We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do NOT stay here!”
Review of Relais Medicis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Relais Medicis
Ranked #1,372 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 16 October 2009

I have been to Paris multiple times and this (by far) is the worst hotel experience I have had. Rooms were dirty, small, and overpriced. Worst of all, when we raised our concerns with the front desk - they could not care any less. The hotel is in a great location, but you can certainly find better. DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ny_NyWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relais Medicis H, Responsable réception at Relais Medicis, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Madam,

We really wonder how could you sincerely say that our hotel was your "worst hotel experience" ? We are a 4 stars hotel, in the very heart of Paris, with cosy rooms of 25 / 35 square meters, cleaned every single day. Obvioulsly, you could not notice and appreciate the unique style of our 18th century building. We are far from modern "Ikea" hotels. Didn't you ever stay in a real dirty hotel ? The comparison is just not valuable according to us.

Can you show us pictures of your so-called dirtyness ?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2009

Hands down - this was the worst hotel I’ve ever stayed in. After spending all day exploring the beautiful city of Paris, despite how tired we were - we dreaded having to go back to this hotel. It is outrageously expensive for what it is. We paid about 300 euros a night for a room that was hostel quality (check out the pics!). The sleeping area, toilet room, shower room were all dirty, and the cots (calling them beds would be misleading) were incredibly uncomfortable. We were right by the door to the staircase – where there was a gaping whole in the ceiling. Dust/debris filled the halls and our rooms. When we spoke to the ladies at the front desk – they had a ‘sucks for you’ attitude. At the end of our stay they finally admitted that we were inconvenienced and comped us 40 euro – a slap in the face after spending 900 euros. The only thing this hotel/hostel has going for them is its location. For this much money you can find countless quality hotels in Paris. Avoid this place – it could possibly ruin your entire trip!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thetravelerNy_Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relais Medicis H, Responsable réception at Relais Medicis, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Madam,

We really wonder how could you say, sincerely, that our hotel was "absolutely horrible" ? We are a 4 stars hotel in the very heart of Paris, with cosy rooms of 25 / 35 square meters, cleaned every single day. Obvioulsly, you could not notice and appreciate the unique style of our 18th century building. We are far from modern "Ikea" hotels.

If you paid 300€ , it means you took a room for 4 persons. 300€, for a 30 square meters rooms for 4 persons. I invite you to show us how you can find a 4 stars hotels for 4 persons at this price in st germain des Prés area, especailly in high period like you did.

On every floor, there are only 3 rooms, with very few movement of the lift. So how could you sincerely be disturbed by the lift ?

Can you show us pictures of your so-called dirtyness ?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

My teenage daughter and I recently returned from a week in Paris. We had taken a junior suite in the Relais Medici based on the location and strength of the reviews here. It was a wonderful hotel experience and I would wholeheartedly endorse the hotel. I have already passed the name along to several colleagues who are heading over.
The room was incredibly clean and welcoming. Having a small sitting area (loveseat, chair, table with chairs) was a godsend when we needed to unwind and escape from the city The room was quiet, bright and cheerful (with great blackout drapes) and the hotel was very quiet even amidst some construction and late night crowds in the cafes nearby. The room had large bookshelves with a lot of reading left by other travelers and we were also able to unpack our travel guides here during the stay so the extra space was appreciated. Beds were comfy and the A/C worked perfectly in our room. We had to adjust it up and down and it responded quickly.

We took breakfast in the room two days, ate in the breakfast room the other days. The ability to get it in the room was a plus given jetlag and allowed us to get ready while eating. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to give us tips on what to see and do in Paris.

The hotel is conveniently located to the Jardin du Luxemborg, the Cluny, Notre Dame, the Latin Quarter and pretty much any metro you needed. We took the RER B to and from CDG airport -- the first time coming into Luxemborg (easier to find the hotel from that angle) and then leaving out of the Cluny stop (which was closer but by then we knew the side streets).

A few comments on the hotel for travelers - 1. few accessible outlets so bring an extension cord or outlet strip if you can pack it; 2. No alarm clock and the wake up calls got misplaced and 3. as with most european hotels, they dont have shower curtains and we inevitably soaked down the bathroom despite trying to be careful with the handheld. All minor but i made a mental note to pack an extension cord for future trips.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rysdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

We had stayed here before and found hotel had been nicely refurbished. However, they seem to be doing further renovations, which did not affect our stay except that the air conditioning, which is needed in Paris in the summer, was out of service. We considered moving, but they did their best to accommodate us with a fan, etc, and we did not regret staying. We had a lovely room overlooking the courtyard, and therefore very quiet despite central location in busy city.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TorontoEh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2009

First time we have stayed in the Odeon area of the 6th. Was a nice surprise, very quiet compared to St. Germain area which is just a short walk away. Walked the City of Paris with ease from this location...from Montparnasse to Montmarte. Hotel was absolutely lovely. Staff was so very helpful. Was more like staying with friends! It was, indeed, like living in a Monet painting. Large double room overlooking garden, breakfast included. Jardin du Luxembourg just down the street. What's not to love?!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToughGuy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2009

Our kids gave us plane tickets to Paris for our 30th wedding anniversary--with only four days notice. We contacted travel agencies but decided our own due diligence via the web (prinicipally TripAdvisor) was better than the inexperienced agents we contacted. We came up with the Relais Medicis, which was a wonderful hotel. We called the hotel directly, and the staff was very polite and spoke excellent English. The two desk staff, Marie and Isabelle, who split the duties there, are both extremely helpful and very polite--simply great customer service. The RM provides a very generous continental breakfast included with the rate, which by the way is worth about 12-14 Euros per person per day if you go outside to eat. The location was outstanding--easy walk to nearly everything--Louvre, D'Orsay, Notre Dame, Panteon, and great shopping/browsing district. Very quiet--located at the end of a small street right next to the old theater. Marie and Isabelle helped set up excursions and were generally very helpful. Both helped recover our luggage, which Air France managed to lose for three days. We had a king room, which was a legitimate and comfortable king-size bed, with TV, separate WC and bathroom. We were not used to the bathtubs with hoses (no shower), but apparently this is the norm. Room was large, clean, quiet, with excellent climate control. No complaints from us, and we would return without reservation. The only other comment i would make is that dining out is extremely expensive, although wine is generally cheaper than soda or beer.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank botetourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2008

This was our first time staying in the St Germain area, and we couldn't have picked a better hotel to stay in. The pricing was very reasonable, the service excellent, and best of all, the location was amazing! Only a few steps away from the Odeon Theatre, the Luxembourg Gardens and the action of St Germain de Pres. There are hundreds of restaurants within walking distance. The Seine, Louvre, Musee D'Orsee and the Eiffle tower are also within walking distance, so you couldn't ask for a better location.

We stayed a couple of nights in room 37, which although small, had a beautiful view of the courtyard, quiet, and a nice set of doors that open up wide. The continental breakfast, which was included in the price of the room, was very good, and the front desk was always very helpfull and courteous, both in English and French. The only thing that somewhat bothered me was no shower, so we had to sit in a tub and use a shower head. I have stayed in much more expensive hotels in Paris, but i have to admit that I would go back here in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Prés
Hotel le Senat
Hotel le Senat
#666 of 1,809 in Paris
666 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Pointe Rivoli
Hotel Pointe Rivoli
#1,522 of 1,809 in Paris
291 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Prés
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
#464 of 1,809 in Paris
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Prés
Villa Madame
Villa Madame
#102 of 1,809 in Paris
698 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Prés
Millesime Hotel
Millesime Hotel
#330 of 1,809 in Paris
501 reviews
Hotel Lutece
#1,299 of 1,809 in Paris
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Medicis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Medicis

Address: 5, Place de l'Odeon | 6th Arr, 75006 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#502 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £143 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Medicis 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Relais Medicis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Medicis Hotel Paris
Atel Relais Medicis Paris
Atel Relais Medicis Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing