We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a good location to explore Paris from.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel des Gobelins
Ranked #704 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a good location to explore Paris from.”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Hotel is within walking distance of a number of Metro stations and has good bus connections outside too. The local area is clean and feels very safe to walk around. There are also lots of lovely little bars near by open late for a night cap.

Checkin was efficient. The room was lovely and clean with a nice bathroom. Quite a good size for Paris. Morning breakfast was really good too.

Got a very good price on Hotels.com Worth a visit,

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeighP73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    358
    106
    31
    14
See reviews for
134
271
63
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Excellent location for seeing the sights whether by walking or public transport, both a metro station and a main train station are within 15 mins walk. Wide range of bars and restaurants within strolling distance. Hotel is small, clean with modern bathrooms, the staff were very helpful and the continental breakfast was excellent. Very good value!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

My partner booked through hotels.com and got a really good price based on the day price saved well over £100 pounds so book early.
The hotel is situated in a really clean part of Paris with easy access to the Metro to go in many directions round Paris.
The staff on arrival were extremely friendly and helpful and although we tried to speak French their English was impeccable.
Our room as we requested on booking was on the top floor with a lovely view of The Eiffel Tower and Notre Dame amongst other land marks, and only a short 30 minute walk to the Notre Dame area. The road takes you through an older part of Paris will cafés, bars and shops galore, was like walking through a Harry Potter type street

Our room was spacious and had all necessary amenities, but would take a kettle next time as did miss my morning coffee and late night cup of tea.
The room was very clean and bedding all looked brand new, bed was comfy and bathroom was again equipped and clean.
We had a shower in our room but my daughter when she arrived had a bath so ask when booking if a bath is necessary. I certainly would have liked one to soak the aches away from all the walking
The hotel is manned 24hrs and in my opinion deserves higher than the three star rated given.

Breakfast was more than adequate, with rolls and croissants on the table, with a choice of juices, cereals, yogurts alongside cold meats and a selection of cheeses. To drink was tea, coffee or chocolate. Preserves, honey and Nutella were also supplied along with breads and packets of Melba toast.

All in all I would rate this hotel highly and recommend booking early

Room Tip: Book early for best prices, we used hotels.com and saved well over 100 pounds. For good views ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank boringdon_babe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Perfect hotel in a perfect location. Staff were great, so helpful! Breakfast was brought to our room everyday free of charge. The surrounding area are lovely, perfect for walking about passing time exploring. Very near the Latin quarter which has a great atmosphere. Right next to a metro stop so really easy to travel around the city. Loved every minute of my stay and will use this hotel again if i ever return to paris!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank G12342013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Easy to find near Metro station. staff lovely and helpful, even when I fused all the electrics in our room! They gave us good advice on local restaurants in the Latin Quarter and we ate well every evening. Found on last day that there was an expresso machine opposite main desk, but owuld have appreciated access to boiling water for a cup of tea. Continenatl breakfast with plenty of choices which mean we only needed drinks during the day. Metro easy to use but expect lots of steep stairways, no lifts visible!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I stayed at the hotel for one night with my daughters on a flying visit to Paris. For the price that I paid, I was pleasantly surprised with the quality of the hotel! We had a triple room on the 5th floor and whilst it wasn't luxurious, it was perfectly clean and functional with a separate WC and bathroom. The water pressure on the shower was great too. The room was quiet at nght and we had a great sleep. The continental breakfast was fine, the lady clearing tables and organising the buffet was very friendly, as were all the reception staff that we met. The only negative points were the TV, the picture quality was fuzzy and the lack of wifi in our room. As we were only staying one night and weren't too bothered about watching tv or accessing the Internet, it wasn't an issue. Perhaps if we were staying for longer then it would have been more of a problem.

As earlier reviews have said, the location is great. The hotel is very close to the metro and the walk to the Notre Dame took about 20 minutes and was very pleasant. There is also a taxi rank veryclose to the hotel.

All in all, I would definitely stay again and would recommend as a great hotel to stay in that won't bust your budget!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizzieS606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

It's not the Ritz, but the staff was very nice and extremely helpful. Grocery store just a block away and the Pastesserie across the street had the best strawberry crème pastries I've ever had in my life! Just blocks away from the Rue Moufftard where there are lots of shops and restaurants! lovely walk right up to Notre Dame. Only down side was the trek from the subway...It was pouring rain when we arrived and well we had way too much luggage to hike from the train. There was one extremely tiny room that my parents stayed in and well they sacrificed the large room for me and my brother, to keep the piece. Overall loved the location and staff. Definitely not your standard hotel, because the room are all different but looks like they've updated since my visit in 2008; Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rymaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Best Western Plus La Demeure
#491 of 1,802 in Paris
462 reviews
Gobelins
Hotel Saint-Marcel
Hotel Saint-Marcel
#1,113 of 1,802 in Paris
94 reviews
Hotel Garance
#1,224 of 1,802 in Paris
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gobelins
Kyriad Paris 13 - Italie Gobelins
Quartier Latin
Libertel Austerlitz Jardin des Plantes
Quartier Latin
Hotel Devillas
Hotel Devillas
#670 of 1,802 in Paris
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel des Gobelins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel des Gobelins

Property: Grand Hotel des Gobelins
Address: 57 boulevard Saint Marcel, 75013 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Gobelins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #704 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel des Gobelins 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel des Gobelins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Paris
Hotel Des Gobelins
Le Grand Hotel Des Gobelins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing