We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France
Ranked #165 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was a fun hotel with a great location and a room with an AMAZING view! Our room was on the top floor and had all the fun little quirks that you expect from a hotel facing the Touileries. The room was comfortable and well decorated -- not large since the top floors of these old buildings were originally designed as the the servants' rooms. Comfortable bed. Nice bathroom. Staff was friendly and helpful. An ideal small hotel with a prime location in Paris. I'll go back again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frédéric C, Le Directeur at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Mrs Terry S,

Thank you very much for recommending the Hôtel Brighton on Tripadvisor.

I'm delighted to learn that you enjoyed the settings and the view from your room, and that our staff proved worthy your expectations.

We look forward to welcome you again soon !

With kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,774)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

787 - 793 of 1,774 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

It had been my dream since high school to one day go to Paris. My husband surprised me with tickets for my birthday, and to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary! I chose the Hotel Brighton for its location and it's reviews--- and I couldn't have chosen better! We had a lovely large room that had a view of the Tuilleries gardens, bracketed by the Eiffel Tower and The Louvre. Every staff person we encountered was warm and friendly, and no one laughed at my high school French! The breakfasts were wonderful--- I had a pain au chocolat every morning--- and the concierge services were flawless. In all, an A+ from us, and we look forward to seeing you again one day!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank caraschotch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frédéric C, Le Directeur at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Caraschotch,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor!

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our location in the very heart of Paris, our breakfast, the cuisine and the efficiency of our staff.

Thank you so much for your kind words and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

With kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

You can not ask for a better location. Getting a room with a view is a must. The view is mind blowing. Spectacular. !!!!!! Paris is very expensive, this hotel has a great value.
Madam Cecile at the front desk was exceptional. I will defiantly go back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor facing the Louvre.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElizabethG5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frédéric C, Le Directeur at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Mrs Elizabeth,

We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated the view from you room.

We would like to thank you for your kind recommendation on the Hôtel Brighton and we are sincerely looking forward to welcoming you soon again !

With our warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Booked a superior room and it was only superior to a basement! The bathroom had a sewer problem,so the room reeked of sewer smell. The safe was not secured to anything so anyone could walk off with it and management did not resolve any of these issues. Told them my disappointment and security concern and was told they would try to help me out. Never got back to me, they acted liked I didn't exist. They were more than happy to take my money,when I checked out I again related my thoughts and barely had an eyebrow raised, we traveled with friends who had the same accommodations and what they received and what I received were totally different.
Room was nothing liked described on line ,located on a very busy street and also dark and noises.
Horrible ,Horrible,Horrible

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frédéric C, Le Directeur at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Mrs Sue M.,

I am very concerned by the negative experience you mentioned.

Your feedback is extremely important to us, as our goal is that all our clients have a pleasant stay and want to come back in our Hotel.

Concerning the lapses you encountered, please be assured that this certainly does not reflect the behavior in which we pride ourselves in our Hotel and I do hope that you will accept my apologies.
According to security, the safe-box are not fixed to the wall, they work with a code you choose. You are able to leave your proporties at the Reception desk any time.

Furthermore I am sorry to learn that the situation was not to your convenience, despite it’s in front of the Tuileries garden.

We do hope that you will accept our sincere excuses, and that you will come again in the future.
We would love to have the opportunity to show you other rooms of the Hôtel Brighton.

With best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This was our first trip to Paris, so we can't really compare the Hotel Brighton to any other Paris hotel, but we were mostly very happy with it. We had a Classic (standard) room, which was a bit on the small side, with a "Courtyard" view (just walls really), but that was fine as we didn't spend much time in the room anyway. Obviously if you can afford a superior room with a view, then go for it, it must be amazing. The room facilities were excellent, with free wi-fi, free safe, a kettle with coffee and tea, bathrobe and slippers, and a nice bathroom with good quality toiletries.

The only negative for us was the service at breakfast, which was a shambles. Our deal included breakfast, but if yours doesn't, we would probably advise eating elsewhere. We may have been unlucky, but we had to wait for quite a long time for various things to be replenished. On our first morning, there were no glasses for the fruit juice, and no plates to put the breakfast on. The scrambled egg serving dish just contained a bit of congealed egg stuck to the bottom, and was only replenished after about 10 minutes (the fresh egg just piled on top of the old). The following morning, we had to wait for fruit juice and bread for the toaster. I checked that there was some egg in the serving dish before I toasted my bread, but in the meantime the waiter who was obviously making up trays for room service breakfasts came along and completely emptied it! Unbelievable! On the third morning, the scrambled egg looked decidedly grey, so we just had toast. Such a shame, but we thought the organisation of the breakfast room really let the hotel down.

We thought that Paris was absolutely beautiful and had an amazing time. The hotel is in a brilliant location and we were able to walk to most places. We used the Metro a few times, which was so easy to use and inexpensive (1.70 for any one journey). Also the Batobus hop on/hop off river cruise is fantastic value at 18 Euros for a 2-day pass.

Room Tip: "Courtyard" rooms are quiet, but it must be amazing to have a view!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet2158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frédéric C, Le Directeur at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014
Google Translation

Chère Madame Janet,

Je vous remercie beaucoup d’avoir pris le temps de partager vos impressions sur Tripadvisor et je suis sincèrement heureux que votre première visite parisienne ait été aussi mémorable.

Il est important pour nous que et que vous ayez apprécié notre literie et nos produits d’accueil Nuxe, ainsi que le soin que nous mettons à rendre votre séjour le plus agréable possible.

Je regrette sincèrement que notre petit-déjeuner n'ait pas répondu à vos attentes malgré le soin particulier que nous y apportons en proposant des produits chauds et froid, des fruits frais de saison, un large choix de pains et viennoiseries. Néanmoins, je vous présente toutes nos excuses pour l’organisation et la maladresse inhabituelles que vous avez connu ce matin-là, qui n’est pas représentative de la qualité de notre service.

J'espère que nous aurons le plaisir de vous accueillir très prochainement à l’hôtel Brighton et je l’espère au petit-déjeuner également pour avoir l’occasion d’inverser votre opinion sur celui-ci.

Sincèrement salutations,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is a lovely hotel. Modern yet traditional. Bedroom sizes are large for Paris. Elegant entry done with marble. Very helpful staff. Thanks Matteo for your suggestion where to eat. We didn't eat here but many restaurants nearby. Walk to Louvre in five minutes and the gardens across the street are gorgeous. The Seine and the Musee D'Orsay across from that. Walk a little bit down the street and you are at the Champs D'Elysee. Terrific location.

Room Tip: If you can spluge get a view of the Eiffel Tower.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladywithceliacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frédéric C, Le Directeur at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Mrs Ladywithceliacs,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor about your recent stay.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our location in the very heart of Paris, the decor of the hotel, the size of our rooms and the efficiency of our staff !

Thank you so much for your kind words and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We choose to stay in this hotel during our trip to Paris France due to 2 things. The rooms were nice size, much larger than many in the city and also the location couldn't be beat. We did not have a car during our Paris stay, so this location was great for us to get to our sightseeing we had chosen. We walked everywhere. They did have only two elevators and although both small, one was very small. However, as we didn't spend our vacation in the elevator, did not care. The staff did take our luggage to our room for us, and were very accommodating as to our needs. The room was lovely and very comfortable. We chose the Superior Class room, as we were there four nights. Very glad we did due to the nice size and being Americans, our hotels are much roomier than those in Paris proper. A lovely stay and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frédéric C, Le Directeur at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Mrs Sue J,

Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience at the Brighton on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed staying in the heart of Paris and that you underlined the size of your room, which is indeed spacious for the capital.

According to you, we are so centrally located that you do not need a car to visit, and the area is definitely one of the nicest to walk around.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again for your next trip in Paris,

With kindest regards,


.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#89 of 1,803 in Paris
1,095 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
The Westin Paris - Vendome
The Westin Paris - Vendome
#475 of 1,803 in Paris
3,668 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel La Tamise - Esprit de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Louvre / Palais-Royal
La Clef Louvre
La Clef Louvre
#19 of 1,803 in Paris
637 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
#222 of 1,803 in Paris
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France

Address: 218 rue de Rivoli | 01 Arr., 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in Paris
#58 Business Hotel in Paris
#95 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#122 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £179 - £461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Brighton is one of the most romantic hotels in the heart of Paris. Built in 1830 by Lord Egerton, the Brighton ranks among the oldest hotels in Paris. Entirely renovated, this charming hotel is located on the Rue de Rivoli, facing the Tuileries Garden, and only one step from the Louvre and Orsay Museums, the Opera House, the Concorde and Madeleine Places and the river Seine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Brighton Paris
Brighton Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing