We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good option”
Review of Relais Medicis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Relais Medicis
Ranked #1,419 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 24 March 2010

We found this hotel by walking around the neighborhood - I would not have found it using Trip Advisor as it is low-profile, but not low value. We were staying at a hotel in the 6e, which was OK, but nothing special and a bit out of the way. Relais Medicis is adjacent to the Theater Odeon, on Rue Racine - around the corner from many wonderful restaurants yet quiet, even on a weekend night. The staff is very attentive, the value was high (compared to nearby hotels). We chose a room facing the street, it was large, clean, quiet, comfortable. The wifi was strong and consistent, the breakfast a bit basic (no fresh fruit, but coffee, hot milk, good croissants and bread) and the atmosphere was lovely. I think it is a gem and would book there again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAtraveler33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for Relais Medicis
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2010

We stayed 3 nights at LE RELAIS MEDICIS at the end of a 10 day tour of Switzerland and France. This was a wonderful way to wrap up our trip.
This hotel is conveniently located near the Odean theater. It's small and cozy. We had the breakfast in our price and were glad we did. The simple food was excellent and included bread (of course) and cheeses, fruits, egg dishes, and coffee and juice.
Rooms are small, but all face onto a center garden at the bottom of a 4 story open-to-the-sky shaft.
The staff spoke excellent English and did not have a trace of the anticipated snooty attitude. As this was our first visit to Paris, we depended on the staff for suggestions and directions and they did not let us down.
We will stay here again at the first opportunity.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KenSML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Medicis for our first trip to Paris in 2006 and we were so pleased that we chose it again when returning with our disabled adult son. It was Chris' first trip to Europe/Paris so it was important to us to stay in an authentic Parisian hotel rather than some Americanized Best Western style hotel. Heck, we can do that right here in Minnesota-so what's the fun of that? It was comforting to find the same staff working 3 years later, it feels like a family-run, cozy hotel or B&B. Marie or Isabelle were manning the front desk and helped us make cafe reservations, navigate street maps, get cabs, etc. We arrived hours ahead of check-in so they held our suitcases and when we returned exhausted later that night, everything was in our room. They showed us two rooms appropriate for us with our adult son and let us pick which we preferred (having the toilet separate from the bathroom turned out to be one of our best decisions of the trip. Our son decided against the rollaway they offered and slept soundly on the couch). This hotel is a couple of blocks from two main roads, Saint Germain and St Michel, and nearby you can find lots of shopping, cafes, sandwich shops (saves on food expense), grocery, a wine shop half a block down (Beaujolais for under $10), and more importantly quick access to the train/subway (Odeon, St Michel). It cost about $2/person to hop on the metro over to the Eiffel Tour. We walked to the Louvre, d'Orsay and the Notre Dame is just across the river.

I noticed a previous reviewer had problems with cleanliness and non-responsive personnel but when their experience is so completely different than mine, as in this case, I often wonder about reviewer's identities. How can we tell if competitors add negative reviews? But, then again, it's possible Medicis had some sort of trouble. Afterall, we've only stayed with them twice so we're not experienced Paris travelers. But, if we're lucky enough to return to Paris, we will definitely stay with Medicis again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BethanyAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2009

I stayed twice in this small hotel nicely located near Odeon and Jardins du Luxembourg.

I really enjoyed the time spend there.

The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated.

You will enjoy quite and peaceful night in this hotel. It’s really perfect for romantic week end.

There is no restaurant in the hotel but a lot of good restaurant nearby.

The location of the hotel is very good for tourist sightseeing.

I strongly recommend this hotel offering excellent service for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geslin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2009

As you can see from recent reviews posted, the opinions on this small hotel near the Odeon Theatre are varied. I booked this hotel for our 10th wedding anniversary trip to Paris after doing extensive research on hotels - I believe where you stay can make or break a vacation, so I don't tend to leave this to chance. Based on reviews here, a recommendation by Rick Steves (my Europe guru) and my own interests, I booked this hotel expecting charm, a Provencal atmosphere, a friendly and helpful English-speaking staff, a great location near the Metro and many fine restaurants, and a rather high rate to go along with it. We experienced everything above and a couple of suprises. Isabelle at the front desk was nice and helpful. Our room (a standard double, I believe) was cute, clean and quiet - windows onto the internal courtyard rather than street. But there was construction going on so we did hear some of that but not at night - the hotel is expanding its lobby. The breakfast we purchased each morning (optionnal) was a true continental and perhaps not worth the cost, but I don't regret it because it was so nice to have delivered to our room each morning and not have to get dressed and go in search of food first thing. It consisted of croissants and baguette with jam, honey and butter; orange juice; yogurt; coffee; and a small wedge of cheese. Nice enough to get us moving. We never saw another guest the entire 3 days we were there - although we did hear and see signs of them, so the hotel wasn't empty, just quiet. It really had the feeling of staying in a small apartment building on Left Bank. Our room was small, no doubt, but certainly not cramped for two of us, and it was perfectly clean. Not enough plugs in the bathroom, and really hated the hand shower, but not enough to say "I'll never stay here again!" Listen, I travel a lot and I have high expectations. This hotel is nice. If you want a luxury hotel, stay elsewhere. If you want a very nice hotel with charm and the feel of being in a neighborhood and not a big, impersonal chain hotel, stay here. Location couldn't be much better. I'm sure the recent bad reviews are telling the truth as well - but only one part of it. Any hotel you go to will have good and bad days and rooms with some issues. Plan carefully, don't settle for less than what you were promised, and you'll be fine.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KimG02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2009

I have been to Paris multiple times and this (by far) is the worst hotel experience I have had. Rooms were dirty, small, and overpriced. Worst of all, when we raised our concerns with the front desk - they could not care any less. The hotel is in a great location, but you can certainly find better. DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ny_NyWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relais Medicis H, Responsable réception at Relais Medicis, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Madam,

We really wonder how could you sincerely say that our hotel was your "worst hotel experience" ? We are a 4 stars hotel, in the very heart of Paris, with cosy rooms of 25 / 35 square meters, cleaned every single day. Obvioulsly, you could not notice and appreciate the unique style of our 18th century building. We are far from modern "Ikea" hotels. Didn't you ever stay in a real dirty hotel ? The comparison is just not valuable according to us.

Can you show us pictures of your so-called dirtyness ?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2009

Hands down - this was the worst hotel I’ve ever stayed in. After spending all day exploring the beautiful city of Paris, despite how tired we were - we dreaded having to go back to this hotel. It is outrageously expensive for what it is. We paid about 300 euros a night for a room that was hostel quality (check out the pics!). The sleeping area, toilet room, shower room were all dirty, and the cots (calling them beds would be misleading) were incredibly uncomfortable. We were right by the door to the staircase – where there was a gaping whole in the ceiling. Dust/debris filled the halls and our rooms. When we spoke to the ladies at the front desk – they had a ‘sucks for you’ attitude. At the end of our stay they finally admitted that we were inconvenienced and comped us 40 euro – a slap in the face after spending 900 euros. The only thing this hotel/hostel has going for them is its location. For this much money you can find countless quality hotels in Paris. Avoid this place – it could possibly ruin your entire trip!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thetravelerNy_Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relais Medicis H, Responsable réception at Relais Medicis, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Madam,

We really wonder how could you say, sincerely, that our hotel was "absolutely horrible" ? We are a 4 stars hotel in the very heart of Paris, with cosy rooms of 25 / 35 square meters, cleaned every single day. Obvioulsly, you could not notice and appreciate the unique style of our 18th century building. We are far from modern "Ikea" hotels.

If you paid 300€ , it means you took a room for 4 persons. 300€, for a 30 square meters rooms for 4 persons. I invite you to show us how you can find a 4 stars hotels for 4 persons at this price in st germain des Prés area, especailly in high period like you did.

On every floor, there are only 3 rooms, with very few movement of the lift. So how could you sincerely be disturbed by the lift ?

Can you show us pictures of your so-called dirtyness ?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Belloy Saint-Germain by HappyCulture
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Relais Hotel du Vieux Paris
Relais Hotel du Vieux Paris
#534 of 1,803 in Paris
385 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Le Petit Belloy Saint-Germain by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Trianon Rive Gauche
Hotel Trianon Rive Gauche
#687 of 1,803 in Paris
762 reviews
Quartier Latin
Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Recamier
Hotel Recamier
#283 of 1,803 in Paris
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Medicis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Medicis

Address: 5 rue Racine | 6th Arr, 75006 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#499 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £175 - £336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Medicis 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Relais Medicis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Medicis Hotel Paris
Atel Relais Medicis Paris
Atel Relais Medicis Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing