We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too much stairs!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Amarys Simart
Ranked #1,665 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Too much stairs!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I do recommend staying at this hotel, very cosy, friendly, clean. It's near the subway station and the receptionist helps you to plan your day. The only thing I complained was the lack of a lift, we stayed in the 4th floor and had to climb the stairs to reach it. An old building but should be renovated to include a lift. If you want to stay there you must ask for a room on the 1st floor!

Room Tip: The hotel doesn't have a lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BabiiiS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    70
    126
    79
    95
See reviews for
39
212
31
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We booked this place knowing it wouldn't be fancy. But I do expect all hotels to be CLEAN. And I expect hotels to deliver on the amenities they offer. This is where I have grievance with the Amarys Simart.

We checked in and made the long ascent to the 4th floor (no elevator). We opened the door and were met with one of the tiniest hotel rooms I have ever seen. Now, this wasn't that concerning to us because we only needed a room to sleep in. But the bathroom was so small it was difficult to sit down to use the toilet. Your knees will be pressed against the wall and the sink will be almost right in front of your face. In the mornings, the shower water is ice cold, and will not warm up for at least a half hour. Shower at night or prepare to use lukewarm sink water.

The room was fairly dirty. The comforter had a hole in it (apparently from cigarette ash) and the walls and furniture were in rough shape. Take a look at some of the photos for more evidence of this.

Now, I can accept some of these inconveniences considering the money I saved booking here over other places. But we had other more exceptional issues. The Internet was more likely to be down than work - a big problem for us because we needed Internet access to plan our daily activities and communicate with our family. When we brought this issue to the attention of the front desk, they only told us that connecting is not possible right now (bad English speakers).

Upon check in, I also made sure to ask if breakfast was included in the price of the room. The desk workers assured us that it was. When we went to breakfast the next morning, the drink server took down our room number to charge us. We later spoke with the desk worker about room chargers, and he could only tell us that our room did not include breakfast. We ended up somehow getting the charge removed, except for the premium they charge for fresh meat and cheese. We ended up paying 4 euro for a couple slices of cheese we ate at breakfast.

There was also some confusion when the housekeeping staff took our key from us. We weren't sure what was going on, but we eventually found out they had taken it to the front desk, which required another trip down and up the stairs.

The location of the Amarys Simart is fairly remote, but a metro stop is right next to it, and the Paris metro is fast. Getting around isn't a problem. What was more of a problem for us was the number of hoodlums walking around drunk late at night. We came to the realization that the 18th isn't the best neighborhood.

If you are not concerned with cleanliness, stairs, lack of Internet, a staff that cannot communicate with you, and a rough neighborhood, the Amarys Simart is a cheap stay for you. I would not recommend it to the eldery (stairs) or women traveling alone (sketchy neighborhood).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kanderson18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Belgrade, Serbia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

I agree with most previous reviews on this hotel if you are expecting something nice that you see on photos you will be suprised. My room was clean but the state of the rooms in this hotel is very poor condition they haven't been renovated for long time as well they are still using old keys which nowadays you will rarely see. The entrance front desk and breakfast room looks nice so you will think that rest of the hotel will be as well in pretty good shape but that's not the case. There is no elevator so if you are on the fifth or 6 floor you will need to climb a lot of stairs. Breakfast was ok and the price they charge for it as well since most of the things in Paris are pretty expensive. If you are on a budget and don't expect much from it just a place to sleep in then this is a right hotel for you. The metro is right across the street and yes you are in the center in less then 15 minutes which is one good thing. Also the hotel is not in a such good neigborhood of Paris which my friends who are living there confirmed so please take caution if you are returning late at night. Overall location, price and condition don't match what most of the websites are advertising so if you are thinking of booking this one think twice and double check everything.

Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank kizas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

While I didn't expect the world for the price of the room, I did expect hot water. Not the worst place I've stayed in, but I've been in the Army and stayed in accommodations in temporary stops that have been better.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Ok, so this is literally the worst hotel i've ever been to, don't just take my word, please look at the photos. We stayed in Room 40, but from the reaction of other guests this review is definitely the normal reaction to the rooms.

The walls, roof, shower curtain & door in the bathroom were mouldy. The walls in the bedroom were mouldy.

The bathroom was tiny (I do know this is normalish in Paris, but when trying to avoid rubbing against mould it makes it seem a lot smaller) The sink was TINY, and there is a shelf above it making it almost impossible to brush your teeth.

The floor is stained, the light fitting has burned the wall. The neighbour is a building site that start work at 7.30am. You cant sleep with the window closed as you want to air the mouldy room out.

The service was not ideal, but to rooms are the part that makes me want to urge you, DO NOT STAY IN THIS HOTEL. Stay in an Ibis, a best western etc, the extra money it will cost will be worth every penny.

Room Tip: Any other hotel would be better. Pay extra for a better hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AlexMair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

The reception staff were friendly and efficient. The breakfast was good and as expected. The Metro stations are very close. Whoever the photographer is who shot this hotel should be awarded an Oscar. We booked 4 rooms and not one looked anything like the internet images. They stank of smoke, had questionable stains on the blankets, had black mould growing over all the walls, were noisy with people walking by and because the door to my room had an inch gap at the bottom, had to endure the flashing of the hall lights all night. We checked out after one night and went across the road to another hotel.

Room Tip: Any room not in this hotel is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Trevor v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We did research before confirm booking via online. We asked for lower room facing the road & the hotel grand our demand. The room that we got was quite & clean. Our only gripe is you can hear footsteps sound when people walk past (not all the time). The service was good. The reception guy even boiled water for us every night during our stay so that we can make hot drink in our room at night. City map is available at the hotel but pretty much self service. The area if quite safe. We did our laundry located just few meters from the hotel. Underground train is just couple of minutes walk. There is a bus station located near to the hotel which we took to Eiffel tower.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 2footprint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Hotel De France
Hotel De France
#1,529 of 1,800 in Paris
75 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel Roma Sacre Coeur
Hotel Roma Sacre Coeur
#975 of 1,800 in Paris
585 reviews
Montmartre
Caulaincourt Square Hostel
Caulaincourt Square Hostel
#1,229 of 1,800 in Paris
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Villette
St Christopher's Canal Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amarys Simart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amarys Simart

Property: Hotel Amarys Simart
Address: 7 rue Simart | 18 Arr., 75018 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,665 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Amarys Simart 1*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Amarys Simart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amarys Simart Hotel
Amarys Simart Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing