We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not four star”
Review of Hotel Carlton's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Carlton's
Ranked #822 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 24 May 2014

stayed for a weekend break, our 7 th floor room had superb view of sacre coure. ideal location for sacre coure, monmartre area and moulin rouge, the hotel is in the process of refurbishment which it definately needs. hotel is clean and the staff were fine but the hotel certainly is not a four star standard. basic buffett breakfast.

Room Tip: high floor at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pogontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (590)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 590 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

I've been there one week ago.
After testing various hotels in Paris, I think that I've found the place to stay!!!
A staff very welcoming, very nice place. the terrace is amazing, and everythiong's clean!

Only little points to be improved: could we have slippers not to walk on carpet barefooted, the green color is a bit weird, and bathrobes will be welcome!!!

See you soon Carlton hotel!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgafmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CARLTON75, Responsable réception at Hotel Carlton's, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you very much for your comment, we took note of your feedback and we look forward to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and had a lovely stay. The hotel was being refurbished and in places you could see why but the views and staff were great. Well located and easy access to the Metro.

There was a good choice at Breakfast and I woukd not hesitatevto recommend it.

1  Thank Warren D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CARLTON75, Responsable réception at Hotel Carlton's, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback, we look forward to welcome you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

I have no idea why this place gets such a hard time! All the staff were lovely and helpful! We stayed on the 7th floor. The room was clean, the bed was really comfy and the massive doors which opened on to a little balcony had great views!! The shower was powerful and the bath was clean! Its not the biggest room in the world but not to small, The WIFI works well, you do have to re enter the password code if you dont use it in say an hour say, but thats hardly it not working!!! the breakfast, was fresh with plenty of choice! The location was great for our tri!




location

Thank Hannah L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CARLTON75, Responsable réception at Hotel Carlton's, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Many thanks for your comment, we hope to welcome you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
58
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We changed from a three star to this 'four star' a couple of weeks before our arrival. To say disappointed would be an understatement.
We booked this hotel via Club Travel as part of a rugby package. My other half purchased as a gift for my birthday. Mixing our love for the game with a romantic break in the city of love was perfect... Until we got there!!

After reading the reviews on trip advisor I personally touched base with the hotel to request a double bed. I also mentioned if there was an upgrade available we would be happy to pay. (You'll read a lot of reviews on here about split singles)
After dealing with a lovely guy called Sebastian he assured me he would put in the request of a double bed with bonus of a view of the sacre couer.
On a arrival (Friday the 14th, about 6pm) we were greeted by the most arrogant & unhelpful receptionist I have ever come across. I unfortunately didn't get his name.
We checked into our room... Two single beds, a view of the top of the sacre coure. We called down to reception to explain we had spoken to Sebastian during the week and he knew nothing about it. We requested a room change and we were told 'no there's nothing that can be done'. I requested to speak to Sebastian, he was off. Requested a manager, not one available. After arguing with me I asked something be done for next night. Nothing happened. No call from anyone. Completely forgotten about.
On departure we were lucky enough to be checking out with the same guy. We were told out collection bus had not yet arrived. We sat in reception for 15 minutes and asked him if he was sure no1 came from our agent. He said no. We asked for a contact number for our agent, he told us he didn't have one that was bookings job. Extremely unhelpful!!
Turned out our bus arrived & he was in the breakfast bar so didn't see them. He made no effort to point us in the right direction of the airport literally shrugged his shoulders at us.

Definitely won't stay here again.

Things to note about this hotel. It's in the red light district of the city. Every shop on the street is a sex shop. So not recommended for children. We don't have any so got a kick out of it.

Cons: Small Rooms. Extremely Outdated. Single beds. No atmosphere in place. Bar consists of four tables and is empty. I think I seen a bar tender behind the bar once during our stay. The particular reception guy is 'only reception' and has zero customer service skills.

Pro: close proximity to stade de France €20 in taxi. (Get one on the street though because the hotel won't call one for you)
Wifi
Ireland taking the championship!!

Wouldn't recommend for romance, families or girly breaks.
Would recommend for a bunch of alcoholic adolescents looking for expensive booze, hostel type accommodation & women!

Taxi drivers were decent enough and constantly available. Metered too so you weren't getting screwed!


Note: Beers & wine very expensive along this street with most places upping their prices by €1 after 9pm.

We were charged €22 for one class of Chardonnay & pint of Heineken.... At 8:50pm!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

After an enjoyable train journey to London and then Eurostar we arrived in Paris.We took a registered Taxi(with green light) to our Hotel.Efficient registration and friendly staff.Room was 712
was quite small but immaculately clean and had plenty of wardrobe space.Double bed had lovely fresh cotton sheets and extra pillow in wardrobe if needed.Tea and coffee making faclities and mini-fridge.Air conditioning and windows opened.Bathroom very good size and pleasant surprise on opening the large arched window!!Look left and the Sacre Coeur is very close and beautifully lit up in the evening!!What a view!!Good Continental breakfast-all quality foods.Also pleasant bar and sitting areas off reception where it is possible to order a drink.Over all we felt happy here and would stay again.It is a good base.Just down the road to the right you can visit the Tourist info hut and buy tickets for the "hop on and off bus". Thankyou to the lovely staff!!

Room Tip: Our friends in 711 had a slightly bigger room with a Juliette balcony and better view of the Sacre C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rose9865y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CARLTON75, Responsable réception at Hotel Carlton's, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you again for your next stay in Paris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Terrace view is a must. Rooms are clean, well furnished and serviced. We had perfect welcome and quick check-in and check-out. You leave with the desire to stay more. Close to subway stations and anyway a short walk from everywhere in Paris. Sacre Coeur is just to be stepped up to. To be recommended for any weekend, romantic or touristic stay in Paris.

Room Tip: Any room is quiet and view is guaranteed on top terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Xtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CARLTON75, Responsable réception at Hotel Carlton's, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback, we are glad to read that to had a good experience at the hotel Carlton's and we hope to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Ibis Paris Sacre Coeur 18eme
Ibis Paris Sacre Coeur 18eme
#1,223 of 1,805 in Paris
1,028 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Mercure Paris Pigalle Sacre-Coeur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Opera Frochot
Hotel Opera Frochot
#637 of 1,805 in Paris
316 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel Les Jardins de Montmartre
Montmartre
Hotel Andre Gill
Hotel Andre Gill
#1,280 of 1,805 in Paris
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton's

Address: 55 boulevard de Rochechouart | 09 Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#409 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £69 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carlton's 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Carlton's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carltons Hotel Paris
Carlton Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing