We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy charismatic hotel in the heart of old town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bastille de Launay Hotel
Ranked #472 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cosy charismatic hotel in the heart of old town”
Reviewed 6 December 2011

I've stayed in hotel with my mother for 5 days and we liked it very much. The rooms, views from windows, hospitality of personnel and hotel location are just excellent. The hotel has "like at home" feel. Also hotel offers free wi-fi in rooms, very convenient. I will definetely stay there again next time and recommend this hotel to those who like to live in the nice place in the city center but are not fans of big soulless hotels.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Julialefleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    191
    41
    6
    3
See reviews for
36
216
58
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

This is my usual hotel in Paris. clean and nice rooms, very friendly staff and excellent location.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Lefere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

The hotel staff are all warm and friendly, and offers some good advice too. It's near to the Metro so getting around is quite easy. The room is clean and the decor is tasteful. The only thing we regret not doing in our 4 night stay was not spending the time to walk around Bastille shops. If I do come back I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank vyenoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersburg
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

After traveling in East Africa for 4 weeks, we stayed here to rest before a ling trip back to Alaska. Friendly, helpful staff..rooms not too small, clean. A good choice fir us.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank BAW44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was a bit small, but very clean. There is a computer for guest use in the lobby. There is also free Wi-fi. It rained one evening and the staff let us borrow umbrellas. We did not eat breakfast at this hotel.
The hotel is two blocks away from the metro station and very close to Marais. There are a number of bakeries on a major street one block away. I would definitely stay here again if I come back to Paris.
There is a great restaurant "La Cuizine" down the street. Check it out for dinner.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank urbantraveler80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

A friend and I stayed here for 3 nights over a long weekend and we were really pleased with it. Having stayed in some really bad Parisian hotels, I wasn't convinced we could find somewhere decent and yet still affordable and central. I would certainly go back to this hotel and would recommend it to others.

Our room overlooked the street, which could be a little bit noisy in the mornings with the window open, but nothing dramatic. The beds were very comfortable, there was a TV with a lot of channels (including CNN) and the shower in the ensuite bathroom was great. The room was a bit small, but not by Parisian standards.

The staff in the hotel were always very friendly, from the genial owner to the slightly dorky night deskman - both of whom humoured my rusty French.

We didn't have breakfast at the hotel or make use of any of the other amenities, so can't comment there. The location itself is very handy for the Marais (Pl des Vosges less than 10 mins; Saint Paul 10 mins) and Bastille (also less than 10 mins) and is very close to lines 1, 5 and 8 metros.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank spitze1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

This hotel was a pleasant surprise. It's located in the Bastille area; one metro ride away from the heart of Paris. It was down a side street which seemed a bit precarious at first but was fine throughout our stay. We were comfortable walking at night, especially along the main road just one block up from the hotel. The hotel staff were very friendly, always greeting us warmly and providing good recommendations. They were some of the most courteous staff we've encountered on our 4-week tour of Europe. The room was small, but had a beautiful view of the nearby neighbourhood. The bathroom was small and the hairdryer was really weak. Overall, great value for Paris!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Jes0217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bastille / Oberkampf
Best Western Hotel Marais Bastille
Bastille / Oberkampf
Campanile Paris 11 - Bastille
Le Marais
Villa Beaumarchais
Villa Beaumarchais
#464 of 1,800 in Paris
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Pavillon Bastille
Hotel Pavillon Bastille
#382 of 1,800 in Paris
387 reviews
Le Marais
Les Tournelles
Les Tournelles
#83 of 1,800 in Paris
207 reviews
Le Marais
Castex Hotel
Castex Hotel
#643 of 1,800 in Paris
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastille de Launay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastille de Launay Hotel

Property: Bastille de Launay Hotel
Address: 42 rue Amelot | 11th Arr., 75011 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf , République
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#329 Family Hotel in Paris
#332 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#414 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bastille de Launay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bastille de Launay is located in the Marais, one of the liveliest areas of Paris. It is 500 metres from Place des Vosges and offers free Wi-Fi. All guest rooms at Bastille de Launay are air-conditioned with traditional décor. They are equipped with modern amenities such as flat screen satellite TV. A buffet breakfast is served in the breakfast room or in the comfort of guest rooms. The hotel also has a bar, where you can relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bastille de Launay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastille De Launay Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing