We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat Hotel Great Convenient Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
Ranked #383 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Appleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Neat Hotel Great Convenient Location”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed here recently with my wife and couldn't fault the place or the service and support of the staff.Its tucked away just off the Boulevard St Michel close to the RER B station Luxembourg. Rooms are nice and clean although the carpet in our room was due for a clean but everything else was top notch. Breakfast area a little small inside but in good weather there is a nice internal courtyard to take breakfast which is typical for this style of hotel. Convenient for a large number of good quality and tourist restaurants closeby and after a few days you start to realise that places to visit are a nice walk away as well as jumping the Metro. Good to get orientated early in Paris !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClosMedicis, Gérant at Hotel Le Clos Medicis, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Sir,
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we thank you for your comment. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    227
    53
    10
    13
See reviews for
76
278
55
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
177 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Located in a narrow street just off Boul' Mich', near the Luxembourg RER (very convenient for arrival/departure at CDG or Gare du Nord), the hotel is in a renovated stone-built historic house. The reception area was attractive, with a small bar and sitting area: it's pleasant for a drink before going out but you wouldn't want to stay there for a long time. Staff were friendly and accommodating. The rooms are individually decorated and furnished, not spacious but entirely adequate: ours had a small but well equipped bathroom with stylish fittings. Beds were comfortable, the room was warm. Noise from the street (e.g. noisy parties going home in the evening, lorries loading/unloading early in the morning, children going to a cinema show opposite) could be almost completely shut out by the double glazing. Breakfast was served for a long time in a small area near reception; we found it completely full when we arrived on one of the three nights we were there and had to wait, reading one of the free newspapers provided. (There is a small, pleasant interior courtyard with tables that could be used as overflow for breakfast in summer but we were there when it was too cold.) Breakfast was simple and traditional, with a selection of cold cuts, hard boiled eggs (soft on request), croissants, rolls, baguettes (pain d'hier on Saturday morning, rather dry).

Restaurants very nearby include Au Pere Louis (excellent), Le Petit Journal jazz club (fun), and many serving Japanese and American fast food, as well as run of the mill brasseries and bistros.

Access is possible by wheelchair, with a small lift to upper floors, but there are some steps, e.g. in going from the lift to some rooms - enquire.

Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cassini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClosMedicis, Manager at Hotel Le Clos Medicis, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your kind review. We do appreciate you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again.
PS : We will keep an eye on the baker work !
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Great hotel near by the Metro, and Luxemburg Garden. You can take the RER train directly from CDG to Luxemburg Metro stop. There are lots of great restaurants in the area, and there are a 15 minutes walk to Louvre. The rooms are nice and clean, and there is a cosy bar at the lobby. The staff is really helpful. Don't miss sitting and watching the locals in the Luxemburg Garden if it is a sunny day. We will stay there again next time we are I Paris.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Omegamand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClosMedicis, Gérant at Hotel Le Clos Medicis, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you for spending time in reviewing your stay with us and sharing your experience with Tripadvisor readers. We are very glad you enjoyed that stay and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The hotel is not very far from the main points in Paris. A calm street with some good Asian restaurants, a small but cosy room, attentious receptionists and a fair price made our stay in this hotel very pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Makstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClosMedicis, Gérant at Hotel Le Clos Medicis, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you for sharing your experience with our property. Best deals are always available on our official site.
Looking forward to welcoming you again.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papamoa, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

A tidy and well appointed hotel walking distance from the Louvre and (more importantly) the Metro. Staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are quiet and nicely decorated, though a little small (but hey, it's Paris!). The breakfast runs till lunch in the weekend and 11am on weekdays.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glenstorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClosMedicis, Manager at Hotel Le Clos Medicis, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed it and we look forward to welcoming you again !
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

it is a rather small boutique hotel very close to the jardin du luxembourg. there are different room categories so make sure you look closely when you book. the single rooms are rather small. that said, all the rooms are comfortable and bathrooms are new and clean. the street is rather quiet so not noisy in the rooms, especially the ones that are on the courtyard side.
the lobby with the fire place and bar although small is nice to lounge. breakfast is simple and not included in the rate. no parking nearby. metro (RER) is not far (5/7 min walk).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sebaillet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClosMedicis, Gérant at Hotel Le Clos Medicis, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Sir,
We are very glad you enjoyed your holidays at Le Clos Medicis, and we thank you for reviewing it.
You'll be very welcome in the future.
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago.IL
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I haven't stayed here in about five years. Recently found the staff as kind and pleasant as ever, but the facility seemed warn and in need of repair. There is a haphazard patch in the ceiling as you enter, as if there had been a leak. In my room, the walls were chipped at corners and in need of paint. The bathroom needed painting and regrouting. The black mildew is inexcusable. None of these things are horrendous, and the bed sheets are clean and crisp. But, I think that at the price, management needs to spend some money fixing things. The street seemed seedier than I remembered, but the location is unbeatable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donaldsdottir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClosMedicis, Gérant at Hotel Le Clos Medicis, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Madam,
Thank you for your review regarding your last stay with us. You are right, a leak appeared in the lobby and it took a few days for fixing it and making new paintings. Unfortunately that happens everywhere and it's of course unpleasant. We also thank you for pointing out some defects in your room and they have been fixed now. We do invest every year in rooms renovations and try to maintain the property, with our customers feed back as perfect as possible.
We do apologize for the inconvenience and we hope you'll enjoy our efforts for your next stay in Paris.
Best wishes for the coming year !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Odeon Hotel
Odeon Hotel
#168 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Michelet Odeon
Hotel Michelet Odeon
#698 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
#159 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel le Senat
Hotel le Senat
#444 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Design Sorbonne
Hotel Design Sorbonne
#283 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Clos Medicis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Clos Medicis

Property: Hotel Le Clos Medicis
Address: 56 rue Monsieur le Prince | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#296 Business Hotel in Paris
#465 Family Hotel in Paris
#540 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Clos Medicis 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the crossroads of Saint Germain des Pres and the Latin quarter the Clos Medicis is a 38 rooms property. All rooms provide, individual air-conditionning,strong box, minibar, free wifi access, flat screen TV and bathrobes. Buffet breakfast is served in guest room, breakfast room or on sunny days in the patio.A 24 hours bar service is available in the lobby, enjoy a drink in front of the burning fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Clos Medicis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Clos Medicis Paris
Le Clos Medicis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing