We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome, fantastic location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France
Ranked #176 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
wv
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Warm welcome, fantastic location!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We really enjoyed staying at the Hotel Brighton. It is two blocks from the Tuileries metro stop, next to the Welcome Cafe with great caffe creme and omelets, near lovely shopping, across from Tuileries, with a view of the Eiffel Tower. The staff was genuinely nice and helpful. The bathrooms were lovely with a bathtub and shower. I will be back!

Room Tip: If you request a room in front ahead of time, you may have a view of the Eiffel tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gioia26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brightonhotel, Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this review, 13 May 2015
Dear Guest,

What a rewarding review! Thank you so very much for your kind words.

We are delighted to hear that you have spent a memorable time with us.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

With our warmest Regards,

Frederic Chauvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    992
    502
    121
    36
    19
See reviews for
438
787
79
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Out the front door into the heart of all the "must see's" in Paris: Louvre, Tuileries Gardens, Orsay, L'Orangerie museums. Metro one block away. For a first time visit, just a great find.. Make sure to reserve the city facing rooms, overlooking the Tuileries across the street, the Seine, Eiffel Tower. Staff all very helpful and friendly. Hotel has it's quirks, as do all older hotels in Europe, but none that interfere with what it offers overall. Skip the hotel breakfast...venture out. There are no "bargains" for good hotels in Paris, so be prepared to mine deep in your hotel budget, but worth it.

Room Tip: Restaurant rated poor just because: It's Paris!! There's do excusing US traveling business q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tecrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brightonhotel, General Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this review, 11 June 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for your kind words.

We are delighted to hear that you have spent a memorable time with us.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

With our warmest Regards,

Frederic Chauvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We have just stayed the weekend in this hotel. The location was brilliant. Close to the Louvre, Musee Dorsay and a metro stop just across the road.

The room was spacious and the bed very comfortable.

The staff were incredibly freindly and helpful - one went out in the pouring rain to flag down a taxi for us.

If you are looking for a comfortable hotel in a central tourist location, this is perfect.

We will definately be returning to Paris and this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brightonhotel, General Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this review, 11 June 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for your kind words.

We are delighted to hear that you have spent a memorable time with us.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

With our warmest Regards,

Frederic Chauvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Hotel Brighton for our wedding anniversary. We could not fault the hotel and found all the staff to be very polite and helpful, they spoke very good English as our French is very limited. The hotel is in a really good location for a stroll to Notre Dame, The Louvre, or to sit in the lovely Tuileries gardens opposite. The area feels a lot safer than other districts we have stayed in, and there are plenty of good restaurants nearby (also a MacDonalds and a Starbucks)
We had a room on the fifth floor facing the gardens, it was great to watch the Eiffel Tower lit up at night. Our room had tea and coffee making facilities, air con that you could control and a bottle of water that was replenished every day. We had breakfast inclusive with our price and we were pleased we did, it is served from 7-11 and there was a good selection of cheese, ham, pastries etc plus some scrambled egg and sausages, fruit and cereals. Don't be put off by the tiny lift there is two and the larger one is just a bit further past reception.
We took the Rossy bus from the airport CDG it took 50 minutes and goes direct from the airport to Opera (with no stops) which was then only a 10 minute walk to the hotel and costs 10.5 euro one way. The metro station Tuileries is opposite the hotel and a very easy way to explore Paris.
We would certainly stay again when next in Paris.

Room Tip: Have a room with a view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CherrylNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brightonhotel, Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this review, 24 October 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us here at the Brighton hotel.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

John Rodrigues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orleans, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed at the Brighton for six rainy days in April.The hotel is centrally located on the Rue de Rivoli with wonderful access to all of Paris. But things in the hotel itself were surprisingly uneven. A pleasant entrance lobby led to a shabby corridor leading to the world's smallest elevator. On registration we were told that we had been upgraded to a suite, but that turned out to be a peculiar foyer-bedroom-corridor arrangement with a view of a gloomy air-shaft. (The more expensive rooms have magnificent views of the Tuilerie Gardens and the Paris skyline beyond.) The door of our antique shower enclosure repeatedly fell off. The hotel breakfast buffet was minimal (mediocre croissants...in Paris!) and cruelly overpriced at 19 euros. Hotel service ranged from excellent to miserable however our room was immaculately clean. The entire hotel would come to a standstill without the delightful jack-of-all-trades doorman-plumber-food deliverer Anselmo. The reception desk sparkled when Melisande was there but bristled with concierge hostility at several other times. When we asked for assistance with airline reservations, the evening concierge simply refused to help... All in all, we will stay elsewhere on our next visit to Paris.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. If the price is exhorbitant go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 415SamOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brightonhotel, Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this review, 18 October 2016
Dear 415SamOK,

Thank you for taking the time to write your opinion on tripadvisor. First of all I am sorry to hear that you have not experience our usual standard of service.

I do personally hope that you will change your mind and give us another chance to rectify the issues you have had during your latest visit to Paris. I look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
Brighton Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed at the Brighton for four nights and booked a standard double room. Although it was pricey it is well worth the money for its outstanding location, comfortable rooms, well sized bathrooms and elegant rooms. Although ther eis a considerable difference in views from one category of room to the other - as other commentators have noted - ours, being a standard, was very luminous and had a charming pettite balcony from which you could get a side view of the Tulleries. The room was beautifully decorated and the bathroom was modern, immaculate and spacious. Reception is somehow small but sober and welcoming. My only regret is that the bar is not open till midnight which could offer a welcome drink late in the cold Parisian nights. Breakfast was abundant and delicious and served well into 11 am. The neighbourhood is splendid, just a few blocks away from Place Vendome and the headquarters of high couture Paris. A stroll away from the Louvre and Place de la Concorde and very well connected by the metro. My only negative comment would be the taxi/ shuttle service with which the hotel operates since the driver that took us to De Gaulle was quite rude and was very distrustful of us having pre paid the service with our check out bill. But not really anything to worry about. Really hope to return!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mechka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brightonhotel, Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this review, 24 October 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us here at the Brighton hotel.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

John Rodrigues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My wife and I have just returned from three wonderful nights at the Brighton. We originally booked one of the cheaper courtyard facing rooms, but when I rang telling them we were celebrating out fifth anniversary and arranged for Roses and a bottle of Pineau des Charentes to be in the room, they gave us a free upgrade to a top-floor room looking out across the Jardins de Tuileries to the Musée d'Orsay and the Louvre. Not only that, but they gave us a complementary half bottle of bubby and a fruit basket too. Now that's what I call service.

Our room was small, but had an extremely comfortable double bed and a good size shower room, although the shower was a little temperamental. There was a balcony (of sorts). A sloping part of the leaded roof with a railing which allowed you to see round to the Eiffel tower - a spectacular sight at night.

We had intended to go out for our breakfasts, but when we failed to find anywhere suitable, we decided to have the Brighton breakfast. This was a really good idea because they serve a superb spread of cheeses, meats, fruit, breads, croissants and pastries plus eggs, sausages and bacon etc. Nineteen Euros per person may seem quite expensive for breakfast, but the local cafes were charging fifteen for a coffee, a glass of juice and a croissant. Eating at the hotel meant that we could fill up and didn't really need lunch.

Remember to take a shoe cleaning kit with you because there isn't anything in the room and the Tuilerie gardens are very dusty. The hotel bar is closed in the evening, so if you want a nice cup of coffee before bed, you have to go out. We think there should be a Nespresso machine in the bar area and they could sell the coffee pods at reception.

We thoroughly recommend this excellent hotel which is ideally situated, has clean comfortable rooms, superb breakfast and is staffed by friendly and helpful staff. We have said that when we go back to Paris, we will definitely be going back to the Brighton.

p.s. We met a Californian woman at breakfast who was on her seventh visit to the same Hotel, which proves our point.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alcombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frédéric C, Directeur at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We are so pleased you had this strong feeling of being welcome and spoiled when you arrived and during your stay.

We thank you very much for the pieces of advice, it helps us to be aware of the services we could add to enhance our clients comfort.

We really look forward to welcoming soon again !

With our warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
#182 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#99 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel du Continent
Hotel du Continent
#84 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Emeraude Louvre Montana Hotel
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Mayfair Paris
Hotel Mayfair Paris
#447 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel La Tamise - Esprit de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France

Property: Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France
Address: 218 rue de Rivoli | 01 Arr., 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in Paris
#58 Business Hotel in Paris
#95 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#124 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Brighton is one of the most romantic hotels in the heart of Paris. Built in 1830 by Lord Egerton, the Brighton ranks among the oldest hotels in Paris. Entirely renovated, this charming hotel is located on the Rue de Rivoli, facing the Tuileries Garden, and only one step from the Louvre and Orsay Museums, the Opera House, the Concorde and Madeleine Places and the river Seine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Brighton Paris
Brighton Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing