We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I want to go back - now!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France
Ranked #147 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My wife and I have just returned from three wonderful nights at the Brighton. We originally booked one of the cheaper courtyard facing rooms, but when I rang telling them we were celebrating out fifth anniversary and arranged for Roses and a bottle of Pineau des Charentes to be in the room, they gave us a free upgrade to a top-floor room looking out across the Jardins de Tuileries to the Musée d'Orsay and the Louvre. Not only that, but they gave us a complementary half bottle of bubby and a fruit basket too. Now that's what I call service.

Our room was small, but had an extremely comfortable double bed and a good size shower room, although the shower was a little temperamental. There was a balcony (of sorts). A sloping part of the leaded roof with a railing which allowed you to see round to the Eiffel tower - a spectacular sight at night.

We had intended to go out for our breakfasts, but when we failed to find anywhere suitable, we decided to have the Brighton breakfast. This was a really good idea because they serve a superb spread of cheeses, meats, fruit, breads, croissants and pastries plus eggs, sausages and bacon etc. Nineteen Euros per person may seem quite expensive for breakfast, but the local cafes were charging fifteen for a coffee, a glass of juice and a croissant. Eating at the hotel meant that we could fill up and didn't really need lunch.

Remember to take a shoe cleaning kit with you because there isn't anything in the room and the Tuilerie gardens are very dusty. The hotel bar is closed in the evening, so if you want a nice cup of coffee before bed, you have to go out. We think there should be a Nespresso machine in the bar area and they could sell the coffee pods at reception.

We thoroughly recommend this excellent hotel which is ideally situated, has clean comfortable rooms, superb breakfast and is staffed by friendly and helpful staff. We have said that when we go back to Paris, we will definitely be going back to the Brighton.

p.s. We met a Californian woman at breakfast who was on her seventh visit to the same Hotel, which proves our point.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alcombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frédéric C, Directeur at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We are so pleased you had this strong feeling of being welcome and spoiled when you arrived and during your stay.

We thank you very much for the pieces of advice, it helps us to be aware of the services we could add to enhance our clients comfort.

We really look forward to welcoming soon again !

With our warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,889)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

885 - 891 of 1,889 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed at Hotel Brighton for 3 nights in December and couldn't have asked for more. Excellent location right across from a metro stop so handy for getting to all the sights - but within walking distance to the Tuileries Gardens, The Louvre, Notre Dame, Place de la Concorde, Champs Elysees and Arc de Triomphe. The Rue Di Rivoli is a gorgeous street with lots of shops, restaurants and cafes. The rooms were large for a city centre hotel and very nicely decorated. The free wifi was also a nice touch. Staff were very friendly and helpful. If I return to Paris I would have no doubts about staying at this hotel again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brightonhotel, Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us here at the Brighton hotel.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

John Rodrigues

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The location is excellent, close to everything and metro station. Room was spacious. Cleaning of the room was average.Wifi internet was almost excellent and available for multiple devices.Check in and check out was a bit slow.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akseniya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brightonhotel, Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us here at the Brighton hotel.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

John Rodrigues

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Having decided to spend a long 4 days week end in Paris before Easter, after an accurate search on trip Advisor I booked at the Brighton.

The location is the best you can have: just in front of the Tuileries gardens, you can easy walk to places like Louvre, Place Vendome, Rue and Faubourg St Honoré, the Opera, the Madeleine and many others. And with a little longer 20 minutes walk, you can cross the Tuileries Gardens and the Senna river and reach the beautiful streets of the "Rive Gauche", full of hundreds and hundreds of lovely shops and art and decorating galleries, till getting to St. Germain de Pres area with the legendary "Deux Magots" Café/Brasserie.
Even more, cross the street where is the Brighton, and you have "Tuileries" station of the Metro, the best transportation system in Paris, very fast and convenient, that takes you everywhere!

But now let's talk about the Hotel Brighton itself, besides its fantastic location.

At our arrival, and during all the period, the various concierges were so kind and helpful. But a special mention is for Mr. Mohamed, the classy concierge of the kind you can see more in the old movies than in 5 stars hotel nowadays. Thank you for all, Mohamed!

The building is beautiful, ancient and fully renewed few years ago. The hall is so elegant, with many and very comfortable armchairs (and also a nice area with a Mac and Internet): everything is blue, in various shades, with white columns. there is also a bar area very modern and cozy.

The room we had (#502, of the most convenient category) was large, lovely, very well furnished and decorated (very elegant!), comfortable and romantic: at the top floor, with two very Parisienne garret windows.
The room keepers cleaned the room very accurately and also prepared the bed for the night with nightgown and pajama. Perfect service. The bathroom (shower only) was very comfortable.

The breakfast (imperial...) is served in a elegant hall (again, blue and columns), and is so diversified and rich that we never had a lunch.

I have been in Paris so many times for more than 40 years and experienced many hotels, even more expensive. Next time, I'll go back to the Brighton. That's for shure.

Room Tip: If you want to have an extraordinary view from your room, book a room looking at the Tuileries Garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MadrasGiaguari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brightonhotel, Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us here at the Brighton hotel.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

John Rodrigues

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We just returned from a five night stay. The entire staff is lovely and we commend Alonso and Mohamed; both special people. You cannot beat the location. The pricing is fair for its location in Paris and the breakfasts are of good quality and selection.

One problem that the hotel has no control over is the huge amount of exhaust and diesel particles that are generated on the Rue de Rivoli, one of the busiest streets in Paris. If you want to have your window open for some fresh air, I suggest that you take an inner facing courtyard room and do not take an outside facing room, especially one facing the Rue de Rivoli. If auto exhaust and diesel soot are of no concern to you, then go for a view room.

Again, the huge flow of traffic and the resulting exhaust and diesel soot are not the fault of the hotel. Terrible air is part of the Paris scene and both of us wear carbon filter masks while waking on the streets of Paris and other high traffic cities.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rheine35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brightonhotel, Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us here at the Brighton hotel.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

John Rodrigues

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed here for one last night in Paris on the way home from Burgundy. We were "upgraded" to a room with a view of the park and Louvre museum (from a courtyard view room). Without the view, I think the experience of staying here could be very depressing.

Pros:
- the view from the room was spectacular, and the double-paned windows ensured that the room was very quiet when the windows were closed
- room was very large for a room in Paris, as was the bathroom
- the safe could fit my MacBook Air
- free Wifi
- the room was very clean (but in need of a more substantial facelift, especially the carpet)
- staff was courteous and stored our luggage

The hotel is really not in the best shape, especially the common areas. It could really use a paint job, and the bannisters are all chipped and worn down. You do not get the impression that the hotel has been kept up in good repair. It is not a "modern" hotel and the pictures on the website are not what we saw.

A note about the location -- yes, the view is impressive, and very "Paris", and you are very close to a lot of the major sights. However, the area around the hotel is very shopping-oriented and not lively at night, or on Saturday morning (or really, any other time). It may be a good place to stay for a first-time, whirlwind visit of Paris, but if you are looking for bustling street life and French character, boulangeries and cheese shops, a real neighborhood, etc. you would do better to stay in the Marais or Saint Michel area.

Room Tip: A room facing Rue Rivoli
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yaneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brightonhotel, Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2016

Dear Yaneh,

Thank you for taking the time to write your opinion on tripadvisor. First of all I am sorry to hear that you have not experience our usual standard of service.

I do personally hope that you will change your mind and give us another chance to rectify the issues you have had during your latest visit to Paris. I look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
Brighton Hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We really enjoyed our week stay at Hotel Brighton. The staff was very helpful, even calling our lunch place back when we forgot our wine in the restaurant that we had purchased that day, we got the bottles of wine returned. We had a beautiful room overlooking the park and Eiffel Tower, great sunsets! We would stay here again. Wonderful location to all of Paris. They also arranged our airport pick up and a driver for Versailles.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dortch61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frédéric C, Directeur at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Good Afternoon,

We are sincerely grateful that you enjoyed your stay in Paris and especially our hotel and the services it offers.
Actually, we arrange transfers from/to the airport and a large variety of tours inside and around Paris like Versailles, Normandy, Burgundy, Rheims...

Concerning the view from your room, the picture you posted of the Eiffel Tower at Sunset is beautiful!!

We look forward to welcome you soon again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Regina Louvre
Hotel Regina Louvre
#90 of 1,809 in Paris
1,152 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel La Tamise - Esprit de France
Louvre / Palais-Royal
The Westin Paris - Vendome
The Westin Paris - Vendome
#488 of 1,809 in Paris
3,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel d'Orsay - Esprit de France
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
#214 of 1,809 in Paris
818 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
La Clef Louvre
La Clef Louvre
#22 of 1,809 in Paris
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France

Address: 218 rue de Rivoli | 01 Arr., 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#57 Business Hotel in Paris
#95 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#108 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £162 - £422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Brighton is one of the most romantic hotels in the heart of Paris. Built in 1830 by Lord Egerton, the Brighton ranks among the oldest hotels in Paris. Entirely renovated, this charming hotel is located on the Rue de Rivoli, facing the Tuileries Garden, and only one step from the Louvre and Orsay Museums, the Opera House, the Concorde and Madeleine Places and the river Seine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Brighton Paris
Brighton Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing