We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny room and minute bathroom!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Royal Bergere
Ranked #1,563 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 27 September 2009

When we arrived, the shower was broken and when reported, the receptionist just shrugged his shoulders and basically wasn't interested. However, to be fair, it was mended by the next day though his initial reaction didn't exactly help relationships and first impression. The bathroom was so small that one could almost describe it as rather dangerous. The shower was tiny and impossible to turn round in (we are not large people !) It would have been nice to have had a fridge/mini bar in there, especially as Paris is extremely expensive for EVERYTHING! Wasn't keen on the rather 'grubby-looking' blankets on the bed. The noise outside at night was AWFUL & we slept badly. On the plus side, breakfasts were good though fresh fruit would have been a welcome addition. Also, not all the staff were unhelpful like our first man on reception. The hotel's location was good but nothing would persuade us to return here for a stay.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMandKJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2009

The personell was unfriendly and rude. The room smelled cigarette and was dirty and old. There was also ants walking in the floor of the breakfast room. The breakfast was very poor and the food was stale. The second night the receptionists asked us to show him our room key in order to enter the hotel and go to our room...............Only the location of the hotel was good. This hotel needs a renovation and a good cleaning!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank electroUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2009

Great location - 3 mins from Grands Boulevards station, so easy to find, literally around the corner. Perfect position for getting around Paris. Lady on the front desk in the afternoons was pleasant but quiet, possibly due to a lack of English and our lack of French. Gentleman on desk in the evening was helpful, friendly and extremely pleasant to deal with. Room was very small but not a problem due to us being out all day sightseeing and for the money you pay you can't expect any more. Room was very clean, housekeeping was very efficient every morning, and thoughtful - they folded our pyjamas and put them under the pillow! Ignore less positive reviews about breakfast/breakfast room. We got a table straight away every morning with a good choice of hot drinks and preserves for the fresh croissants and rolls. Cereal, yogurt and orange juice were also available. We were concerned after reading other reviews but hotel for us was extremely good value and we have already decided to stay here on our next visit and would recommend it for tourists who are looking for a conveniently located, friendly place to stay. Plenty of restaurants/cafes and snack bars nearby. The only thing that would have improved the hotel for us would have been tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms - if this is important to you make sure you take a travel kettle! The vending machine in the lobby was not overpriced compared with the rest of Paris. A few tips for first time travellers to Paris - use the supermarket opposite to buy bottles of water to take with you when you go out, as shops and attractions were charging on average 3 euro per bottle whilst the supermarket was 70 cents. Buy a metro ticket for the duration of your stay - it's cheap, quick and easy to use. Overall, a good little hotel with the gentleman on the desk being the highlight due to his helpfulness and friendliness.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shamelessfan010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2009

Finding it was even a problem. The address they emailed didn't match what the gps would pull up in the cabs and no one knew where this street or hotel was. The kid at the desk didn't know how far they were from anything (we got directions from hotel next door) and couldn't find the reservation we had been emailed confirmation on. Internet didn't work (and hadn't for several days). Breakfast was warm milk, juice, cereal, croissants, and warm yogurt. Not good. They didn't even understand where to park out front after we got our car. The room was small, bed lumpy, TV didn't work properly, bathroom was clean. We checked out the next day and made other arrangements.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank djlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2007

I must say about this hotel that you simply can not forget this one ;) We had room nro 72. Top floor with skylight. It was really nice lay in bed (which suppose to be for two, but was 120 or 140cm wide) and watch Paris sky. Hotel room was funny shaped and tinny and worn down, but clean and so was bathroom.
Breakfast room was really small and breakfast was not special.

What good was staff and its location. We love to walk around. Nice restorants all over. Perhpas we next time book another hotel from that area.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sayah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2007

We were frustrated. Room, bed were very small. Some staff was unfriendly. Breakfast was very simple.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tam04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2007

I got home at 11 last night after a field trip to Paris, my second visit to the city and this is my experience, I've been honest and detailed as my memory is fresh, so you shouldn't get any shocks.

*******************
On a low budget with 20 mature students studying a tourism-related subject we managed perfectly fine at this friendly hotel! We were quite afraid after reading the reviews here and so went with in muttering "expect the worst and you can't be disappointed".

THE ROOM

We expected far worse than we got. Yes, Paris hotel rooms are small, its the price to pay for staying in such a bustling city. You will find the room small and perhaps larger built folks might find it compact but noone in our group suffered too much.

The windows are nice and big if you are facing the street and open like conservatory windows so that was quite a pleasant suprise. It was quiet inside.

There is a wardrobe which me and my room-mate managed to fit our toiletries, clothes, shoes and long boots in so I was quite impressed.

The beds are single, they can be as one or pushed apart, they have various blankets on them and spare pillows in the wardrobe.

The bathroom isn't huge but is big enough, the shower was fine and powerful enough, it wasn't 'drained by a hole in the floor' either. The soap and shower gel are pretty basic and in wall-mounted dispensers but I always like to use my own anyway and the shop across the road sells everything too. Unless your bathroom at home is particularly luxurious you will survive. We always had fresh linen and towels and the room was hoovered daily (croissants are crumb ridden and a good test of this).

TIPS

For ladies I would recommend taking a portable mirror to stand on the bureau if you like to sit and do make up/hair etc, although we used those on the bathroom and wardrobe and we did this a lot(!) being two young ladies. Also a proper travel hairdryer as greatly missed, the one available is old fashioned and fixed to the wall, like those found at some sports facilities but it wasn't a big problem.

I missed my kettle and next time would take my portable one as everyone in Paris smokes and my throat wasn't coping well with it. We smelt smoke in the corridor a few times but not in reception/breakfast rooms, or our own room-there are a lot of notices reminding people to extinguish them anyway, so it shouldn't be a problem.

If you are allergic to feathers, as I turned out to be; take a small pillow if you can. I ended up putting a towel over mine and taking allergy tablets, the staff were helpful in finding the pharmacy and asked how I was every day awwww.

MTV and CNN were on our TV as well as regular, limited French TV, most of the day it was English MTV programmes with subtitles. It's not like you go on holiday to watch TV though anyway, Paris is at your door!

THE BREAKFAST

Help yourself to:
-Tea, hot/cold milk,hot/cold water, coffee, hot chocolate.
-Cornflakes,Croissants, Baguettes, laughing cow cheese, strawberry/raspberry and other jams.

We worried that the breakfast room was small (as most are in Paris) but the staff were working hard clearing tables to make sure everyone was able to have a seat quickly, as well as re-filling everything.

THE STAFF

Every day, every member of staff was kind and helpful in a nice relaxed way. All spoke English although we did our best to use French where possible and they assisted and were patient with us. Our group included Welsh, English, Greek and Chinese people and they chatted to us all. The hotel is secure, with staff always available around reception and they even slept on the lounge sofa to let us in at 430 in the morning on our last night.

THE SURROUNDING AREA

Easy to get to by Cadet & Grande Boulevards metro stops and a free map, which the hotel stock. The hotel was in Pigalle, an area I would never have stayed in if I had booked...but I never had to go near the risque areas, I am a small, young female and felt safe when I wandered-really!

Around the hotel are many cheaper international cuisine restaurants, some convenience stores and regular shops, even a virgin music store nearby. There is a nice friendly brasserie at the corner of the street who were so kind they even played our CD's for us to make us feel at home and an Irish bar called O'Sullivans which shows football matches, plays English music and U2 and goes wild later in the night, a lot of fun.

******************************************************************
If you want a cheap, friendly place to stay, it's great, maybe I wouldn't choose it immediately if I was going for a romantic break but with friends it would be a great place to stay on a budget or last minute, if you go in with an open mind.

Stayed: March 2007
6  Thank What-Katy-Did
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
The Lodge du Centre Hotel
The Lodge du Centre Hotel
#436 of 1,803 in Paris
390 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Maxim Folies
Maxim Folies
#1,161 of 1,803 in Paris
402 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Corona Rodier
Hotel Corona Rodier
#1,391 of 1,803 in Paris
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Williams Opera
Hotel Williams Opera
#1,494 of 1,803 in Paris
177 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Bresil Opera
Hotel Bresil Opera
#1,045 of 1,803 in Paris
264 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Aston Hotel Paris
Aston Hotel Paris
#1,488 of 1,803 in Paris
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Bergere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Bergere

Address: 8 rue Geoffroy Marie, 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,563 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £77 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal Bergere 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small contemporary hotel set in center of Paris; near Folies-Bergere; the Opera and Shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Royal Bergere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Bergere Hotel
Royal Bergere Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing