We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in Paris”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Relais Medicis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Relais Medicis
Ranked #1,493 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in Paris”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

Extremely charming hotel with individually equipped rooms. Perfect location near almost everything and very close to Jardin Luxembourg. There is a small, nice breakfast restaurant and of course lot of nice restaurants in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joakim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    27
    9
    5
    7
See reviews for
24
47
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
186 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

I chose this property for my maiden voyage to Paris. I am a female traveling alone so I wanted something safe, easy to get to, and centrally located. Relais Medicis fit the bill perfectly. A 30 minute train ride on the RER-B from CDG airport to the Luxembourg Gardens. From there it is a 5 minute walk to the hotel. Located on the Left Bank (the best area to stay in when in Paris I discovered!) it is an easy walk to the Seine and many, many, sites. There are several good eating establishments nearby. My room was immaculate with lots of space to sit and relax. Breakfast is included-a rare find for a Paris hotel. Outdoor markets nearby. The staff was very friendly-all spoke english. I felt very welcomed and was allowed to check in early! This was a huge relief after traveling all night from JFK-CDG. Next time I go to Paris I will definitely be staying at the Relais Medicis!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank copejenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

I searched around a lot before booking this hotel. I wanted a place where we could walk to everything yet have a quiet space to retreat at the end of a long day of sightseeing. Relais Medicis did not disappoint one bit. Arriving was easy - we took the RER from CDG direct to the Luxembourg station and then walked a few blocks to the hotel. Our room was the ground floor suite which others have described. It is perfect for a family of 4. We walked everywhere from here - Notre Dame, the Louvre, Tuileries, Musee d'Orsay, Eiffel Tower, even the Arc de Triomphe (now that was a long walk). Our favorite places though were right in the neighborhood, especially the Luxembourg Gardens which is great for a jog and the cafes along Boulevard Saint Germain. The staff at Relais Medicis were friendly and always greeted us warmly when we entered the lobby. Having breakfast included was a nice touch as well. I have to say I can't understand some of the negative reviews on here. I highly recommend Relais Medicis and would certainly return here in the future.

Room Tip: Ground floor suite is perfect for a family of 4, spacious and quiet with two bedrooms and two bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank up2late
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Just stayed in this hotel, 1st impression seems nice, that is the entrance, wait till you are in the room. Stale smell all round. Bed cover has not been laundered after previous guests, feels unwashed for years and same applied to the curtains!! Superior room looks onto a bit of a courtyard ( not tendered!! ) and an unattractive tin roof!! If you didn't finish your shower fast enough, you miss the hot water!!! Waiting staff at breakfast miserable and almost throw the very poor quality breakfast at you!! Not good value for the price they charge for a superior room even taking into account you are in Paris. There are plenty of better hotels in the area, avoid this hotel at any cost!!

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank DeeLee239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

We spent three nights in this quaint hotel which was well located and fulfilled all our needs. We can highly recommend it as it is close to shops, restaurants, public transport and the staff are very helpful. What more could one ask for? Our room looked over the courtyard and was very quiet. There is a tiny elevator, which is a bonus, as not all hotels of this type have such a thing! We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a room that does not face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BepeAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed two nights in the ground floor suite, which was lovely, and we wished we could have stayed longer. It was a quiet retreat looking out into the hotel's small garden. The suite itself is two rooms with two bathrooms (showers no bathtubs). The first room has a fold-out bed, and there is a main bedroom, with a table and chairs. The shower in the main room was completely level with the floor, so the floor could get pretty wet as the water leaked out under the shower door.

Breakfast is simple -- croissants, bread, yoghurt, applesauce, jam, juice, coffee or tea -- but good. And it is served until 11:00 am. so you don't feel like you have to get up at dawn.

The hotel is very close to metro stops as well a the Luxembourg gardens which has a lovely children's play area, l'espace de jeux du Poussin Vert, about 2.5 euros for children and bit less for adults. It was a nice place for a break with our six-year-old daughter.

The hotel is in a nice neighborhood, with many interesting shops nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tameme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

The Relais Médicis couldn't be better situated just across from the Odeon theatre and the Luxembourg Gardens. From here almost every museum is walking distance; Louvre, Musée d'Orsay, Musée Cluny, Sainte Chapelle, Pantheon. We even walked to the Arc de Triomphe from here.

So the hotel: The first thing to catch your eye as you walk into the hotel reception area will be the bar; a faux bar with a glass shelf stocked with shining bottles of alcohol, but no bar stools and no bar tender and as far as we could tell never open for business, so just there to fill a space in the reception area.

My husband and I spent 8 nights here. Our first 3 nights were in a standard double room that was really tiny even by Paris boutique hotel standards. The bed was double bed with barely enough space for the two of us. A tiny bathroom with a tub and a hand shower, but no shower curtain, so washing my hair without getting water all over the bathroom and even out into the bedroom was almost impossible.

There is a tiny elevator so we had to first send up our luggage and walk up the steps to take the luggage out; though that's not unusual for left bank hotels. After one night the elevator had a notice on the door "Lift not working do not us" and that's the way it stayed for four days.

On our fourth day we moved to a 'superior double' that wasn't much bigger than the one we left. Same size bed, same size bath tub with a hand shower - working elevator.

The room comes with a mini bar, but the one in our room didn't work - by that I mean it didn't cool inside the fridge/mini bar so if we wanted a glass of white wine we would have had to drink it warm. The next day I told the receptionist that the refrigerator in our room didn't work. It did say mini bar on the door of the little fridge but it was a little frigidaire. He said to me "madame that is not a refrigerator that is a mini bar". It felt as though I was in a scene from 'Iinspector Clouseau'. (You fool that's what I am saying) At the end of our stay the frigidaire mini-bar still wasn't working. This hotel is expensive and at 228 Euros per night; I expected a little better.

Breakfast is the usual baguette, croissant, and coffee or tea but saves having to have a croissant and coffee in a café in very expensive Paris.

We love Paris but next time maybe our stay won't be at the hotel Ralais Médicise.

Room Tip: All rooms are quite even on the street side. AC works well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Belloy Saint-Germain by HappyCulture
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Recamier
Hotel Recamier
#306 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Le Petit Belloy Saint-Germain by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Relais Saint Sulpice
Hotel Relais Saint Sulpice
#1,086 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Parc St. Severin - Esprit de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Medicis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Medicis

Property: Relais Medicis
Address: 5 rue Racine | 6th Arr, 75006 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#479 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Medicis 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Relais Medicis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Medicis Hotel Paris
Atel Relais Medicis Paris
Atel Relais Medicis Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing