We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard hotel; in bad location”
Review of Hotel Regence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Regence
Ranked #1,450 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 5 January 2009

This hotel is good for its price but just too far from the touristy spots - it's the last stop on the number 1 line! Positive is that it's in the new Paris with the modern arc de triomphe and new high rise buildings. Not what we really wanted to see.

Rooms were small but not an issue as were staying only 2 nights. It was well maintained and cleaned. The breakfast was continental - no hot breakfast but the croissants were divine! So fresh!

Probably wouldnt stay there again only because of its location.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VitzWainui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2008

We stayed at Hotel Regence 6th July 08 for two nights. We were disappointed at the size of the room, which was small and it was also very basic. The walls were covered in padded wallpaper!!! The rooms could have done with a refurb. There was a mini bar, a fridge in fact, but unfortunately it didn't work, so nothing was cold. It only contained water and soft drinks, no alcohol.The bathroom was quite large though and had a strong shower. We had to ask for towels when we got there as there were none in the room. The breakfast was quite nice, typically French. Croissants, bread, jams, eggs, meat etc. The staff were OK, not overly friendly, but helpful.
Paris itself was great, hated Gare du nord though, it's huge and the signage is very misleading. You end up going round in circles. If you are going by train to the airport, I recommend that you buy your ticket from the metro station were you leave from, because it's nigh on impossible to buy one in the station!! bizarre!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louoneil41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2008

The rooms were very large (by Parisian standards I mean).
I even could walk around the bed without bumping into nasty corners and what not.
But here's the best part: It had a large flatscreen TV, Yoohoo!
Also a nice bathtub and a big mirror (to doublecheck your outfit before you go out).
The furniture however was very reminiscent of the eighties/nineties. The whole room in fact needed to be remodeled, but I didn't really care: The flatscreen TV made it all good people.
Have fun!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank celine1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2004

We spent six nights at the Regence at the end of September 2004. We enjoyed this small hotel. The staff was curteous and helpful. Breakfasts were wonderful! We had croissants, bread, cheese, cold cuts, cold cereal, coffee, tea, orange juice, and hot chocolate available every morning. The room was fine--small but not postage stamp size like some Paris hotels. The bathroom was very large and bright. It was done in white tile with a nice blue tile accent, and there was a large window. It was a nice touch having a mini fridge in the room as there is a good grocery store around the corner. We found the hotel very clean. We'd definitely stay at this well-priced hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mermaid929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2004

Small pleasant hotel. Comfortable stay, my only gripes are that the breakfast room was tiny and the hotel was too far away from the centre of Paris.

  • Stayed: November 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lilaclilac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Texas
18
Reviewed 1 October 2003

Sure, the hotel has a good location. Walking distance to the subway, to Pigalle, and to Place Clichy, a convenient area to eat and have a drink. However if you're planning to stay in this hotel be aware that there's no A/C in the rooms, so you may have to open the windows to be able to get some comfortable sleep time. If you get a room in the lower floors good luck resting and falling sleep. St. Petersbourg is a busy street, so you still may have to deal with the traffic noise even in the upper floors. In the middle of the night you'll have to choose from sweating all night and tolerating the noise, which by the way, will not stop. I visited the hotel recently, got a room in the 2nd floor, and I won't forget the experience. It was the worst night I've ever had in a hotel in the last 15 years. It was unbelievable, but I'll save the details for entertainment at home. I also got a stained towel in the bathroom -probably not dirty, though- but that was minor problem.

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
seattle washington
19
Reviewed 20 September 2003

the hotel regence was perfect!! we were on our honeymoon and the staff made our stay wonderful. the hotel is in walking distance to so much, including the moulin rouge!!! With a metro stop very close we could get around the city and return to the hotel without to much work! The bathrooms are great, all marble and tile and very clean! everything about the hotel was right on the mark. if you stay there you must try the italian place one block over, it was amazing!!!

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Regence Etoile
Hotel Regence Etoile
#629 of 1,803 in Paris
440 reviews
Hotel Elysees Opera
#1,128 of 1,803 in Paris
307 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Pilime
Hotel Pilime
#941 of 1,803 in Paris
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel du Mont Dore
Hotel du Mont Dore
#1,436 of 1,803 in Paris
128 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Excelsior-Batignolles
Excelsior-Batignolles
#1,077 of 1,803 in Paris
22 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Darcet
Hotel Darcet
#87 of 1,803 in Paris
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regence

Address: 33 rue de Saint Petersbourg, 75008 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,450 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £88 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Regence 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Regence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regence Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing