We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Opera Lafayette
Ranked #1,198 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Surprisingly good. Had read some negative reviews and was a bit concerned but not warranted. It's a good walk to Gallery Lafayette but very well placed. The staff were all helpful and friendly. Only issue is the access to the shower. Rather tight fit and the taps reach out too far so it's impossible to turn around. All part of the French adventure destined for ultra slim Parisiennes. Other than that it was very good value

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank steftrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
metro75, Directeur général at Hotel Opera Lafayette, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014
Google Translation

Chers Clients, Nous vous remercions d'avoir pris le temps de motiver notre équipe. Dans le courant du second semestre nous envisageons de changer les cabines de douches et la robinetterie pour un accès plus agréable bien que les bacs de douche sont de taille standard. Au plaisir de vous recevoir l'an prochain pour voir les modifications. Bel été. Cordialement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Pue Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Location is good. No air conditioning and very humid. Fan provided. Reception helpful if you ask but otherwise not forthcoming with information. Other staff did not want to be there.
Lift very tiny - 2 trips for 2 people to reach the room. Corridor just wide enough for a medium sized suitcase. Not enough room to place 2 suitcases in the room, just able to walk around the bed. The most disappointing was the shower - just 24 inches square external measurement made worse by the conversion from 2 taps to a flick mixer that took up at least 8 inches of the 20 inches available to shower - almost impossible to turn around in the shower to wet your back! Small sliders for the shower enable a tiny access from the corner - my husband cut his arm trying to get out of the shower - the blood that dripped onto the floor was still there 4 days later when we checked out so it would appear little cleaning is done. Toilet paper not replaced, water glasses not cleaned... Extremely basic breakfast provided. Would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Rear room was quiet. Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rosalind P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights. The room was a good size as it had 3 single beds in the room. The room smelt a little bit, not sure what it was? Maybe cleaning products from the bathroom. The breakfast wasn't the best and no real selection, but better than nothing.

Having two train stations in walking distance was very handy, we caught the Cadet line everywhere as it was only a two minute walk, and right across the road was Macdonalds which came in handy when we needed a quick cheap meal.
We weren't sure if we should buy a carnet (single metro tickets in a pack of 10) or a metro pass. We went with the carnet and that was enough tickets for 6 nights, and worked out cheaper than buying the metro pass. We did buy our return Versailles tickets on the day from the lady at the RER C Musée d'Orsay train station though.
We stayed at another Paris hotel for 2 more nights which was further out of the city, and the Opera hotel was so much better. If I return to Paris I would stay here again. Location is good and the hotel staff were friendly, and was a good price.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank winding_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
metro75, Directeur général at Hotel Opera Lafayette, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014
Google Translation

Chers Clients, Nous vous attendons pour un prochain voyage! Le petit déjeuner est un buffet froid qui comporte yaourt, salade de fruits, 2 types de céréales, viennoiseries, oeufs, confitures, miel, beurre, jus de fruits, diverses boissons chaudes, jambon, salami. Vous avez raison ....c'est mieux que rien! Au plaisir de vous revoir, nous vous souhaitons un bel été. Cordialement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Good location. That's about it. Staff willing to help when questioned for directions but no warmth and not too friendly. When we checked in early in the morning we were told our triple room ( previously reserved and paid for) would be ready at 2pm. When we returned in the evening we were told our room was not available anymore and they only had a double and a single room that looked like a prison cell. Not a good feeling after a long flight. But at least they were decent to find us another accommodation for the night in a nearby hotel and got us there in a taxi. The lift is tiny and takes ages waiting for one. Nobody around to help with luggage. What's with toilet paper? They only give you half of a tiny roll for the day between 3 people. Lobby is not a big as it looks in picture.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
metro75, Directeur général at Hotel Opera Lafayette, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014
Google Translation

Chers Clients. L'ascenseur a été rénové en Juillet. Il reste toujours à 300 kgs pour 4 personnes sans bagage. Avec bagages les clients doivent s'organiser. Pour le petit déjeûner nous sommes très surpris les croissants ne sont pas donnés en moitié ce sont des petits croissants. Le petit déjeûner est un buffet froid à disposition pour l'ensemble de notre clientèle sous réserve que "de l'emporter" ne soit pas fait en plus du service sur place.
Toutes nos chambres ont le confort nécessaire pour rendre votre séjour agréable même les petites chambres. Cordialement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The supermarket, shops, restaurant and metro are close to the hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast was nice, nothing fancy.

The downside was that the room was small, but that is Paris. The staff could do a better job cleaning the bathroom.

Traveled in May 2014.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudyV409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
metro75, Directeur général at Hotel Opera Lafayette, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014
Google Translation

Chers Clients, Nous avons pris bonne note de votre remarque concernant le personne d'étages. Espérons vous satisfaire lors de votre prochain passage. Cordialement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Great little hotel in a handy location. It's only a short walk to the Cadet metro station (but you'll need a street map to get there first time!). The hotel is done out in a cool retro style with a relaxing area (table & chairs and comfy chairs), which feels comfortable and airy. There's a fridge and snacks that you can help yourself to in the afternoon for no extra cost, which is a great bonus! Rooms are a little small but comfortable and clean. They supply eco-certified shower gel/shampoo, but not-so-eco is that they replace them every day. On our first day hot breakfast items were a little cool but it was fine the second day. Good choice of food for the buffet breakfast. Friendly staff. Overall you get a lot for what you pay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
metro75, Directeur général at Hotel Opera Lafayette, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014
Google Translation

Chers Clients, Bienvenue à l'Opéra Lafayette!!! Le petit déjeûner buffet est "froid". Nous n'avons pas de plats chauds. Nous vous remercions très chaleureusement pour vos commentaires encourageants. Nous espérons vous compter parmi nos clients fidèles. Bel été et à très bientôt! Cordialement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Pax Opera
Hotel Pax Opera
#363 of 1,803 in Paris
878 reviews
Opera / Bourse
New Hotel Lafayette
New Hotel Lafayette
#1,092 of 1,803 in Paris
334 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Best Western Anjou Lafayette Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Plaza Opera Hotel
Plaza Opera Hotel
#696 of 1,803 in Paris
367 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Corona Rodier
Hotel Corona Rodier
#1,367 of 1,803 in Paris
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Opera Lafayette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Opera Lafayette

Address: 80 rue la Fayette | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,198 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £78 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Opera Lafayette 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Opera Lafayette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Lafayette Hotel
Opera Lafayette Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing