We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel stay but not without some disappointments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France
Ranked #164 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2014

One of the best locations in arrondissement 2; close for a walk to basically all sights. The staff is nice and polite. The rooms are fairly big for Paris, clean and tasteful classic furniture with comfortable beds. The breakfast you may find cheaper outside the hotel. We loved our 4 day stay until leaving.
Don't book a taxi from the hotel-there are nearby taxis-because you risk hotel and taxi to charge 15€ advance fee to the desk staff and then once again to taxidriver. We then read afterwards that we were not the only ones. Instead of 60€ you will be charged 75€ for Charles de Gaulle airport. There is no willingness from Hotel to settle this afterwards despite two receipts. Another disappointment was that the glasses were forgotten in the bedroom whereupon we were asked 'what is the most you are willing to pay' for the hotel to send it to your local address. Unless you offer really high amounts beyound the cost for parcel they wouldn't do anything about it-not even letting through to hotel manager.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to south with balcony-you won't regret it. In case PSG will win the L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brightonhotel, Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us here at the Brighton hotel.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

John Rodrigues

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,791)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

842 - 848 of 1,791 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Great hotel in rue de rivoli , door to door to the famous Angeline cafe. The staff is polited and do their best , mainly the Brazilian guy and the front desk sir at evening ! I do recommend ! Be lucky to receive a big room, and you will feel great !

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuMatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brightonhotel, Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us here at the Brighton hotel.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

John Rodrigues

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

First stayed her in the early 80s and could not believe the great view from our balcony. Notre Dame, the Louvre, Musee d'Orsay, Napoleon's tomb, the Tour Eiffel and the Arc de Triomphe are all visable. Wonderful hotel if you enjoy walking because you are in the center of everything. Have been here many times in recent years and always had a memorable stay. Going back again in a few weeks,

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Douglas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brightonhotel, Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us here at the Brighton hotel.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

John Rodrigues

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the location. If you are not bothered about this then go somewhere cheaper. However we wanted to go to the louvre and it would be harder to get better for the price. We had a couple of minor problems with out standard room and got upgraded to a room on the top floor. Fantastic views. Even though we were out most of the time it was fantastic coming back to the amazing views of the Paris skyline, gardens and Eiffel Tower.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view or go somewhere cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brightonhotel, Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us here at the Brighton hotel.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

John Rodrigues

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Fantastic Hotel in the best possible location. Great big rooms with amazing views and wonderful staff. The children loved Paris and when I called ahead of our trip they arranged for a surprise and nice birthday message for our sons birthday.
The bathrooms are huge and separate toilet which is very handy when you have children.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackiejames66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brightonhotel, Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us here at the Brighton hotel.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

John Rodrigues

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Brighton is a fantastic hotel. its terrific value for money, great service, and all at half the price of the adjacent Le Meurice, one of Paris most beautiful but expensive hotels. We stayed over Xmas, and the whole experience was delightful. Good sized room, very large bathroom, lovely views over the Tuileries, Louvre and Eiffel Tower. Breakfast each morning was wonderful. Great selection, and prompt service for your all important coffee order. Staff were great, our favourite was Kevin who always had a great smile and attitude. Concierge staff were very helpfu tool.For a daytime coffee fix, try Rivoli cafe nearby. And for dinner L'Ardoise behind the Westin. Both concierge recommendations. Dont hesitate in booking this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DanuP2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brightonhotel, Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us here at the Brighton hotel.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

John Rodrigues

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Hotel Brighton is a great hotel if you want a central location. The hotel is near the Louvre, Musee D'Orsay and other attractions. I highly recommend getting an executive room with the breakfast option. The room was large enough for 3 people, had views of the Eiffel Tower and breakfast was excellent. Staff was great. This will be my hotel next time I go to Paris.

Room Tip: Executive room, second floor or above. Great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveler8188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brightonhotel, Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us here at the Brighton hotel.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

John Rodrigues

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#87 of 1,803 in Paris
1,101 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
The Westin Paris - Vendome
The Westin Paris - Vendome
#483 of 1,803 in Paris
3,693 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel La Tamise - Esprit de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Louvre / Palais-Royal
La Clef Louvre
La Clef Louvre
#19 of 1,803 in Paris
642 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Emeraude Louvre Montana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France

Address: 218 rue de Rivoli | 01 Arr., 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in Paris
#58 Business Hotel in Paris
#95 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#119 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £169 - £369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Brighton is one of the most romantic hotels in the heart of Paris. Built in 1830 by Lord Egerton, the Brighton ranks among the oldest hotels in Paris. Entirely renovated, this charming hotel is located on the Rue de Rivoli, facing the Tuileries Garden, and only one step from the Louvre and Orsay Museums, the Opera House, the Concorde and Madeleine Places and the river Seine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Brighton Paris
Brighton Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing