We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the views, bring an earplug”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France
Ranked #165 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2007

Fabulous location. Does not get better than this. The Louvre to your left, the Tuileries gardens bang in front of you and the sparkling Eiffel tower to your right. Rue Saint Honore and the Vendome is only 2 minutes away. 5 minutes walking to the Opera.

Very romantic. Our room had been recently renovated and was spotlessly clean. We loved talking to the smiling and sweet Jean Luc the concierge/breakfast server/ front desk.

You would need an earplug to stay in this hotel since it is on one of the busiest roads in Paris, but that is how you get the views. We always bring earplugs on holidays (for the airplanes) so this was not a problem for us. Besides, how many hotels in Paris are that quiet anyway? Come here and reserve the Tuileries rooms and you will not be disappointed. A third of what you'd pay at the Meurice hotel a few steps away. (The lunch at the Le Jardin d'Hiver is magnificent by the way@the Meurice)

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank kauailover11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brightonhotel, Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us here at the Brighton hotel.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

John Rodrigues

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,774)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,264 - 1,270 of 1,774 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2007

This hotel is in a fantastic location close to all the shops and major tourist attractions, it is clean and of a high standard and we found the staff very friendly. The buffet breakfast was excellent and was served until 11 AM which means you aren't in a rush to get up in the morning if you don't want to.

We couldn't fault it at all and wouldn't hesitate to go back or recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank MiloRubix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brightonhotel, Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us here at the Brighton hotel.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

John Rodrigues

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2007

Spent 3 nights with wife and 2 young children and had a great trip. As mentioned by all reviewers the location is perfect. We booked a suit with view but as the room was on the first floor there really was no view which, as this was my wife's first trip to Paris was a big disapointment. The hotel were willing to move us but the alternative room was only available for one night. We found the staff helpful and friendly but housekeeping was poor. One day we noticed that dirty towels had been hung back up in the bathroom (I just collected new ones from reception). We did not eat in hotel and found area restaurants very good although the ones on the Rue De Rivoli obviously price according to their location but we were never 'ripped of', at least I didn't notice if we were.

Paris really is incredible and I would recommend that all visitors don't sweat the small stuff and just savour one of the world's great cities. On our last day we walked back from Left Bank and bumped into Karl Lagerfeld directing a fashion shoot on the bridge. There was only a few people watching and nobody seemed too bothered (nobody except my wife that is). It was a perfect end to our trip.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DavidBahamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brightonhotel, Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us here at the Brighton hotel.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

John Rodrigues

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2007

This hotel couldn't have a better location and oh so Paris! You are almost on top of the Louvre and over look the gardens. Near the best shops, restaurants and the Metro (but no need to use that!).

We wandered around the best part of Paris and felt like we were right in the middle of it all. Double glazing stops any noise. The furnishings are extravagant and very comfortable. The bathroom was huge as was the room.

Friendly staff. Would not bother with breakfast as it is nice to wander to a cafe and get a coffee etc which will be far cheaper.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank NZder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brightonhotel, Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us here at the Brighton hotel.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

John Rodrigues

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2007

We booked this hotel because of the location (opposite the Jardine des Tuileries and close to the Champs Elysees) and also we had read good reviews on Tripadviser. Big mistake.

Whilst the location was fabulous, right opposite the Gardens and only about 15 minutes walk to the start of the Champs Elysees, Arc de Tromphe and the shopping area (Boulevard Haussmann - were all in walking distance)say we would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Upon arrival no one assisted us with our luggage, the desk clerk was surley and the foyer had no atmosphere at all in fact it was a desk to the right of the dining room.

The room was neat and tidy but the furniture was old and not in a good way. The bathroom however, had been remodelled and was quite good. The positive was that we had a balcony and could see the Eiffel Tower from our room. Also double glazing of windows made the noise from the traffice non existant.

The safe did not work and was repaired once we advised them. We were not shown how to use the air conditioning and subsequently froze on one ocassion until someone came up and told us how to use it.

We did not eat at the hotel as the dining room looked very old and tired. The staff were disinterested and to be honest we couldn't wait to get out of there.

One other point we bought a 5 euro internet card and then discovered after we had paid our bill that we had been billed for this card when we had paid cash (our mistake for not checking the bill) but just another issues.

Tip: Dont go across the road to the Tuileries Gardens for lunch, big rip off in cost, or if you do ensure you say exactly what size coke you want we were charged a ridiculous amount of money for lunch which was inedible, however, the sun was shining and the gardens were great.

This is a great spot location wise just don't stay at this hotel, maybe try the Hotel Regina up the road or one of the others. While we were there the Govevenor of California, the "Terminator" himself was staying a few hotels away - so that made our day seeing him.

When I say the Arc de Triomphe, Boulevard Haussman for shopping are within walking distance it means approx 20-30 minutes walking in flat shoes.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Sheryll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brightonhotel, Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2016

Dear Sheryll,

Thank you for taking the time to write your opinion on tripadvisor. First of all I am sorry to hear that you have not experience our usual standard of service.

I do personally hope that you will change your mind and give us another chance to rectify the issues you have had during your latest visit to Paris. I look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
Brighton Hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2007

I booked the room for my other half's 40th birthday as his requirements were a room with a view of the Eiffel Tower. We splurged and took the junior suite although a few weeks before we left I discovered they had a special deal going (July is slow for Paris I believe) and I was able to get the normally 255 Euro room for 224 Euros which included buffet breakfast for both of us everyday. They told us that we had one of the best rooms in the house and it was quite spectacular. A very large room with a sitting area that included a couch and chairs and a large king-sized (American standards) bed. The view of the Tuilleries, Musee d'Orsay, Eiffel Tower and even the ferris wheel in the Tuilleries made this room spectacular. We had four balconies, two with views and the other two with views of a side street - but the balcony wrapped around the entire suite. We had room 308 (previously mentioned) by the way. Be warned that you can't really sit on the balconies (they're narrow and a little disconcerting if you have fear of heights) but they are spectacular to watch the city go by. Although Rue du Rivoli is a busy street the double-doors masked the noise of the street pretty well. And air conditioning was good although the European hotel concept of leaving your key in the little slot by the door for electricity was new to this trip. The staff was friendly and excellent. Those who don't speak French need not worry as their English is excellent although please use a "Bon Jour" and a "Merci" occasionally. The breakfast was good since it was included - toast, croissants, jams, jelly, fruit, ham, juices, coffee. I would not have paid 16 Euros each for it however. The location is very good as you are a walk (sometimes a longer one - 20 minutes) to almost everything. And the Tuilleries metro stop is across the street. The overall experience was fantastic and memorable and the perfect way for my other half to celebrate his birthday. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank DavidMS1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brightonhotel, Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us here at the Brighton hotel.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

John Rodrigues

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2007

My family of four (two children aged 10 and 14) stayed at the Brighton for 5 nights in mid July and were very happy with the hotel. It was smaller than I'd imagined but that was not a problem at all. As mentioned in previous reviews, Bernard on the front desk is a wonderful conceirge - very professional and super polite and helpfull with excellent English. If you have any problems, he is only too happy to help.

Our room (a junior suite) was lovely but did have a couple of downsides. My husband and I had a king size bed (very comfortable) and I had planned on the children sleeping on the sofa bed, however, it was much too small for both of them so my teenage son had the sofa bed (which creaked during the night every time he turned over) and my daughter slept on the big cushion of the sofa bed down on the floor with a few additional cushions and pillows. We asked for more sheets to make up the bed for her which were brought up quickly and she slept there happily for the duration of our stay.

The main problem was the traffic noise. It seems that either there's an awful lot of crime in Paris or the local police just like to use their sirens when they get bored. There were sirens sounding much of the night which were intermingled with the screams coming from one of the rides on the Jardin De Tuileries' Fair which just happened to be located across the road directly in front of the hotel for the months of July and August. However, the flip side of all this noise is the fantastic view. Maybe take ear plugs?

We had the continental breakfast in the hotel a couple of mornings for 10 euros each which is similar to most of the prices in the cafes very close by (between 10 and 15 euros) but if you go back a few streets, you can get the same breakfast for 7 euros each.

The location is excellent, we walked to the Louvre (very close by and part of the wonderful view if you're overlooking the Jardin De Tuileries), the Eiffel Tower, Notre Dame - in fact, we went everywhere on foot. The only time we used transport was to go on the Paris Vision tour bus to Disneyland Park - personally I wouldn't bother with Disneyland simply because of the horrendous queues. We had to queue for 40 minutes just to buy some sun screen when we first got in (only place selling it was the same place that hires out wheel chairs and push chairs - hence the long waiting line). Average waiting queues at the rides were at least half an hour for each short ride and on a hot day with little to no shade, the novelty wears off pretty quickly. My 10 year old daughter actually said she preferred the noisy fair across the road from our hotel to Disneyland!!! - It was a lot cheaper too.

If you're looking for souvenirs, you won't be dissapointed -there are a huge number of souvenir shops very close by. There is also one of the new bike hire stations just down the road (the sort where you pick up a bike in one station and can drop it off at another station if desired) so if you feel like cycling around Paris, the bikes are virtually on your doorstep.

Overall we had a lovely stay at the Brighton.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank vegiegirl_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brightonhotel, Manager at Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us here at the Brighton hotel.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

John Rodrigues

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#89 of 1,803 in Paris
1,094 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
The Westin Paris - Vendome
The Westin Paris - Vendome
#475 of 1,803 in Paris
3,667 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel La Tamise - Esprit de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Louvre / Palais-Royal
La Clef Louvre
La Clef Louvre
#19 of 1,803 in Paris
637 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
#222 of 1,803 in Paris
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France

Address: 218 rue de Rivoli | 01 Arr., 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in Paris
#58 Business Hotel in Paris
#95 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#122 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £179 - £461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Brighton is one of the most romantic hotels in the heart of Paris. Built in 1830 by Lord Egerton, the Brighton ranks among the oldest hotels in Paris. Entirely renovated, this charming hotel is located on the Rue de Rivoli, facing the Tuileries Garden, and only one step from the Louvre and Orsay Museums, the Opera House, the Concorde and Madeleine Places and the river Seine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Brighton Paris
Brighton Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing