We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Valentines trip to Paris” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Pax Opera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Pax Opera
Ranked #349 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Valentines trip to Paris”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Have recently got back from a 3 night stay here with my girlfriend and we both very much enjoyed it.
Hotel staff were all polite and friendly, we arrived about 8pm and were given information about some good local places to eat.
About a 10minute walk from Gare du Nord the hotel was very easy to find.
Rooms werev cleaned and tidied every day.
All in all the stay here helped us enjoy a memorable trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attachedirection, Attaché De Direction at Hotel Pax Opera, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
We thank you for your nice comments. We are happy to read that you appreciated our location. The cleanness of the rooms as well as the other parts of the hotel is a top priority for us. The staff will appreciate your positive comments. We will be glad to welcome you again in our hotel for your next visit in Paris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    375
    99
    27
    15
See reviews for
167
366
56
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

The hotel is in a great location in Paris, it was easy to find (once you figured out the streets of Paris). We had a clean room, its small, comfortable and well equipped. The room was cleaned everyday. The staff are very friendly and helpful. A map of Paris was given to us as we arrived and directions to all the main attractions in Paris. The breakfast was ok, thats bias on my part nothing better than egg, bacon, tomatoes in the morning. Overall it was a great experience in this hotel and I would book a room again in a heart beat!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJM566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attachedirection, Attaché de Direction at Hotel Pax Opera, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
We want to thank you for your comment.
Indeed, they help us to improve the quality of service, and allow us to see our customers' expectations.
Our hotel is located 5 minutes walk from the station Cadet Line 7. We are 15 minutes from Montmartre and Gare du Nord and 10 minutes from Grands Magasins "Galeries Lafayettes-Printemps". The reception team is available to counsel and advise on tourist attractions of the city. Finally, our breakfast is offered to our customers, and hope they let you start the day. We hope to see you soon among us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

I stayed here on my first trip to Paris 3 nights from 27th January 2012. Staff very friendly. corridors are very narrow - rooms small but adequate. bathroom very small took some maneouvring to get into the shower. Wouldnt like to see a big person try get into it - we were in room 58. the hotel website said they had just renovated all the room. Well I think they missed ours cause we didnt have all those lovely bright colours. In fact our room was very drab with the curtain not hanging correctly. but apart from that the bed was comfortable and the room was warm and sound proof. Its in a nice quite area of paris but sill near enough to all the sites by walking, the red bus, metro etc. I must suggest you go to Hugo restaurant in rue papillion - its a treasure of a restaurant and the waiter so nice and food good and reasonable too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which is renovated!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Breda_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attachedirection, Attaché de Direction at Hotel Pax Opera, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
We are delighted that the location of our hotel you liked and you could find good restaurants nearby. Staff will be happy to read your positive comments about it and we hope to see you again in a room style that will surely be more to your liking.
Thank you for your opinion that we are useful and allow us to improve.
The next vacation for a spacious room, feel free to request a Privilege room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

I was in Paris for work, in which I was out of the hotel for the most part of the day. This is a hotel where you leave your room key at the front desk. The first day, I returned to find that they did not have my key. The guy at the front desk said it must have been misplaced and said he would open my room. He opened it and I found that my laptop, laptop bag, clothing and shoes were gone. I went through a huge ordeal then with the hotel on getting some sort of compensation. They referred me to their insurance agent who wanted original reciepts for all the items before they would do anything. Terrible experience all around, if you are staying in this hotel, I suggest you take the room key with you everywhere you go.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank omar n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attachedirection, Attaché de Direction at Hotel Pax Opera, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
It seems to me that your stay was in September 2010 and not 2011.
About the problem occured, I had occasion several times to apologize and explain myself to you orally and in writing.
This situation is exceptional. We followed the normal procedure. Namely complaint to the police, and send the file to our insurance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

This small-ish, quiet hotel is a great choice if you want a comfortable bed, a tasty breakfast and a good location. The rooms are of a reasonable size and provide a lot of storage, including overhead storage for suitcases. The windows open, which is nice if you find yourself there during a December warm spell (13º C!) as we did. The woman at the front desk mentioned A/C as well; we didn't partake, but if you're visiting in the summer, this is worth knowing. The beds are on the firm side and very comfortable. We had a three restful nights' sleep. The room was tastefully decorated and very clean.

The bathrooms are clean and well-equipped, the only drawback being a fairly long wait for hot water to reach the shower. But, rejoice! No problems with the shower splashing all over the bathroom.

The decor in the public areas of the hotel is stylish and kind of funky - think red velvet in the bar (in the coolest possible way), big, sunny windows in the breakfast room, a cute mezzanine level with big, comfortable chairs, and cool art and creative light fixtures throughout.

We switched our German SIM cards for French ones at a store near the hotel, so we weren't desperate for the free wifi the hotel offers, and it's a good thing. S-l-o-w as can be, but it does reliably work. If you're wifi dependent, keep this in mind, or perhaps ask at booking if some rooms have better reception than others.

Breakfast was fresh and plentiful. We don't have children, but for those who do, I noticed that they do have at least one high chair available in the breakfast room.

One minor quibble - the bar is advertised as being open 24 hours both in the bar and in the rooms. One night of our stay, we came in from a late dinner and a walk around the city at about 12:30 and thought we'd have some wine before bed. We were told the bar was closed. When we questioned this, the fellow at the front desk happily agreed to serve us, but framed it as a favor. In no way would I make this a reason to not stay at this lovely hotel, but it was an odd lapse in service. I should clarify, we weren't a large group who stumbled in at 4am loudly asking for drinks, we were a quiet, sober couple looking for a nightcap. Other than that, the service was very friendly and helpful.

Note: While I was researching hotels for this trip, I read a review that said that the walk to the hotel from Gard de l'Est was completely uphill. This might be the case—I don't know—but Hotel Pax Opera is *two stops* from Gard de l'Est on the Metro, and the Metro station (Cadet) is very close to the hotel. It's a short, easy Metro ride from Gard du Nord as well. Just an FYI.

Room Tip: We had a very quiet room at the corner of the hotel. I would guess, based on the way the door works...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimbaroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attachedirection, Attaché de Direction at Hotel Pax Opera, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Thank you for your nice comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and in Paris.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed our new decoration and our buffet breakfast. The staff will appreciate your positive comments. Our location is always very much appreciated. We will be happy to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballyheigue, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

It was the last 4 days of October 2011 and we were booked into single rooms at this Hotel as it is close to Rue Cadet were we were having out meetings. The room was very compact but beautiful at the same time. It reminded me of the days when I lived in a small 12 foot caravan on Site as I have been a Construction man for most of my working life. So the room had air conditioning which I never needed as the window was open and the air was lovely and warm. No rain so we stayed out till past midnight. The lift very efficient and the place was packed with tourist. The Restaurant on the ground floor was busy and you could eat as much as you wanted at breakfast time. The staff were very helpful and polite. The hotel is very close to the metro which we used to visit other areas.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RosesWarudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attachedirection, Attaché de Direction at Hotel Pax Opera, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
We thank you for your nice comments. We are happy to read that you appreciated our buffet breakfast and our location. We will be glad to welcome you again in our hotel for your next visit to Paris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

Perfect as a base for a few days in Paris-exactly what we wanted. We could walk everywhere easily, especially Gare Du nord. Room and bathroom was very clean, great breakfast, nice big TV in the room and the room was fresh and modern.
I left my glasses behind accidently but the staff have been great and posted them back to me in the UK -which is much appreciated.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annabel545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attachedirection, Attaché de Direction at Hotel Pax Opera, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
We thank you for your nice comments. The staff will appreciate your positive comments. It is true that our buffet breakfast is ideal to start the day. We will be glad to welcome you again for your next visit to Paris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Peyris Opera
Hotel Peyris Opera
#409 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Palm - Astotel
Hotel Palm - Astotel
#107 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Opera Cadet Hotel
Opera Cadet Hotel
#319 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Corona Opera
Hotel Corona Opera
#343 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Acadia - Astotel
Hotel Acadia - Astotel
#209 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Opera Lafayette
Hotel Opera Lafayette
#1,239 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pax Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pax Opera

Property: Hotel Pax Opera
Address: 47 rue de Trevise, 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#305 Family Hotel in Paris
#467 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pax Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pax Opera is in the 9th district of Paris, between Opera Garnier and Gare du Nord. It offers modern rooms in the heart of the capital with free Wi-Fi.The soundproof rooms feature air conditioning and a flat-screen TV with satellite and cable channels.A breakfast buffet is available in the hotel breakfast room. Pax Opera also serves a continental breakfast in the guest room upon request.The hotel features a 24-hour bar and can arrange an airport shuttle service upon request from hotel to airport.Pax Opera is a 2 minute walk from the Folies Bergères music hall, theaters and shops. Cadet Metro Station is 220 yards from the hotel, providing access to the city’s numerous sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your Hotel Pax Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pax Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing