We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in the Left Bank of Paris”
Review of Bel Ami Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bel Ami Hotel
Ranked #175 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Finger Lakes, New York
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“A Gem in the Left Bank of Paris”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We recently spent six nights in this small, almost boutique hotel in Paris's Left Bank. Only a few blocks from the Seine and the Louvre. The Musee D'Orsay is also very close. Many, many small local bistros and restaurants in the immediate walking area makes this hotel a super location. The rooms are not big nor are the bathrooms, but it is typical of most European hotels. They are very functional. The bar on the ground floor was very comfortable for a late afternoon or evening drink. The food in the cafe for breakfast was quite good. Exceptional were the concierge staff and the services they provided. In particular, Louis was most helpful and charming. When we come back to Paris, we will stay again at this hotel. It is pricey but worth it.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Tommy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelAmiHotel, Directeur général at Bel Ami Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest, We would like to express appreciation for your kind words following your stay with us. As I always do, I have shared your kind comment with my brillant team who make this all happen.It will be an honor for the Bel Ami to welcome you back.
Sincerely.
Laurence Guinebretiere.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    704
    319
    87
    29
    21
See reviews for
195
503
42
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Level 6 Contributor
325 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

As other reviewers have commented, the location of this little hotel is hard to beat. Easy walking to Notre Dame, metro, Louvre, Musee D'Orsee,Latin Quarter, etc. There are an abundance of good cafes, bakeries and restaurants nearby. And lots of cute shops. The staff is very welcoming, and the decor is a cheerful and modern. There is a bar with comfy chairs and couches and the breakfast buffet is quite extensive with especially delicious little pain au chocolate and croissants. We found the concierge staff (Louis in particular) to be very helpful with restaurant recommendations and advice about how to handle getting around (the RER and the taxis were both on strike when we arrived - but they explained that rarely are ALL the workers on strike - just selected lines/areas). As for the rooms, well there is a variety that range in size from small to smaller. Our family group had four rooms all on the same floor and unlike many American hotels that have standard size/decor/bath, each one of our rooms was different. One had a tub/shower areas with two sinks, plus a separate room with a toilet and a sink. The same room was larger in general and had a large desk/bookshelf. Our room had a TINY bath that required gymnastic skills to navigate. a minuscule desk and literally nothing on the wall but a flat screen TV. The variation makes it difficult to offer advice about requesting a room. But all of our rooms were clean and well-tended by the staff. Clearly, if you are looking to spend a lot of time leisurely relaxing in your room, this is not the hotel for you. But if you want a great base location with a helpful staff, you should be happy here. By the way, L'Entrecote, a well-known restaurant that serves one meal (steak, pommes frites, and salad) is located just across the street from the hotel and you could see the line begin to form every day prior to opening. Also, if you happen to like ceramics/kitchen wares, check out La Maison Ivre, 38 re Jacob, which is very close to the hotel. The owner carries a lovely selection of linens and ceramics.

Room Tip: I would suggest at check-in that you ask if the hotel is full and request to see a few rooms if poss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelAmiHotel, Directeur général at Bel Ami Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for writting such positive reivew about the Bel Ami regarding your last stay.Your feedback on our staff is very pleasent to read We will share it with them (and more specifically with Louis our concierge, as our guest's words of satisfaction does constitute a reward to their work.

Sincerely.
Laurence Guinebretiere
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales,UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel for my 40th Brithday. My partner and I have been to Paris a few times before so knew what to expect regarding the size of the rooms. On arrival at the hotel the staff were really lovely and the lobby had a beautiful aroma which was instantly inviting and in fact, everytime we walked into the lobby or sat for a drink, I felt so relaxed and happy because of the ambience and genral feel of the place. We were introduced to everyone we may need during our stay. As it was my birthday we were given a voucher for complimentary champagne which was a lovely touch. We were taken to our room which was lovely, clean and I loved the eco touch of letting you know how to save water and not having your sheets changed if you didn't feel the need. We didn't feel pressured into doing any of the above, just informed of how the hotel was trying to be green.
The bed was so comfy and we both had really good nights sleeps.
Breakfast in the morning was really good also. As it was my birthday we treated ourselves to room service. It was fast efficient and the food was really good.
The only slight down side of our whole stay was the fact that sometimes we were in the room and housekeeping kept trying to come in to clean the room. Oblviously this is a good thing, but at one point I was getting dress when one housekeeping lady knocked the door and proceeded to enter before I could make myself decent. She did apologise but it made me a little uneasy about who would walk in if I was maybe in the shower and hadn't heard the door.
Needless to say this didn't spoil our trip and I would definitely stay at this beautiful hotel again in a heartbeat and I was very sad to have to leave.
The hotel is in a beautiful part of Paris with lots and lots of lovely cafes and restaurants very near by.
Thank you everyone for making our stay so lovely :-)

Room Tip: Just be careful no-one walks in when you are getting dressed or....anything else ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaandT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelAmiHotel, Directeur général at Bel Ami Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for writting such a positive review.
Your enthusiasm for our hotel and also for our employees is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation for them.
I have read very carrefully your comment concerning the chambermaid, please accept the housekkeping apologizes.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.
Sincerely.
Laurence Guinebretière.
General manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

this Hotel is located in one of the best spot of St Germain! perfect for couples or few days business stay.
Rooms are very nice, the only weird thing is how the split the rooms right in the middle of the big windows.besides that it's lovely place to be.
breakfast room it's bit dead, but nice little drink bar!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svet_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelAmiHotel, Directeur général at Bel Ami Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our proprety and the location of Saint Germain des Près.
Sincerely.
Laurence Guinebretière
General manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Bel-Ami is the perfect hotel for to be near so many great restaurants and spots to visits! The staff is extremely friendly, nice, and helpful! The rooms are clean and surprisingly spacious for a boutique hotel in Paris. The included breakfast was really great too. Charlotte at the front desk greeted and showed my entire group all around the hotel, she couldn't have been more helpful!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candacebryson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelAmiHotel, Directeur général at Bel Ami Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for this kind review that perfectly reflects the level of service that we want to offer to each of guests.We will make sure to share your positive feedback with all the team and especially with Charlotte from the Front Desk.

Sincerely.
Laurence guinebretière.
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had a great 5 days in Paris staying at this well positioned hotel should you wish to stay in the 6th Arr. The property itself is not exceptional. The rooms lack adequate cupboard space and the bathroom is 'squeezy' but the beds are comfortable,clean and otherwise the rooms are ok.
HOWEVER the Concierge Team are exceptional and definately enough of a reason to return.
Nothing was to difficult for them and all was accomplished with a smile and with aplomb.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goofball59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelAmiHotel, Directeur général at Bel Ami Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear guest,

We apprecicate you taking the time to share your experience with us.
Thank you for your kind comment on our concierge team.
Sincerely.
Laurence Guinebretière.
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at the Bel Ami 2 years ago and had a wonderful stay. The location is absolutely perfect and though it is not a 5star luxury property, it was a lovely hotel with an extremely helpful concierge. The neighborhood is fun and lively, and close enough to the river that you can still walk to the right bank in under 20 minutes. Check out Brasserie Lipp across Blvd St Germain for a great, loud and busy Brasserie with delicous Cote de Beouf!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelAmiHotel, Directeur général at Bel Ami Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,We would like to thank you for choosing our propety for second stay in Saint Germain des Près . All the Bel Ami team hope to welcome you again.
Sincerely.
Laurence Guinebretière
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Pont Royal
Hotel Pont Royal
#157 of 1,800 in Paris
892 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Montalembert
Hotel Montalembert
#99 of 1,800 in Paris
641 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
La Villa Saint-Germain
La Villa Saint-Germain
#79 of 1,800 in Paris
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Artus Hotel by MH
Artus Hotel by MH
#91 of 1,800 in Paris
931 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel De Buci by MH
Hotel De Buci by MH
#80 of 1,800 in Paris
752 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Madison Hotel by MH
Madison Hotel by MH
#154 of 1,800 in Paris
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bel Ami Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Ami Hotel

Property: Bel Ami Hotel
Address: 7 rue Saint Benoit | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Spa Hotel in Paris
#69 Family Hotel in Paris
#127 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#195 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#215 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bel Ami Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bel-Ami, member of Design Hotels, ideally located between the Café de Flore and Deux Magots. Its heart beats in rhythm with Saint Germain des Prés. Rooms and Suites casual chic, Spa Esthederm and trendy bar. You will recognize the spirit of a large parisian apartment that belong to a design and art lover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Bel Ami Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Ami Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing