We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still thinking about the reason why to visit this hotel again”
Review of Apollo Opera Paris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Apollo Opera Paris
Ranked #1,669 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I was staying with my friends in 2 separated rooms. The hotel is really old fashioned and not so nice as we expected from the photos. Old equipment, ugly colours and smelly carpets was the first impression of this hotel. Staff was cool as well as very poor breakfast. On the other side, it is really cheap hotel and if you are looking for cheap accommodation with no demands, of course you can try Apollo Opera. Good luck!

Room Tip: Courtyard View Rooms are silent
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Petr U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
There are newer reviews for Apollo Opera Paris
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2011

Right, ok.. if you choose to stay here check your bed for bed bugs first!

I arrived at the hotel after discovering all Eurostar trains had been cancelled that night due to the weather conditions so I couldn't get home, it wasn't a good start to my nights stay there.

I probably had the tiniest, depressing room they offer, the sheets on the bed hadn't been changed since the last person and their rubbish was still left piled up in the bin (looked like they had a good old feast from the local take-out place) I was too tired and had to get up early for first come first serve Eurostar trains back home so just slept on top of the bed.

I got woken up at 3am by some hungry bed bugs! I spotted about 4 of the little blighters in total (see pic) when I told the guy at reception about the bed bugs he didn't bat an eyelid.

Room Tip: check bed for bed bugs!! check the price on the visa card machine before you type in your code, I al...
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClareyMcbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

I was disappointed that we were moved from this hotel to a grotty 2* down the road. When I complained we were moved to another one futher away that wasn't great and was so noisy we had no sleep. We then had to walk back to the Apollo Opera to get our breakfast in a tiny room and there was no seats and people queueing to sit down. We then had to get our bags from the other hotel and move to the Apollo Opera. As we were only there for 2 days, we spent far too much time running around moving hotels when we should have been enjoying our break! It seems that this overbooking is common and the owner tries to charm and smile his way through it and then pockets the difference by putting people into a cheaper hotel. Very disappointing

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank satcsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

this trip was actually our honeymoon. we didn't want a grand room we only wanted to spend several beautiful days in a beautiful city. the first night we arrived we were sent to a neighboring 2 star hotel with a very vague explanation of the reason for this switch. fine. we are didn't pay much attention to that, though we had paid for 3 star hotel. than we were asked to leave all our things in the hall the next day. not a very pleasant feeling, you know, to walk the whole day not knowing where your case exactly is. but fine again. all our things were safe when we got back. we checked really attentively. and then sort of calmed down. a mistake!!!! cause in 4 days we saw that OUR MONEY from the case HAD BEEN STOLEN. 6000 rubles. to explain better i can say that my monthly wage as a university teacher is 3898 rubles. now this was REALLY bad. we talked to the owner, Victoria, and she said that only 2 people could come into our room BUT 'unfortunately i can't help you. What do you want from me?' of course. you know there is a THIEF in your staff and 'what do you want from me?' she said she would try to find the money and she will write me anyway about the investigation, but guess?? no email, nothing. this is really disgusting. may be the have some robbery team they pay her interests? who knows... the funny thing was when she said: Oh, you can't even convert rubles to euro in Paris. of course we can't!!! where? in the bank??? oh? what is it - a bank???? and why did she think we were so stupid... well, the last thing i want to advise: DON'T STAY IN APOLLO OPERA. BEWARE OF THE THIEVES!!!!!!!!!!!!! thanx for you time)))) and have a beautiful time in Paris))))

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Anna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

There was elevent of us ranging from 38 to 55 and we all had a great weekend, It was basic but clean and very friendly staff. Just around the corner from the Moulin Rouge and not far from the Metro which is also easy to understand. The night life was buzzing but also many bars to sit and enjoy the atmosphere. I would recommend this hotel if you want to go to Paris to see the sights and not to sit in a hotel room.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HELEN200753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Read so many bad reviews. So glad I didn't take any notice - I travelled with a group of ladies aged from 34 to 55 and we all enjoyed our stay. yes it was basic but it was clean friendly and the breakfast was great xx A little noise at night but we were in Paris and the night life was buzzing xxx The hotel is situated in a perfect location for all you need xxx I would recommend this as a basic and clean base for a great time in Paris with such friendly people. xxxx We shall be going back xxxx Thank you xx

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 186356Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2010

The hotel was ok, we didn't pay much so we didn't expect much. Good placement for visiting Montmartre and just 2 minutes till the metro who brings you everywhere. The breakfast was not so consistent, the personal was nice, the rooms were clean. The internet wi-fi cost a lot and it's not available in the rooms so i sugest to use a public park with free wi-fi privided by the municipality of Paris.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Horatziou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Royal Mansart
Royal Mansart
#1,449 of 1,804 in Paris
164 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Fiat Hotel
Fiat Hotel
#1,176 of 1,804 in Paris
213 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Gold Hotel
Gold Hotel
#1,504 of 1,804 in Paris
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Grand Hotel de Turin
Grand Hotel de Turin
#1,180 of 1,804 in Paris
595 reviews
Grand Hotel Du Calvados
#1,619 of 1,804 in Paris
71 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Royal Fromentin
Hotel Royal Fromentin
#964 of 1,804 in Paris
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Opera Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Opera Paris

Address: 32 rue de Douai | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,669 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £64 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Opera Paris 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel in traditional Parisian building, located in the heart of the city; 5 km from Gare Saint Lazare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Apollo Opera Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apolo Opera Paris Hotel Paris
Apolo Opera Hotel Paris
Paris Apolo Opera Hotel
Apollo Opera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing