We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
Ranked #378 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Papamoa, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice boutique hotel”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

A tidy and well appointed hotel walking distance from the Louvre and (more importantly) the Metro. Staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are quiet and nicely decorated, though a little small (but hey, it's Paris!). The breakfast runs till lunch in the weekend and 11am on weekdays.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glenstorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClosMedicis, Manager at Hotel Le Clos Medicis, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed it and we look forward to welcoming you again !
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    231
    53
    10
    13
See reviews for
76
284
55
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

it is a rather small boutique hotel very close to the jardin du luxembourg. there are different room categories so make sure you look closely when you book. the single rooms are rather small. that said, all the rooms are comfortable and bathrooms are new and clean. the street is rather quiet so not noisy in the rooms, especially the ones that are on the courtyard side.
the lobby with the fire place and bar although small is nice to lounge. breakfast is simple and not included in the rate. no parking nearby. metro (RER) is not far (5/7 min walk).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sebaillet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClosMedicis, Gérant at Hotel Le Clos Medicis, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Sir,
We are very glad you enjoyed your holidays at Le Clos Medicis, and we thank you for reviewing it.
You'll be very welcome in the future.
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago.IL
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I haven't stayed here in about five years. Recently found the staff as kind and pleasant as ever, but the facility seemed warn and in need of repair. There is a haphazard patch in the ceiling as you enter, as if there had been a leak. In my room, the walls were chipped at corners and in need of paint. The bathroom needed painting and regrouting. The black mildew is inexcusable. None of these things are horrendous, and the bed sheets are clean and crisp. But, I think that at the price, management needs to spend some money fixing things. The street seemed seedier than I remembered, but the location is unbeatable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donaldsdottir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClosMedicis, Gérant at Hotel Le Clos Medicis, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Madam,
Thank you for your review regarding your last stay with us. You are right, a leak appeared in the lobby and it took a few days for fixing it and making new paintings. Unfortunately that happens everywhere and it's of course unpleasant. We also thank you for pointing out some defects in your room and they have been fixed now. We do invest every year in rooms renovations and try to maintain the property, with our customers feed back as perfect as possible.
We do apologize for the inconvenience and we hope you'll enjoy our efforts for your next stay in Paris.
Best wishes for the coming year !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

This was my third stay at this hotel and I've decided it'll be my last which pains me because it's in a great spot and the brasserie on the corner does an excellent breakfast! My first two stays were in standard rooms (one renovated, one not), this time we booked a deluxe room each at E220 per room not including breakfast. I was so annoyed when I entered the drab, tatty and tired room (number 54): dirty wallpaper, peeling in places, dirty paintwork, scratches and other marks on the walls, dirty blinds. The bathroom was OK but needs a freshen-up. To market this "deluxe" is a disgrace.

Before I had even removed my coat, I went to speak to reception. The manager said the room was larger than a standard and had a queen bed, both of which I would have foregone for some "deluxe" elements. He spoke over me, flapped his arms a bit, told me the hotel was full and couldn't offer another room. Our other room (34) was similarly drab and worn. The location, a comfortable bed and its desk staff prevented me from giving a 'terrible" rating. I won't be returning.

Room Tip: Room 23 is a standard room but it's been renovated to a high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrusselsExpat188644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClosMedicis, Gérant at Hotel Le Clos Medicis, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Madam,
We thank you for reviewing your stay with us and we do regret you did not enjoy that stay as much as previous ones. In order to maintain the hotel updated and offer pleasant accommodations to visitors, we do renovate 20% of guests rooms every year. Your are right, the Classic room 23 is a 2 years old one, the Deluxe room you booked for that stay is not as new and in a different decoration style. We do apologize for not being able to offer you an alternative room as the hotel was fully booked. That Deluxe category is planned to be remodeled on 2014 and despite your desapointment we wish you offer us again, the opportunity in respoding your legitimate expectations.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I chose this hotel solely on location and price - but what a pleasant surprise. A very friendly place, obviously recently redecorated to a high standard and everywhere was spotlessly clean. My room on the sixth floor was charmingly idiosyncratic, en suite bathroom up a narrow spiral staircase from the bedroom, and such a pleasant change from the soulless, identical rooms of the big chain hotels. Also the room was very well equipped and warm. Excellent, good choice breakfast, especially good pot of tea, and in the evening a real log fire was burning in the hearth of the cosy little lounge/bar. All staff very attentive and professional. A real gem of a place, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 65 is quite unusual in lay-out and very well equipped and would definitely be my choice for a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WhistlingGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClosMedicis, Gérant at Hotel Le Clos Medicis, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Guest,
The all team thanks you for your kind review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We will be very pleased in welcoming you again in the future !
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The location of this hotel is few minutes walk to all restaurants and bars in St German which I highly recommend for you to stay in. This is the area where you want your base to be. Trust me. The hotel is very clean and cosy. I actually think the size of the rooms where great considering its Paris. We had the basic room and we had enough room. Plus who wants to stay in their room in paris anyways? The staff are very helpful and the courtyard is very cute. We didnt have breakfast in hotel as there are many options close by. I will definetly stay there again! Also another note is that the rates from the hotel website are the cheapest compared to booking.com and other sites.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stars1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClosMedicis, Gérant at Hotel Le Clos Medicis, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for your kind comment. You are right, best offers and sales conditions are available on our official website ! We look forward to welcoming you once more !
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This is a perfect little spot for a romantic getaway. The rooms are a bit small, and there wasn't much room to put our suitcases; the closet was teeny-tiny. But it was cozy and nicely furnished. The queen sized bed was actually 2 beds put together, so there was a rift in the middle which could be uncomfortable. The pillows were ok. I loved our little view of the courtyard, and the charming window to look out from. It felt private and quiet. The location is perfect and close to everything, as they have indicated on their website. We walked everywhere with no problem. I love the St. Germaine area, which is very closeby. The staff are very friendly, and when I left my purse in the dining area at breakfast, I received a phone call in my room to tell me they put it aside for me at the reception. The breakfast served was perfect, but it took a long time to get coffee!! They did make it fresh for each person, so it is worth the wait.
There was a tiny water leak/drip from the ceiling in the bathroom when we arrived, so we put a towel under it. We were short a towel then, but it was late so we didn't request more towels at that time. We advised them of the situation, and it was fixed the next day.
This used to be a reasonably priced hotel, but that is not the case any longer. The price of US$320-340 per night is a bit steep for what you get. I would still recommend it though--it's Paris and I like small, quaint hotels with character better than big chain ones. Wifi worked great in the room too.

Room Tip: Be aware that the rooms are very small. I booked a Deluxe room (the one with the big blue & gold...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClosMedicis, Gérant at Hotel Le Clos Medicis, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Madam,
We thank you for your kind comment regarding your stay with us and we are very glad you enjoyed it. You are correct in advising rooms are not spacious, especially according to north american standards,that may be the only inconvenience of such a central location (the square meter price in the 6th arrondissement is the highest for the all Paris city). During high season rates are of course higher than low season but best deals are available on our official website all year long !
We will be pleased in welcoming you again.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Odeon Hotel
Odeon Hotel
#155 of 1,802 in Paris
430 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Design Sorbonne
Hotel Design Sorbonne
#278 of 1,802 in Paris
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel le Senat
Hotel le Senat
#460 of 1,802 in Paris
641 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Michelet Odeon
Hotel Michelet Odeon
#725 of 1,802 in Paris
294 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
#162 of 1,802 in Paris
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Clos Medicis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Clos Medicis

Property: Hotel Le Clos Medicis
Address: 56 rue Monsieur le Prince | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#296 Business Hotel in Paris
#465 Family Hotel in Paris
#540 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Clos Medicis 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the crossroads of Saint Germain des Pres and the Latin quarter the Clos Medicis is a 38 rooms property. All rooms provide, individual air-conditionning,strong box, minibar, free wifi access, flat screen TV and bathrobes. Buffet breakfast is served in guest room, breakfast room or on sunny days in the patio.A 24 hours bar service is available in the lobby, enjoy a drink in front of the burning fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Clos Medicis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Clos Medicis Paris
Le Clos Medicis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing