We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of a Kind”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Eiffel Rive Gauche

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eiffel Rive Gauche
Ranked #1,149 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“One of a Kind”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Spent four nights at the Eifel Rive Gauche. Location is great – easy walk to Eiffel Tower, Metro & RER, cafés, restaurants, shops, etc. On a quiet street, so no road noise. Room was TINY, beds, bathroom, & elevator also TINY. No coffee/tea service. Streetside and backside rooms are separated by a covered courtyard. A balcony-type walkway – very narrow – connects the two sections. It was difficult to manage this walkway with our luggage. We were on 3rd floor, backside. Our room window and bathroom window opened onto the walkway and courtyard area, much like a window opening into the hallway (thus bringing in hallway noise)! We didn’t take breakfast but complimentary pastries were often offered at Reception. WiFi was OK and a computer with printer was available to guests. Staff was polite and helpful. I’m giving it a 3.5 rating, but it does round up to 4.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MERW869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivegauchedirection, Responsable réception at Eiffel Rive Gauche, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing your opinion on our TripAdvisor Page!

One singular characteristic of our establishment is that our rooms are distributed around a covered inner courtyard, so certain rooms have window and door on court as you mentioned.
If you wish in the future a room with a view on street or even on the Eiffel Tower, we invite you to mention it to us from the reservation.

We are amazed that you had no access to the tea and to the coffee because we serve this kind of drinks quite during the day. These drinks are on demand in reception and the service is made in our breakfast room downstairs.

We would be delighted to receive you again, do not hesitate to contact us directly by e-mail at the address rivegauche@hotel-eiffel.com to take advantage of our best offers.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    182
    117
    59
    39
See reviews for
133
188
29
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
La Porte, Indiana
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Booked this hotel because of the price. Room was so small we had to climb over each other to get around. You could hear everything going on in the hotel. If you had loud neighbors tough luck for you. The internet could be very slow at times. Stairway could be winding so don't drink too much wine before you come home. However, you do not come to Paris to stay in your room. The neighborhood is quaint and clean (watch out for dog poop) with a lot of local color. Some of the staff can be very helpful. In the end I enjoyed my stay in Paris. This was a nice hotel for the price. If I did it again I might pay an extra $50 a night and stay at a better hotel. Note: Breakfast is 12 euros per person. Plenty of coffee shops and bakery in neighborhood to take advantage.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MfBuilders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivegauchedirection, Responsable réception at Eiffel Rive Gauche, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing your comment on our TripAdvisor Page.

We are pleased to see that you enjoyed the area of the golden triangle of Paris.

Indeed, our rooms can seem small because of the age of the building. Ancient charming and cosy buildings often have the inconvenient to provide rather small surfaces or narrow access and we apologize if you expected more spacious and huge rooms.
As you mentioned, you can't discover Paris by staying in a hotel room, nothing more true.

We sincerely apologize again and would be happy to make you enjoy a bigger room at the occasion of another trip among us.
Don't hesitate to contact us again with your special request, you would enjoy our best rates and offers.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

This was our least favourite of all the hotels we visited in Europe, while we were on our Honeymoon. It was very small, which we realize is common. The rooms were extremely stuffy and it was difficult to get any air-flow through them. If this didn't make it hard enough to sleep at night, the noise certainly did. You can hear every person in every single room. In addition the staff were on average, far from friendly. There were two desk agents who assisted us and cracked a smile, however the rest seemed fairly resentful for being bothered.

We were also told the day after we checked in that it is a policy that every time you leave the hotel you must leave your room key behind and pick it up upon your return. We had never heard of this before and asked why, to which the desk agent became very irate that we would question their policies. We chose to keep our key only so that we didn't have to ask them to have it every time we wanted into our room.

I truly believe that there must be a better option for the price range of this hotel. It is alright at best and will certainly not be a place we will ever recommend.

Room Tip: If possible, request a room that isn't near the elevator and that has an outside window (if they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivegauchedirection, Responsable réception at Eiffel Rive Gauche, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your participation on our TripAdvisor page!

As you mentioned in your comment, our rooms can seem small, however it is a standard average surface in our city even if we understand that you could have expected a more spacious room.
You highlighted the noise and the lack of air in the rooms, indeed, some of our guests enjoy the rooms on the interior court, others can't stay without an outside window. Don't hesitate to mention what you wish to the reception directly before checking-in.

Then, about our room keys policy, we only ask our guests to leave it at the front desk to avoid any loss, but more particularly for safety reasons. Indeed, in case of any issue or serious incident, controling our room keys enable us to have a faster and more efficient look at our rooms which are occupied or not. We are confused if you found our staff annoyed by your question about that fact.

We regret that you found unsatisfactory points and wish we could offer you a special discount at the occasion of another stay.
We are available by e-mail rivegauche@hotel-eiffel.com for any information.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel is amazing, we stayed here for three nights. The charm and ideal location more then make up for the small rooms. We had a view of the Eiffel Tower from our room 317, it was very romantic. The staff is also very friendly and helpful, would most definitely stay here again. Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissBells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivegauchedirection, Responsable réception at Eiffel Rive Gauche, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Dear Visitors,

Thank you very much for having taken time to share your opinion on TripAdvisor.
We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay among us.
We wish you all the best and invite you to contact us directly by e-mail at the occasion of a future trip.

We would be please to welcome you again in the same room, don't hesitate to mention your previous experience with us.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
148 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Our room was an interior room on the second floor. The wood floors were well kept and the room was clean. It was very small, the smallest and the noisiest we encountered in Europe. The windows in the bedroom and bathroom opened into the interior courtyard and walkway - a little akward. The shower (no tub) was also quite small. The location offered great access to the Eiffel Tower, Rue Cler, and other restaurants and shopping. Although the hotel offered an elevator, it was still necessary to climb a few very narrow stairs to reach the second floor. There was no heating or air conditioner visible so the room was quite stuffy.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs and request a room in the interior courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulieSmoragiewicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivegauchedirection, Responsable réception at Eiffel Rive Gauche, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Dear Guest,

We took in consideration your comments and we thank you for your constructive observations on our TripAdvisor Page.

Indeed our charming building can appear narrow as you mentioned our stairs and rooms. The building that shelters now our establishment is an ancient charming one which can give an impression of tightness if you were expecting a modern building with wide access.
Our rooms are not air-conditioned indeed but we provide brand new fans in every room.

We hope you enjoyed the area and you stay despite of the heat.

Don't hesitate to request a futur booking directly by e-mailing us, we would make you enjoy our best offers and a room on higher floor with a view on the street for a bigger comfort.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed three nights at this hotel and as the weather was exceptionally hot for the season the small rooms became quite warm. The small portable A/C did only partly help. The location is superb and the surroundings are nice with restaurants and convenient small supermarkets. All in all a good stay at the hotel. The staff was very nice and helpful to all our questions on how to travel around in Paris, Merci!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicklid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivegauchedirection, Responsable réception at Eiffel Rive Gauche, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Guests,

Thanks a lot for sharing your traveller experience on our TripAdvisor page!

We are pleased to see that you spent a good time in our Hotel even if the temperature were maybe a little too high in your room.
Indeed, our rooms are equipped with brand new fans, but in case of such a heatwave we understand that it is not totally enough.

We invite you to contact us directly by e-mail in order to enjoy our best promotion and rates.

Looking forward to receiving you maybe at the occasion of another trip in our city,

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

My wife and I spent two comfortable nights in this quant, beautiful hotel short steps from the Eiffel Tower and wonderful street corner cafes. This was our first trip to France and we really appreciated the kindness and good cheer of all of the staff of this family run business. We had not travelled for some time in Europe and were very appreciative of the information given about local sights, eateries and the time staff took to answer questions we had about I phone and computer use. Thank you for making our short visit to Paris so enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivegauchedirection, Responsable réception at Eiffel Rive Gauche, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Visitors,

First of all, thank you very much for sharing your experience on our TripAdvisor page.

We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay among us and we would be happy to welcome you at the occasion of a futur trip in Paris.

Don't hesitate to contact us directly by e-mail. We would provide you with our best rates and offers!

Thank you again for your nice comment and "A Bientôt"!

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de la Paix Tour Eiffel
Hotel de la Paix Tour Eiffel
#736 of 1,796 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de la Tour Eiffel
Hotel de la Tour Eiffel
#1,206 of 1,796 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de l'Alma
Hotel de l'Alma
#1,241 of 1,796 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Kensington
Hotel Kensington
#1,393 of 1,796 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Eber
Hotel Eber
#700 of 1,796 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel La Bourdonnais
Hotel La Bourdonnais
#125 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eiffel Rive Gauche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eiffel Rive Gauche

Property: Eiffel Rive Gauche
Address: 6 rue du Gros Caillou | 07 Arr., 75007 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,149 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Eiffel Rive Gauche 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eiffel Rive gauche hotel welcomes you in one of the most prestigious districts of Paris, at the heart of the triangle Eiffel Tower, Invalids, Champs-Elysees ... Near the Trocadero, near the Champs de Mars, the Arc of Triumph, of Concorde, of the museum of the Quai Branly, Unesco ... Tourism, shopping, affairs, entertainment ... You will be just a few steps away from the high places of the heritage, the most beautiful places of interest, the shops selling luxury goods, the theaters, and the business area. In a quiet street of this restless left riverside, nested in a former convent, our hotel is an island of peace in the cosy and elegant atmosphere. Let charm by his sober and sophisticated atypical frame, its unique atmosphere, take time to stroll in our patio ... And savor the pleasure to relax you in this harbor of peace in the middle of the city lights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eiffel Rive Gauche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eiffel Rive Gauche Paris
Eiffel Rive Gauche Hotel Paris
Hotel Eiffel Rive Gauche

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing