet) and the spread was very good and decently priced.

Staff were very attentive and friendly. They gave good advice on the best spot to view the Tour de France and its timing. Our bathtub drain cover was stuck and it was handle promptly. Check-in and Check-out process was efficient (though I suspect if there were more than 1 guests checking in / out, the process might take longer as there was only 1 personnel manning the front-desk).

Some reviewers complained about the size of the room. We took the Deluxe Bedroom and for the price we paid, I feel that the overall experience was worth the value.

By the way, during check-out, we were presented with a little souvenir notebook that comes with a short write-up and pictures of the rooms. It was a lovely gesture but I wished they had given it to us when we checked-in. That way, I could have used the notebook during the visit itself.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stayoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We booked this hotel sight unseen for 7 days which was a big commitment. We were very happy with our choice. The customer service level was top notch from the email confirmations (we had to switch dates) all the way through our stay.

Macecilia was very helpful when we wanted a larger room. She accommodated us and was always very helpful. Hakim was a great concierge, and gave us numerous recommendations that we really liked for restaurants, metro, etc.

The smallest room is a bit small, so I would try to get something bigger. The rooms were clean and the underground pool was unique for a little swim now and then.

The location is very good for the Opera district, shopping (Lafayette, Printemps) and lots of restaurants. Metro service is good. We really got used to line 8 and 9 and could take it anywhere around the city.

Yes, I would stay here again!

Room Tip: The smallest rooms are pretty small. I would try to get something a bit bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stéphanie B, Directeur général at La Maison Favart, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at our property.

We are glad that you enjoyed the location, the decoration and the staff. We are happy to know that “you would stay here again” as, this is definitely the best reward for us.
Have a lovely summer.

Kind Regards

S.Richez
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Saint-Marc
Hotel Saint-Marc
#10 of 1,795 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Six
Hotel Le Six
#23 of 1,795 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
#24 of 1,795 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Bradford Elysees - Astotel
Opera / Bourse
Le 123 Sebastopol - Astotel
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Favart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Favart

Property: La Maison Favart
Address: 5, Rue de Marivaux | 2nd Arr, 75002 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Paris
#18 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#20 Family Hotel in Paris
#21 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Maison Favart 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Maison Favart will open on the 13th april 2012 after 1 year and a half of renovation. 31 Bedrooms, 4 suites and 2 duplex will be proposed to you. It will be a 4 star hotel, serving a very nice buffet breakfast. A honesty bar, a sauna, a relaxing pool, a fitness room will be at the disposal of our guests. In every room, you will find air conditionning, king size bed, minibar, safetybox, tv with free moovies, coffee and tea facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and ACCOR so you can book your La Maison Favart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Favart Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing