We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location is good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Opera Lafayette
Ranked #1,259 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Location is good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

The supermarket, shops, restaurant and metro are close to the hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast was nice, nothing fancy.

The downside was that the room was small, but that is Paris. The staff could do a better job cleaning the bathroom.

Traveled in May 2014.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyV409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
metro75, Directeur général at Hotel Opera Lafayette, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Google Translation
Chers Clients, Nous avons pris bonne note de votre remarque concernant le personne d'étages. Espérons vous satisfaire lors de votre prochain passage. Cordialement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    116
    96
    34
    31
See reviews for
69
117
19
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Great little hotel in a handy location. It's only a short walk to the Cadet metro station (but you'll need a street map to get there first time!). The hotel is done out in a cool retro style with a relaxing area (table & chairs and comfy chairs), which feels comfortable and airy. There's a fridge and snacks that you can help yourself to in the afternoon for no extra cost, which is a great bonus! Rooms are a little small but comfortable and clean. They supply eco-certified shower gel/shampoo, but not-so-eco is that they replace them every day. On our first day hot breakfast items were a little cool but it was fine the second day. Good choice of food for the buffet breakfast. Friendly staff. Overall you get a lot for what you pay!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
metro75, Directeur général at Hotel Opera Lafayette, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Google Translation
Chers Clients, Bienvenue à l'Opéra Lafayette!!! Le petit déjeûner buffet est "froid". Nous n'avons pas de plats chauds. Nous vous remercions très chaleureusement pour vos commentaires encourageants. Nous espérons vous compter parmi nos clients fidèles. Bel été et à très bientôt! Cordialement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed 2 nights in 2 rooms 24/25 April 2014.The rooms are average although comfortable but our two children were put on a different floor to us. This was okay as they are teenagers but it would have been a major problem if they were younger. The lift is tiny and we needed two loads to get our luggage up to the rooms but that is normal for Europe. The staff were helpful, the location is very good, the internet works well and breakfast was basic but ok. The front desk staff organised an airport transfer for us which worked out more cost effective than taxis. There are a lot of restaurants and shopping in the area, the metro is short walk and I enjoyed walking a bit further to the Louvre.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaJane272014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
metro75, Directeur général at Hotel Opera Lafayette, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Google Translation
Chers Clients, Nous tenons à vous remercier pour vos commentaires encourageants, "ça fait du bien"! N'hésitez pas la prochaine fois à demander deux chambres côte à côte. C'est possible si la demande est faite en avance. Au plaisir de vous recevoir ....à nouveau....Cordialement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
129 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

i spent two night on business trip . the rOom was small but very clean . quiet . walk distance from gare du nord so RER B from CDG.
it worked out well for me at 93 euro after all a good deal with breakfast.
10 minutes by metro from Louver

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank claudio f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Paris hotels are known for being small, stinky and expensive.

This was the best dead i found online and it was GREAT.
The room was huge, and we even had a big window in the bathroom.
The staff is polite and helpful, their English is perfectly fine, despite untruthful reviews.
It's a clean nice hotel on a main road, and i'll come back ONLY to this place when i visit next time (unless I get rich, ahah).
Book safely, very nice place!

DOWNSIDE - i don't know whether it's this website or the hotel, but when you submit to the final price, they will still add 10-20% to your bill, what is VERY annoying. I had extra 71 euros to pay, if I knew it in advance, I'd saved that money!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Miss London U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pont-L'Eveque, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

I can see the mixed reactions, the bad reviews, but frankly I appreciated very much my night at the Opera Lafayette on the last day of February 2014.
The desk receptionists were friendly and helpful. The room was small but perfectly decent, everything was tip-top, clean,functional, modern.
I am a regular French visitor of the 9th Arr. and its hotels. I daresay this is a very good one, and delivering much value for your money, _ if you book online through a cut-rate operator, to be clear.
Some of the rates in many hotels, even in this not so touristic district, are in my eyes sheer robbery, if you pay the full price. My reaction is to think "Tourist traps!" Don't let them take you in, Paris is not necessarily that expensive.
No such thing at the Opera Lafayette. A good location, for tourists too, within walking distance of the Madeleine, The Opéra, the chic shopping stores. What is more, the 9th Arr. gives you an inkling of what Paris, Parisians are really like. It's not an amusement park, it's a place you could wish to dwell in for a longer bit, not a painted decor, the real thing, may be.
To be practical: breakfast was fine, plentiful; the night perfectly quiet, _ No métro rumbling, no cars thundering past, etc.
Checking out, I said "I had breakfast. How much do I owe you?" "Forget it," answered the charming Italian lady at the desk...( Is it included, or offered?.. ) They also have a storing room, for everybody's bags, as lockers have been banned from French stations, on account of the terrorist threats alas!
Well, personally, I'll be back, I hope, and with pleasure.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patrice1483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
New Hotel Lafayette
New Hotel Lafayette
#977 of 1,798 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
New Hotel Opera
#1,244 of 1,798 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Plaza Opera Hotel
Plaza Opera Hotel
#754 of 1,798 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Pavillon Opera Grands Boulevards
Opera / Bourse
De L'Ocean Hotel
De L'Ocean Hotel
#1,185 of 1,798 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Pavillon Opera Bourse
Pavillon Opera Bourse
#1,016 of 1,798 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Opera Lafayette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Opera Lafayette

Property: Hotel Opera Lafayette
Address: 80 rue la Fayette | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,259 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Opera Lafayette 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Opera Lafayette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Lafayette Hotel
Opera Lafayette Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing