We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in a great location”
Review of Bel Ami Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bel Ami Hotel
Ranked #182 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at the Bel Ami. It's in a great location on the 6th arrondissement. The hotel has a nice contemporary feel. Room & bathroom are very small, but not surprising for a city hotel. Staff are very friendly & breakfast is great. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momamea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelAmiHotel, Directeur général at Bel Ami Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Momamea,

Thank you for yours comments posed on Tripadvisor.
We regret that you found our room and bathroom small, who is the spirit fo Saint- Germain-des-Près, with the middle age houses and small streets.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Sincerely.
Laurence Guinebretière.
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    645
    303
    81
    27
    21
See reviews for
174
470
39
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We had an amazing experience at the Bel-Ami. Named in honor of the Guy de Maupassant novel, the hotel is located in the building that once housed the printing house which printed the book but the decor is modern and the attention to detail and design is impressive. For example, the bathroom included four tubes of amenities (shower gel, shampoo, conditioner, and moisturizing lotion) - in itself not surprising for an upscale hotel - but the four tubes are set out in order so that the initials on the fronts spell out Bel Ami. Who thinks of details like this??? The service was outstanding. Staff members were fluent in multiple languages. Breakfast (complete with a range of items to appeal to the tastes and cultural preferences of the multinational guests) was delicious. The concierge staff was extremely helpful and knowledgeable. The location can't be beat...a short walk to two different metro lines and only a few blocks to the Seine, with a number of lovely, local traditional restaurants (and the hotel has dinner service, too) on the same street and around the corner in either direction. Free wifi was a bonus and rooms have iPod docking stations (but only for the older plug - if you have an iPhone 5 you'll need to bring a lightning adapter with you). This is not a cheap hotel. But if you have the money to spend, it's worth every cent (or centime!). We all had a great time and would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: We traveled as a family of four with our two teenage boys. We were in two adjoining (but not connec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelAmiHotel, Directeur général at Bel Ami Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Def F

Thank you for being such a wonderful ambassordor with your generous comments on Tripadvisor.
It is so nice when our guests note that the Bel Ami was a printing factory who was printed the book Le Bel Ami from Guy de Maupassant.
It is also that it is all in details like the bathrooms aminities, so we're so pleased that you had a special guest experience.
We look forward to having you with us again in the near furture.
Sincerely.
Laurence Guinebretière.
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We recently returned from a one week stay in Paris at the Bel Ami Hotel. The hotel's location in the Saint Germain area of the Left Bank was super. We walked everywhere, although there was a Metro stop right around the corner from the hotel. Our room was quite lovely and quiet, the bed incredibly comfortable, and housekeeping kept the room very clean. When I reserved the room, I mentioned that we were celebrating a special anniversary. The hotel staff were attentive to this. We found the staff very accommodating, friendly and helpful. It was truly a special stay!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilenek14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelAmiHotel, Directeur général at Bel Ami Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Ilenek14
Thank you for this kind review that perfectly reflects the level of service that we want to offer to each of guests.
I hope to have the pleasure to celebrate again special occasion with you at the Bel Ami.
Sincerely.
Laurence Guinebretière.
General manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The hotel is very well located and the rooms are fair. The staff, most of the times, were very friendly. There weas only one issue during our stay. More than a couple of times the elevators were off and we had to use the stairs.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mwaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelAmiHotel, Directeur général at Bel Ami Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Mwaga,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us.
We are so sorry that during your stay we had a maintenance duty on our lift.
We hope to welcome you back during your next stay in Paris.
Sincerely.
Laurence Guinebretière.
General manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed at the Bel Ami hotel for two nights in August 2014.
We were greeted by friendly (and English speaking) staff upon arrival.This is a noticeable feature of the hotel, friendly and polite staff throughout.
We were a little disappointed with our room on the 4th floor, although comfortable it was nonetheless very small and basic for a 5* hotel. (incidentally the 4th floor is traditionally the smallest in Paris hotels so we were just unlucky).

That said, everything else about the hotel is wonderful.
The breakfast buffet provides a wide choice- fresh pastries, cheeses, eggs etc.
The hotel bar also offers a great selection of cocktails, to be enjoyed in modern, comfortable and bright surroundings.
Its location around 3 minutes from the left bank of the Seine makes it easy to get around for sightseeing. We would definitely stay here again, merci beaucoup!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philius1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelAmiHotel, Directeur général at Bel Ami Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Philius1

Thank you so much for having taken time to write this favorable review on the Bel ami.
We are very sorry that you didn't enjoyed the room on the 4 floor with the romantic view of roofs of Paris.
We wish to welcome you back at the Bel Ami.
Sincerely.
Laurence Guinebretière.
General manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile


My wife and I just completed a one week holiday in Paris staying at the Bel Ami Hotel in the middle of Saint Germain. This Hotel has everything one needs for an exceptional travel experience. First, it is centrally located in an area filled with wonderful restaurants and sidewalk cafes. The Bel Ami is within easy walking distance to Louvre, The Musee de Orsey, Pantheon, and the Luxenberg Gardens.

The Hotel lobby is artistically decorated in bright colors and clean lines in a modern Art Deco style. The restaurant where they served us a full breakfast daily (included) was decorated with an ultra modern deco complete with plasma screens playing videos on the ceilings.

Our room was beautifully appointed and quite a good size by Paris standards. The shower/bath area completely separate from the toilet allowing for maximum efficiency for two people.

But the truly wonderful staff are the shinning stars of this attraction. From the front desk personnel who greeted us with a "bon jour!" each day, to the maids that were in place at least twice a day cleaning and providing our turn down service, the people that work at this hotel completely know their business.

A particular mention goes out to the Bar staff who provided us with interesting cocktails each evening (these folks are serious and artistic mixologists..not your average bartenders). Thanks to Sebastian, Daniel, and Peric (sorry if I misspelled your names).

And lastly, a great thanks to a remarkable group of concierges who were absolutely exceptional, recommending and reserving everything from the best dining experiences to train tickets and schedules. A special thanks to Jean-Emmanuel who got us one of the toughest tables to reserve in Paris for a special occasion dinner as well as providing us tickets to enter Claude Monet's house and gardens in Giverny.

Thanks to all of you at Bel Ami for making this one spectacular holiday in Paris!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jerkstore1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelAmiHotel, Directeur général at Bel Ami Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Jerkstore,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at the Bel Ami.
Thank you for your kind comment on our staff that perfectly reflects the level of service that we want to offer to each of guests.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back very soon.
Sincerely.
Laruence Guinebretière
General manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel was a true designer gem in the center of Saint-Germain. The beds are soft and comfortable with clean bathrooms which have their own signature toiletries! The breakfast area is a modern museum with contemporary decor and quirky finishes. The bar offers the most delicious food and comfortable loungers to rest on, after a long day on your feet - in central Paris!

Room Tip: Ask for the newly renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candice-Reney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelAmiHotel, Administrative Assistant at Bel Ami Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Candice R,

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our property and its location.
Be sure that we will share your kinds words with all of the team, we are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,
Marion Richard
Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
La Villa Saint-Germain
La Villa Saint-Germain
#67 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Pont Royal
Hotel Pont Royal
#151 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Artus Hotel by MH
Artus Hotel by MH
#98 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel De Buci by MH
Hotel De Buci by MH
#72 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Montalembert
Hotel Montalembert
#252 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Madison Hotel by MH
Madison Hotel by MH
#152 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bel Ami Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Ami Hotel

Property: Bel Ami Hotel
Address: 7 rue Saint Benoit | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Spa Hotel in Paris
#69 Family Hotel in Paris
#130 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#195 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#215 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bel Ami Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bel-Ami, member of Design Hotels, ideally located between the Café de Flore and Deux Magots. Its heart beats in rhythm with Saint Germain des Prés. Rooms and Suites casual chic, Spa Esthederm and trendy bar. You will recognize the spirit of a large parisian apartment that belong to a design and art lover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bel Ami Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Ami Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing