We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Returned after a couple of years to our favorite hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres
Ranked #405 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Returned after a couple of years to our favorite hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Yes, we hadn't stayed here in a couple of years for various reason and honestly it was fantastic to go back. We love this hotel for it location (right opposite the Sorbonne in the center of Paris), the quiet rooms, the lovely renovated downstairs and not to forget the GREAT people still working there! The breakfasts are also fantastic, despite the space. They manage to put in some great new breads, fantastic cheeses, eggs, bacon, cereals, yogurts, fresh fruits and all the old favorites of pain au chocolat and croissants. The beds are comfy, warm and because of that you can sleep without heat in the winter and even open the windows.
Thanks so much for welcoming us back, we intend to return soon!

Room Tip: For us the back, odd numbered rooms are our favorites but the front have little balconies on some of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanJ4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnauddupin, Directeur général at Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Madam,

We thank you so much for your precious review posted on this site, after your stay at our hotel, the Mercure Paris La Sorbonne.

First of all we would like to thank you for your loyalty, it is real pleasure for us to know that you come to our hotel for a second stay and found enhancements in it.

We are delighted to read that the service and the breakfast were very good for you, as the location opposite to La Sorbonne University.

We are also very pleased to read that you appreciate our French buffet breakfast with cheese and our typical croissants and pains au chocolat.

We would like to thank you once again for your loyalty and we will be happy to welcome you back again for your next stay.

Please don't hesitate to contact us directly for your next booking.

Best regards.

Maria Pires
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    400
    150
    36
    14
See reviews for
166
329
93
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
431 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

I spent one night here for a work trip- the hotel was booked for me. Very close to Notre Dame and the Seine- two stops on RER line B from Gare du Nord. My room was small by comfortable- and very quiet. Breakfast was good

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KP58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnauddupin, Directeur général at Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Madam,

First of all, I would like to thank you very much for having taking the time to leave us a nice comment about your stay in our hotel the Mercure Paris La Sorbonne.

We are very glad to see that you had a good stay with us and that you liked our location very close to Notre Dame and our buffet breakfast.

All our rooms are very quiet because we are located in a small street in front of the University of La Sorbonne.

With the RER B we have a direct access to the Gare du Nord, but also to Roissy Airport and even Orly with a connection at Denfert-Rochereau.

We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back again.

Do not hesitate to contact us directly for your next reservation.

Kind regards,

Maria Pires
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

The good: great location, quiet room with double pane windows, clean, attentive staff, good water pressure and heating. The bad: poor security , left my key card at the desk and then just asked for it by room number and no questions asked, tiny room ( even for Paris), extremely uncomfortable mattress but clean nice sheets, duvet and extra pillows and was not even recognized for being Platinum top elite level with Accorhotels/Mercure, no upgrade given and when asked got a street facing room but not upgrade to higher level even though hotel was empty

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank KeisariRami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnauddupin, Directeur général at Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor after your recent stay in our hotel.

It is true that we have a very nice location in a typical Parisian quarter with plenty of shop and restaurants nearby. Thank you for the compliments about the quality of our staff.

Regarding the size of the room we comply with all requirements for the 4 star classification.

Concerning the Platinium membership we do apologies for not recognizing you. This is absolutely not normal and it does not correspond to our service. Is it possible to contact me directly by e-mail at h2897-gm@accor.com, in order to give us some details about this matter so we can take the respective measures.

Looking forward to hear from you soon, we thank you for staying with us and we hope that you will give us a second chance. We will do our best to make of your next stay, a very nice one.

Kind regards,

Maria Pires
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Stayed here over New Year. The location is just south of Notre Dame, with a good range of shops, sights and reasonably priced restaurants around. Room was small-ish, but with a king-size bed and a further small sofa-bed for a child. Breakfast was included in our rate ( as was an OK one-hour cruise down the Seine) and provided a great start to the day - I didn't need to eat till dinner. Not much in the way of facilities, but it doesn't pretend to offer any.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnauddupin, Directeur général at Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Sir,

Happy New Year !

Thank you for your comment.

We are well located in the very heart of Paris, within walking distance of Notre Dame, facing the University of La Sorbonne, in a very nice Parisian neighborhood with plenty of shops and restaurants nearby and very easy access to the main sightseeing's in Paris.

Concerning our breakfast, we are happy as well to read, that you appreciated the variety of our product.

We want to thank you again and hope to see you very soon in our hotel. Do not hesitate to contact us directly for your next reservation.

Best regards.

Maria Pires
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

A great place to be - Rooms are not large; but thats Paris - so do you want to be in the room really? And the location is super, you can walk to all major attractions - just perfect. The area is silent, you get a perfect sleep and there is a lot to do on Boulevard Saint Germain

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Ulene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnauddupin, Directeur général at Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment regarding the Mercure Paris La Sorbonne.

We are very pleased to read that you appreciated our location, it is true that we are located in a very nice Parisian neighborhood with plenty of shops and restaurants nearby and very easy access to the main sightseeing's in Paris, in a quiet street of the Latin Quarter.

We are grateful, and hope to have the chance to welcome you again in our hotel. Please don't hesitate to contact for you next booking, it will a pleasure for us to help you.

Kind regards,

Maria Pires
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Mercure Paris Notre Dame Saint Germain des Pres
Quartier Latin
Le Lapin Blanc
Le Lapin Blanc
#159 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Quartier Latin
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
#162 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Best Western Le Jardin de Cluny
Quartier Latin
Select Hotel
Select Hotel
#338 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel du College de France
Hotel du College de France
#179 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres

Property: Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres
Address: 14 rue de la Sorbonne, 75005 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#243 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#368 Business Hotel in Paris
#421 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be staying right at the heart of Paris, on the border of the 5th and 6th arrondissements, opposite the Sorbonne University, between the Latin Quarter (5) and Saint Germain des Prés (6), 5 minutes' walk from Notre Dame, the Panthéon, the Luxembourg Gardens and the Sénat. Fully renovated in an intimate, relaxing and contemporary decor, the Mercure Paris la Sorbonne hotel is ideally located whether your stay is for business or leisure. Soufflot public car park is close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Hotel Paris
Accor Paris La Sorbonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing