We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem of a Hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Brescia Opera
Ranked #1,486 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed in Hotel Brescia for about four days, and it was wonderful. Let me break it down for you:

The Good:
1. The hotel location is good, in my opinion. It's in a quiet area and a few blocks from the Europe Metro station. For travellers who don't want to avail of the hotel laundry service, there's a coin-operated laundromat at the next street. There are also a handful of restaurants in the area to choose from.
2. The man at the reception is incredibly nice and very helpful. He made us feel very welcome and made our check-in quite a breeze.
3. The room is small and simple, but very elegant. From the wallpaper to the carpet to the bed - everything fits into the whole aura the room projects, and it feels cozy, in my opinion.
4. FREE WIFI. And it's a relatively fast. Coming from Italy, where all our hotels charge for internet access, you don't know how much of a relief hearing this news for gadget freaks like us.
5. The only hotel in our trip that gave us a total of five pillows! Wow!

The Not So Good:
1. Aircon is a bit weak. It was September when we stayed there and the weather was quite cool, so opening the windows is a better idea.
2. Breakfast selection is very limited - bread, cereal, jams, butter, cheese, coffee and juice. Likewise, the breakfast area is limited, too.
3. Lift is small. Capacity is very limited.
4. The English channel selection is limited only to BBC and CNN
5. Rooms faintly smells of cigarette smoke.
6. The maids don't seem friendly. Actually it seems they're not happy with their work. Too bad.

Room Tip: Get a hotel with a terrace. The view of the street is nice. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jovanpuyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2012

I would have given them 5, except that the location was was too far, at least for me. I like hotels that are near hop-on-hop-off stops, but this one was very far from the Paris stops.

The room was okay, it was good enough for us. The bathroom was alright too. The pillows could be better, they were too thin. We requested for different pillows but they couldn't provide them, unfortunately. It was the only hotel during our whole trip that didn't offer meats or cold cuts during breakfast - we only had breads, cereals, fruits.

Internet connection was free, and it was pretty fast.

Service was great. Receptionist was very helpful and was such a delight when we arrived. They have their own hotel map which already includes the location of the hotel, plus the address printed on the side.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

This was my first time in Paris, and that too with my family including a young kid! So I wanted a place which would be in the heart of Paris, and in a safe locality. And Hotel Brescia was just that. Rooms were comfortable, although the extra bed that we asked for was not as comfortable as the twin beds! Clean and spacious toilet; no balcony in our room, but spacious windows, and we could also look out for a wonderful view. Europe is going through a heat wave, but there is an inbuilt AC system, so no problem at all. Breakfast was sumptuous, but not enough spread, only buns, milk, cornflakes and tea/coffee, and various forms of cheese and butter! Very sweet lady at the desk, and also the attendants at the dining hall as well. Location is very good, 2 minutes walk from Place'de Europe, a metro station, and 5 mins from Gare St Lazarre, another major station. all major landmarks are walking distance...somewhat from 15-25 minutes. Eiffel may be a longer walk...somthing like 40 minutes! Overall, very happy and comfortable stay!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saurajit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We ended up here late at night after another hotel gave our room away. The man at the front desk put us in a very nice room on the top floor. He was very cool and did not try to take advantage of us, like some other hotels had tried, comfort inn 200euro, around the corner! The hotel was a little old and dated. Our room had a balcony and was comfortable and clean. The lady at the front desk on ck out was way cool. We talked about world travel. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WRLDtrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Our balcony cabins on cruises are larger. No towel racks for used items.Small stool to put your things on. The closet has room for 4 hanging items.Sheets and soap changed every day.Rooms are clean. Breakfast room very nice. Coffee and crossants are good. Bed and pillows are ok.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Racing2dayBedfordTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

I visited the Hotel Brescia in spring 2012. The room was decent, complete with a small flatscreen television and a very clean and modern bathroom. The place isn't without its faults (old and cramped lift, night staff slow to react when I called reception to say that other guests were have a loud and lengthy domestic dispute in the corridor!), but in general I was very impressed. There is a nice little courtyard, the breakfast room is very pleasant and the location- although not glamourous- is relatively calm and pleasant (Europe metro stop not far away either). The best element of the experience was, however, the staff. Both at the front desk and in the breakfast room, they were friendly and helpful. I stayed at the Brescia both at the beginning and the end of my French trip and it was a pleasure to get back to this hotel after a week travelling around the country!

Room Tip: Try to get one facing onto the mini-courtyard, as this will be calmer than those facing out on to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anonymous486_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We came with minimal expectations, and the service at front desk was a wonderful surprise. The staff is very nice and the checkin process was fast. On the positive side: the hotel and rooms are very clean and the hotel is in a great area and very close to 3 metro stations. On the negative side: the room is very very small - barely enough space for the luggage, the walls are so thin, you can hear everything that happens around you. The water pressure was awful and the AC didnt work.
Overall, great location, but, I will not come again.

2  Thank Shy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Hotel Duo
Hotel Duo
#448 of 1,809 in Paris
748 reviews
Hotel Eiffel Seine
#358 of 1,809 in Paris
2,277 reviews
Gobelins
La Manufacture
La Manufacture
#266 of 1,809 in Paris
1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Darcet
Hotel Darcet
#96 of 1,809 in Paris
728 reviews
Opéra / Bourse
Hotel Malte - Astotel
Hotel Malte - Astotel
#22 of 1,809 in Paris
572 reviews
Grand Hotel Francais
#104 of 1,809 in Paris
2,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brescia Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brescia Opera

Address: 16 rue d Edimbourg | 08 Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,486 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £112 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Exclusive Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing