We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit and miss”
Review of Cafe de la Mairie

Cafe de la Mairie
Ranked #13,225 of 17,405 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French
Neighbourhood: Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Hit and miss”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This placed was packed which we took to be a good sign. Well my mushroom omelette was virtually inedible. It was more like fried egg with tinned mushrooms thrown in. Also it was extremely oily. Really the worst omelette I have ever eaten. My dining companions omelette on the other hand was good. Hard to reconcile.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rrw11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    41
    30
    25
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rainbow Lake, New York, United States
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Lunch On The Left Bank”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Our hotel in Paris is just steps away from the Church St. Suplice. After touring the church, we felt a little hungry. We found a small but busy bistro across the rue from the church plaza. We had a light lunch and found it to be a great place to know about when exploring the area around the Garden of Luxembourg. I chose the Parisienne salad which my wife and I shared. The service was fast and very friendly. The price was more than reasonable. Inside, in an adjacent area is a coffee counter and small stand-up beer/wine bar. The best part: I think the two of us were the only tourists. All the other diners were, it appeared to me, to be locals.
That says a lot about the quality of the brief menu.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A gem of a cafe”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

My favorite place for a café crème and a croissant in the morning...a few feet from the Eglise St. Sulpice. Never had lunch there, but they get incredibly busy in the outdoor section, and the salads looked wonderful. Service is very good. English spoken.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alejandra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A Busy Little Paris Coffee Shop”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The staff does not speak English so prepare yourself for a genuine French experience. I usually order fresh walnut bread with coffee (cafe creme). This little cafe was Henry Miller's favorite coffee stop. Perhaps it inspired his book, Tropic of Cancer.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great place for Parisian Cafe Vibe”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Definitely get a bottle of wine... its served in a beaker!

Delicious pumpkin soup and I had the chicken for a main. Too full for dessert.

Reasonable prices for the area. Love the 'moving menu' (aka waitress taking down the chalkboard and bringing it to your table)

Definitely want to come back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe de la Mairie also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Cafe de la Mairie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing