We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small, quiet, very friendly staff.”
Review of Hotel Regence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Regence
Ranked #1,364 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Small, quiet, very friendly staff.”
Reviewed 14 April 2009

First things first; this hotel is on the last stop on the underground but its much cheaper than staying closer to the city. We liked the hotel, weren't in it much cos we were sightseeing etc.
The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and were genuinely interested in what we though of things in Paris.
The breakfast could have been better, but did the job. There's a big shopping mall just up from the hotel and there's a few decent places to eat for a quick meal, obviously the finer restaurants are more into the city, but the ones near the hotel are fine for a quick snack or lunch.
If you like exploring and figuring your own way about, and are not too bothered about the size of where you stay and view it as just somewhere to put your head, then i recommend this place; gives you more money to spend on fine restaurants and sightseeing tours.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunnyscot86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    21
    26
    10
    12
See reviews for
11
43
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2009

This hotel is good for its price but just too far from the touristy spots - it's the last stop on the number 1 line! Positive is that it's in the new Paris with the modern arc de triomphe and new high rise buildings. Not what we really wanted to see.

Rooms were small but not an issue as were staying only 2 nights. It was well maintained and cleaned. The breakfast was continental - no hot breakfast but the croissants were divine! So fresh!

Probably wouldnt stay there again only because of its location.

  • Liked — Fresh croissants!
  • Disliked — Location - last stop on the metro. Too far from the tourist sites.
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vitz6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2008

We stayed at Hotel Regence 6th July 08 for two nights. We were disappointed at the size of the room, which was small and it was also very basic. The walls were covered in padded wallpaper!!! The rooms could have done with a refurb. There was a mini bar, a fridge in fact, but unfortunately it didn't work, so nothing was cold. It only contained water and soft drinks, no alcohol.The bathroom was quite large though and had a strong shower. We had to ask for towels when we got there as there were none in the room. The breakfast was quite nice, typically French. Croissants, bread, jams, eggs, meat etc. The staff were OK, not overly friendly, but helpful.
Paris itself was great, hated Gare du nord though, it's huge and the signage is very misleading. You end up going round in circles. If you are going by train to the airport, I recommend that you buy your ticket from the metro station were you leave from, because it's nigh on impossible to buy one in the station!! bizarre!

  • Liked — the breakfast
  • Disliked — the room
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louoneil41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2008

The rooms were very large (by Parisian standards I mean).
I even could walk around the bed without bumping into nasty corners and what not.
But here's the best part: It had a large flatscreen TV, Yoohoo!
Also a nice bathtub and a big mirror (to doublecheck your outfit before you go out).
The furniture however was very reminiscent of the eighties/nineties. The whole room in fact needed to be remodeled, but I didn't really care: The flatscreen TV made it all good people.
Have fun!

  • Liked — The size of the rooms
  • Disliked — Outdated furniture
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank celine1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2004

We spent six nights at the Regence at the end of September 2004. We enjoyed this small hotel. The staff was curteous and helpful. Breakfasts were wonderful! We had croissants, bread, cheese, cold cuts, cold cereal, coffee, tea, orange juice, and hot chocolate available every morning. The room was fine--small but not postage stamp size like some Paris hotels. The bathroom was very large and bright. It was done in white tile with a nice blue tile accent, and there was a large window. It was a nice touch having a mini fridge in the room as there is a good grocery store around the corner. We found the hotel very clean. We'd definitely stay at this well-priced hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mermaid929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2004

Small pleasant hotel. Comfortable stay, my only gripes are that the breakfast room was tiny and the hotel was too far away from the centre of Paris.

  • Stayed November 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilaclilac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 October 2003

Sure, the hotel has a good location. Walking distance to the subway, to Pigalle, and to Place Clichy, a convenient area to eat and have a drink. However if you're planning to stay in this hotel be aware that there's no A/C in the rooms, so you may have to open the windows to be able to get some comfortable sleep time. If you get a room in the lower floors good luck resting and falling sleep. St. Petersbourg is a busy street, so you still may have to deal with the traffic noise even in the upper floors. In the middle of the night you'll have to choose from sweating all night and tolerating the noise, which by the way, will not stop. I visited the hotel recently, got a room in the 2nd floor, and I won't forget the experience. It was the worst night I've ever had in a hotel in the last 15 years. It was unbelievable, but I'll save the details for entertainment at home. I also got a stained towel in the bathroom -probably not dirty, though- but that was minor problem.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hotel Elysees Opera
#1,110 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Regence Etoile
Hotel Regence Etoile
#528 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Aurore Montmartre
Hotel Aurore Montmartre
#1,165 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Grey Hotel
#84 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Alexandrine Opera
#1,128 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Jean-Gabriel
Hotel Jean-Gabriel
#1,148 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regence

Property: Hotel Regence
Address: 33 rue de Saint Petersbourg, 75008 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,364 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Regence 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Regence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regence Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing