We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bel Ami Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$330
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$305
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Mercure Paris Bastille Marais(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$272
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$304
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Hotel Website
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Astoria - Astotel(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Kyriad Hotel Paris Bercy Village(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$451
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$384
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,387)
Filter reviews
1,387 results
Traveller rating
866
366
96
36
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
866
366
96
36
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsst germaincafe de floregreat locationleft bankfamous cafesconcierge deskboutique hotelright bankwalking distancemodern designaround the cornerrooms are smallrestaurant recommendationsfavorite hotelexcellent hotelsuperior roomheart of paris
Filter
Updating list...
743 - 748 of 1,387 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2012

I spent three nights at the Bel-Ami-Hotel earlier this week. I fall into the business traveler category.

First the positives... The hotel has a superb location in the most beautiful and "existentialist" part of Paris - in the Saint-Germain-des-Pres area. A number of famous cafes, such as Cafe de Flore and Les Deux Magots, and Boulevard Saint-Germain are just two blocks away from the hotel. There are a number of very cozy bistros, cafes, and shops within a walking distance from the hotel. The Museum of the Arab World, which I found extremely interesting, is a 20-minute walk away from the hotel.

One of the key additional strengths of the Bel-Ami-Hotel is its staff. They are very friendly, helpful, professional, and most willing to cater to your needs and requirements. They are also very good at truly making you feel at home as soon as you enter the hotel.

The hotel is well-maintained, even though I must say that the public facilities of the hotel are much nicer and more "designish" than the rooms (or at least the room that I had). In the lobby area, there is a very nice bar where you can buy some snacks and drinks. In addition, there are two iMacs that guests are free to use.

The sleep quality at the hotel was very good. The bed was very comfortable. What was particularly delightful was the fact that there were two doors between the corridor and the bedroom part of the hotel room. This solved one of the key issues that is typically very problematic at most hotels: the noise coming from the corridor. If you are staying at one of the lower floors facing the street, please take your ear plugs with you. You cannot always escape the street noise, even though this hotel is not located at a very busy street.

Then the negatives... I have never been to the hotel where the WiFi is so SLOW. Given the fact that I had a lot of work to do while at the hotel, this was extremely irritating. I used the WiFi connection several times during my stay, so this was definitely not an isolated incident. The WiFi connection is like water or electricity these days - it must work, it must be reliable, and it must provide sufficient performance. Had I been on a leisure trip, this would have been much less of an issue.

In addition, the water pressure in the shower was fairly low. This was, however, less of an issue provided you are willing to spend some extra time in the shower. Interestingly, I travel a lot, and this was the first hotel, where the floor of the bathroom is made of parquetry. I have no problems with this, but it did feel weird given the fact that the floor in the bathroom tends to get wet... Otherwise, the bathroom was very clean, well-maintained, and spacious.

All in all, the Bel-Ami-Hotel is worth staying in spite of some of the negatives listed above. For business travelers, they must do something to solve the WiFi performance issue, as the poor performance is simply not acceptable in 2012. The same applies to the water pressure. I cannot comment on the quality of the breakfast, as I did not have it at this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MarkoSHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your comments on the Hotel on the TripAdvisor and for those wonderful words about Bel Ami welcome service.
I would like to inform you that a week ago we have taken the decision to install few more WiFi receptors in order to improve its speed and quality.
Being anxious of protecting environment and applying the green attitude not only for every member of the team but also trying to make our customers to participate, Hotel Bel Ami installed water pressure regulators in every bathroom as one of the ways to do it. To increase the water pressure you need to deactivate it. It can be done either by the guest or by one of the member of the maintenance service. Please do not hesitate to let us know next time you are at the hotel.
Thank you again for letting us know the inconveniences you had during your stay at the Bel Ami. It really helps us to improve the quality of the service so that every guest can spend perfect time with us.
I am really looking forward to welcoming you back to you “new home” in Saint Germain so that you can evaluate the updated WiFi connexion.

Sincerely,

Laurence Guinebretière
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

The hotel has the most amazing staff and they are super friendly. The only downside to this hotel is the limited selection for breakfast which might annoy some well experienced travellers. The WIFI is also pretty slow which pretty much annoyed at times.
The beds are super comfortable and the area is worth the stay!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Uaeiyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Dear guest,

It was a real pleasure to read your comments on TripAdvisor ! We are glad that we were able to satisfy all expectations you had and that you enjoyed our services.

We all are looking forward to welcome you back again soon!

Yours sincerely,

Laurence Guinebretière
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We stayed at the Bel Ami for a long weekend. There was no renovation work going on. We stayed in a deluxe room on the top floor (which had been renovated), and were very comfortable. It was amazingly quiet, despite being literally over the Saint Germain square. The bathroom was quite large and the bed was very comfortable. The space was adequate, considering we were not in the room all that much. Breakfast was very good - fresh orange or grapefruit juice was a nice extra that was included. The location was superb. But what I will remember the most from our stay at the Bel Ami is the concierge, I think his name was Alexander. He was just amazing - so friendly, helpful, professional. He knows the area very well and always sent us to good restaurants. He had great advice on "what to do" as well. And he was not the only excellent concierge - I spoke a few times with some others and had a similar experience. But most of the time we worked with Alex and he's just a star. (Just an example: on our last day, we wanted to eat before leaving for the airport. Alex recommended a good place nearby and, without even telling us he was going to do so, called the place while we were walking over there, to tell them to be quick because he had ordered our taxi to the airport for 45 minutes later. The waiter made a point to get us out in time to get back for the taxi, and there was Alex with our suitcases at the door. This kind of personalized service is rare these days!)

Room Tip: Deluxe room on the top floor - the quietest ones are at the ends of the hallway, and some have a side view of the Saint Germain church.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelAmiHotel, Directeur général at Bel Ami Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2012

Thank you dear Guest for your comments and praise of your Parisian home. Our concierge are delighted to know that you appreciated their efforts and indeed all our staff are pleased that we were able to contribute to the creating good memories of your recent stay.

hope to see you again very soon!

Sincerely,

Laurence Guinebretière
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We stayed at Hotel Bel Ami for 3 nights in May and had an exceptional stay. The location was perfect! The room was spacious (for Europe), clean, modern and affordable! And the staff was extremely kind and helpful. There's no doubt we will stay at Hotel Bel Ami again, and will certainly recommend it to our family and friends! Enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stopkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelAmiHotel, Directeur général at Bel Ami Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind words, and delighted to share your compliments on service with our staff. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to your Parisian home.

Sincerely,

Laurence Guinebretière
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I highly recommend based on central location and neighborhood. This is an ideal Paris experience.

Room Tip: Third floor is renovated. Try to get room overlooking street. It had good light.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jcsheltonusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelAmiHotel, Directeur général at Bel Ami Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2012

Thank you for your kind words and generous review, hope to see you again very soon!

Sincerely,

Laurence Guinebretière
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews