We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Vieux Saule
Ranked #1,120 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Not recommended for larger guys. Had to squeeze into the half round shower. The toilet was wedged between the little sink and the shower. The beds were adequate but have slept on more comfortable. Would not recommend more than 2 pieces of carry on luggage in the room. High marks for air conditioning. Staff not overly friendly.

Room Tip: Stay in lower floors...elevator barely holds 2 people much less luggage. You may be forced to climb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NIck P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

Ok hotel, not more.. Rooms are extremly small, a bit outdated and in dire need of a renovation/refurb. Our room had had the bathroom redone, but not the rest. As several reviewers have pointed out, the smartness of this hotell goes only to the surface. The shower lacks a curtain/screen, wich meant that every shower resulted in a very wet bathroom.
The elevator is ridicilously small. Two persons is a tigth fit.
The area is nice with lots of cafes, resturants, bars, art galleries etc.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back are very quiet from outdoor noices. However, the building is old, sounds between r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taxtaxtaxkorvtax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This hotel is in a great location, surrounded by lots of places to eat, drink and shop, and it's smart and in good condition. Some of that smartness feels only surface-deep however: the bath with shower attachment had no shower curtain/screen so every shower covered the bathroom with water; the plug didn't fit the sink; the (very shallow) sink's overflow hole leaked water onto the bathroom floor. I was also a bit annoyed to discover that the breakfasts cost extra, which I hadn't realised, and wasn't made obvious to me. That was an expensive croissant! However, otherwise: great location, smart room, helpful if perfunctory service, quiet, and comfortable - I slept really well!

Room Tip: My room lead directly onto the reception area, which alarmed me, but its double doors ensured it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

easy to reach from 'gare du nord', nice coffe shops, restaurants and bars near by, the tour buses stop is minutes away walking . room on the small side, but what you need for a short sightseeing trip. nice hotel . no issues, will return

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LinaTs91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Paris has a massive range of 3 star hotels that perfectly accommodate a weekend trip, this is not one of them. Small and dated is really all I can say. Choose somewhere else. Even the area is not that great.

Room Tip: Ask for a fridge? We had one but friends rooms didn't, supposed to be same standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FussyLondonW6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This is by far the worst hotel experience I have ever had. Small, dirty rooms...noisy, rude, unhelpful staff. I could go on and on. The elevator is miniscule so you have to lug your bags up the stairs.

The only good thing is the neighborhood but there are tons of better small hotels and apartments to rent there.

This hotel really put a damper on our trip. I would spend my money in a nicer place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The hotel is located in an historic palace (close to place de la Republique, an amazing area), small but recently renewed. Our room was a small one in the first floor. It was clean and every day towels were changed based on your request. The staff was friendly, helpful and professional. The great part was that while the hotel is located in a small and quiet street it is easy from there to go eat around the corner, get to the metro or catch a bus for other locations in the center of Paris. If I go back, I would definitely book again here, only in a bigger room. The prices are in line with what are the standards in the capital. They def made our stay even more pleasant.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gionni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Hotel Jacques de Molay
Hotel Jacques de Molay
#737 of 1,804 in Paris
133 reviews
Le Marais
Ecole Centrale Hotel Paris
Ecole Centrale Hotel Paris
#925 of 1,804 in Paris
311 reviews
Le Marais
My Hotel in France le Marais by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Hotel Bastille Speria
Hotel Bastille Speria
#677 of 1,804 in Paris
417 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Picard
Hotel Picard
#1,589 of 1,804 in Paris
136 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Americain
Hotel Americain
#1,250 of 1,804 in Paris
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vieux Saule? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vieux Saule

Address: 6 rue de Picardie | 3rd Arr., 75003 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,120 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £96 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Vieux Saule 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel du Vieux Saule reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inter Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing