We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute, Clean and Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel des Gobelins
Ranked #675 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cute, Clean and Great Location!”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This hotel was perfect for our 4 days stay in Paris. It has a very handy central location, but in the same instance its far enough away from all the tourist crowds and felt more 'authentically' Paris. The hotel is located within walking distance to a central Metro Station and to other well known Paris landmarks. It was a great location for a picturesque morning run along the Seine.

We had a corner room, with a beautiful view over the tree lined boulevard below. The room was compact, but was very light and airy. Bathroom facilities were basic but more than adequate, and were clean. The staff were very pleasant and helpful, and spoke English very well. The room we booked also cam with breakfast, which was simple (croissants, cereal, yogurt and fruit), but was delicious - the perfect start for a day of exploring the city and shopping!

I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel, should I ever find myself back in Paris!

Room Tip: Rooms on the corner are nice and light and airy, although not the largest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    362
    108
    31
    14
See reviews for
134
273
63
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed in Paris in 2011 for 102 Euros and this stay was 149 Euros a night. It seems that the French Open may have inflated prices in Paris?!? We enjoyed our stay. Jean Marc at reception is exceptional. We were also there during the thunderstorms and humid weather so the air conditioning was appreciated (we were on top floor). Thank goodness there was an elevator. The hotel is advertised as being in the Latin Quarter but it is just on the edge. That being said there is easy access to the Metro and Rue Moufftard is just a couple of blocks away for fabulous produce and boulangerie. This was the most expensive and the smallest room of our 2 month trip to Italy and France (lovely large bathroom though). Again...maybe because of the French Open the price was inflated. I would stay here again but at a reduced rate.

Room Tip: I think the rooms are all quite different based on other traveller's pictures and the fact that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWalkers9113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights - very clean hotel, the staff are really friendly and extremely helpful for queries about the area, transport etc. Room was good we had a corner one that was nice overlooking the Bvd St Marcel. Nice long walks out to Notre Dame from the hotel and reasonable eating places all around the hotel also. Plenty of transport links around can recommend using Port Royal station for direct link with CDG airport.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weirdstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I am so glad I opted for a small hotel during my trip to Paris rather than a large fancy chain. This family run establishment isn't plush by any means, but it is very clean, picturesque, and quaint. It is an easy walk to public transportation. My husband and I could have spent days exploring this beautiful, historical area surrounding the hotel, and yet, this is one of the quieter areas of Paris. I will return to this hotel on my next trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobynAla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed one night here on arrival in paris and thought it was fantastic! Specially because it was a really good value room that I bought on expedia. The rooms have fast wifi, a decent sized bathroom, a desk , tv and comfortable bed. Staff are really nice, help you straight away and are happy to give you advise about the surrounding area. The location is pretty good, very close to the des gobelins metro stop (on line7). I walked to the pantheon and louvre and it didn't take too long. The breakfast was nice, croissants and an assortment of cold meats and cereals. One tip, the wait staff don't speak English so it helps to know a few words of French with regards to breakfast options. All in all a great place to stay if you're looking for somewhere comfortable, quiet and value for money!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The hotel is located in a very nice district of Paris, in a strategic position to visit the city.
The hotel is small, but well maintained. The staff polite and professional.
The rooms are small, but in a nice Parisian style. If you may, ask for a room facing on Bv. San Marcel, better if one of those on the of the building which are prettier.
The price is a bit 'high for the quality of the hotel, but the location is extremely convenient.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marino_napoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, CA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014


Location: We did not have a car while in Paris and relied exclusively on our feet and public transportation to get around. The hotel is not really directly by any attractions so if you're looking for something in the heart of the action this isn't it. It is, however, very close to two metro stops (which we used to get around everywhere). It does have some restaurants nearby and is walking distance (half mile or so) to the lively Rue Mufftard. The area felt completely safe and in some respects is in a business district. I would say overall the location is average to average plus.

Room: The hotel is a classic smaller European hotel - meaning small rooms, charm but quirky. Thin walls - nothing fancy but clean and well maintained. Our room was just big enough for the bed, very small table and small armoire. The bathroom was of medium size and had a shower stall and seemed well maintained and clean. Most of the rooms look out over the street below and our room had a lot of urban noise. Main reason? It is just a block from a hospital so the ambulances seem to cruise down with sirens all night! Not the hotel's fault by any means, but if you want a quieter room you should request something that faces a side street or courtyard.

Value: Most of this hotel's packages offer a free (average) basic continental breakfast. The breakfast was quite simple (croissants, rolls, juice, coffee/tea and some limited other options). In addition, the hotel had free wi-fi and some newspapers to read in the lobby. We were looking for something in the $150 Euro range and this hotel hits that rate for most rooms. Given how expensive Paris hotels can be this seemed like a fair price to pay. You wouldn't normally pay that equivalent rate for these rooms elsewhere but the room met our needs.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank cruzca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Best Western Plus La Demeure
#488 of 1,801 in Paris
466 reviews
Gobelins
Hotel Saint-Marcel
Hotel Saint-Marcel
#1,113 of 1,801 in Paris
97 reviews
Hotel Garance
#1,179 of 1,801 in Paris
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gobelins
Kyriad Paris 13 - Italie Gobelins
Quartier Latin
Libertel Austerlitz Jardin des Plantes
Quartier Latin
Hotel Devillas
Hotel Devillas
#726 of 1,801 in Paris
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel des Gobelins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel des Gobelins

Property: Grand Hotel des Gobelins
Address: 57 boulevard Saint Marcel, 75013 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Gobelins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #675 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel des Gobelins 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel des Gobelins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Paris
Hotel Des Gobelins
Le Grand Hotel Des Gobelins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing