We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Elysa Luxembourg
Ranked #661 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We found this small hotel to be an excellent base for our stay in Paris. Close to Luxembourg Gardens, Pantheon, RER and metro stations. We booked a Triple room and it had ample space for the three of us. The double glazed windows were very effective and the beds were very comfortable. Close to some good restaurants and cafes. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JohnB2913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 512 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

This was the second time we stayed at this hotel. It's small with only about 30 rooms that have recently been re-done in a modern but attractive style. As with most Paris hotels (at all price points), the rooms aren't huge (and the elevator is tiny!) but the rooms are spotlessly clean, and despite the hotel's busy location, very quiet. The staff is helpful and the location is very convenient - it's around the corner from the RER stop (you can go directly to/from the airport) and across the street from the gorgeous Luxembourg gardens. The A/C and heat are controlled by each room's guest, and the rooms include a mini-bar, safe, international TV, and robust WiFi. At a time when it's increasingly difficult to find a well-priced hotel in Paris that is also nice and in a good location, the Elysa is a gem.

I can't comment on the breakfasts because we didn't partake, choosing instead to just have coffee at the cafe across the street.

We've now stayed at the Elysa Luxembourg twice and I'm sure we will again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KateNYC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This hotel was recommended to us by friends because of its excellent location. This was so true. We got the train from the airport direct to Luxembourg station(adjacent to the Luxembourg Gardens) and walked no more than 50 metres to our hotel. PERFECT. We used the underground quite a lot and whilst you had to concentrate on what you were doing it was a fabulous way to get everywhere!!
The hotel room itself was quite small but I believe that is typical for Paris. We were on the top floor with a small balcony (nice for ambiance).
Hotel staff were pleasant but don't rely on them for too much tourist information. They did however suggest a good restaurant close by that we enjoyed.
We were very happy with the price we paid also.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Booked this hotel as we were celebrating our 25 th wedding anniversary in Paris. We wanted to stay in the Latin quarter as we'd seen good reviews of that area.We requested a quiet room and it was..rooms basic and small,we were placed on the 2nd floor at the end of a corridor so didn't have passers by making a noise.we purchased breakfast which was buffet and plentiful,with a good choice,a little expensive at €13 but the prices are the same all over Paris.Continental but also scrambled and boiled eggs,sausage but not like in England!!and tomatoes.fruit salad,yogurts,pastries and fresh crusty read and cereals ..as I said plentiful and a cosy but small restaurant too.hotel staff were helpful and obliging when we needed a taxi,they called for us. We went to the Ifel tower which cost approx €18 from the hotel.there is a great little takeaway crepe stand,round the corner from hotel.shops in walking distance with McDonald's fast good restaurant.alcohol in Paris is expensive €8 a pint and €8 med glass of wine..meals approx €20 per head at most restaurants..can get a little cheaper if you look round.the park is right across the road to hotel which is beautiful..train station Luxembourg RER station is 1 minute from hotel, we caught this right from the airport.Metros are great to hop on too which aren't far from hotel. We were very pleased with the location ..would recommend for location ..clean hotel...comfy bed,that's all you need...

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank shellpots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I stayed at the Elysa Luxembourg overnight 19/20 July, while passing through Paris. The staff were all welcoming and helpful, including recommending a nice pub for lunch on a nearby corner.
The room was comfortable, as was the bed. The A/C worked perfectly during a hot day and evening. One of the features which might draw me back to this hotel was the proximity to the Luxembourg Gardens ( around the corner, down a short street,cross the main road), which are beautiful. The Gardens were busy with thousands of Parisians and visitors, all enjoying a beautiful summers day.
So - a very nice hotel, in a great location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PaulOz2452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

A nice small hotel near to the metro and very close to the Notre Dame and the center of the latin quarter. Small rooms but very nice. We had everything we needed. The staff were very nice and helpfull. The breakfast was okay nothing special but okay. We enjoyed our stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
22
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

The staff at this hotel are EXTREMELY RUDE and the room cleaning maid service is seriously POOR.
We were confronted by the owner overcharging us and the maid yelling at us in French (we don't speak it) on our last day.
If you are looking for friendly and quality hotel service, I would not recommend at all.

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel les Jardins du Luxembourg
Hotel les Jardins du Luxembourg
#1,043 of 1,802 in Paris
175 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
#417 of 1,802 in Paris
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Design Sorbonne
Hotel Design Sorbonne
#281 of 1,802 in Paris
1,335 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Excelsior Latin
Hotel Excelsior Latin
#386 of 1,802 in Paris
1,157 reviews
Quartier Latin
Best Western Quartier Latin Pantheon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elysa Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysa Luxembourg

Address: 6 rue Gay Lussac, 75005 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#537 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £85 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Elysa Luxembourg 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The heart of the Latin Quarter beats just a short step away: the Luxemburg gardens, boulevard Saint-Michel, the Sorbonne, Notre-Dame and the Pantheon are all in the vicinity. Lovers of Old Paris who enjoy strolling through these streets steeped in history will appreciate the comfortable, typically Parisian setting of the Elysa-Luxembourg Hotel in the Latin Quarter. Sheltered from the bustle of the busiest thoroughfares, the Elysa-Luxembourg hotel combines the charm of a beautiful old stone building, the cosy interior of rooms decorated in contemporary style with the efficiency of modern facilities. Some of the thirty rooms offer a magnificent view over neighbouring rooftoops, the paths through the nearby Luxemburg gardens or even the Eiffel Tower. In this discretely refined setting, the atmosphere is decisively warm and the service resolutely attentive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Elysa Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysa Luxembourg Hotel
Elysa Luxembourg Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing